We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very High Standard”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is our second time staying at the Bella Vista Motel, Westport. The motel has a high standard of cleanliness, good quality fittings, crisp sheets and thick towels. The bathroom has a very good shower, plenty of hot water, and complimentary toiletries. The owners are friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor unit as it is more convenient with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again some day.

Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have been in New Zealand for 6 weeks and this is the first Bella Vista we have stayed at. If they are all like this one we would be happy to book into them again.

Nice friendly welcome from the owner, plus complimentary milk.

We had booked a two bedroom unit and were allocated Unit 9.

Nice large unit, modern, well equipped, everything you need for you stay, plenty of room to move around in and very clean.

The main room had a very large comfortable bed, compact full kitchen with small oven, two ring hob, fridge with a small freezer compartment, pots and pans and utensils, table for 4 and working desk. Large TV with 50+ Sky Channels.

Off the main room was a second bedroom with a single bed and two bunk beds.

Large bathroom with an excellent size shower unit and powerful shower.

You get 70Mb of free Wi Fi can buy more at $10 for a further 250Mb

Plenty of free car parking.

Room Tip: Unit 9 - Two bedroom well equipped lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Your kind comments are very much appreciated, we enjoyed having you to stay. We hope the remainder of your journey went well for you.
Regards Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

On a passing visit through Westport my partner and I spent a night in a king studio.
For some reason we had tended to stay away from the Bella Visita hotels around the country but decided we would stay at the Westport franchise. Happy to say we were presently surprised! The room was very clean, small kitchenette that had all we needed, 50+ sky channels.
I also like hotels that give you real milk not that long shelve like stuff so that was a bonus. Also liked the added touch of a recycling bin. Very friendly host that was more than happy to answer any questions or give advice. Would recommend to others to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

We appreciate your kind comments on your stay with us. We hope to see you again someday.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here for business in early Feburary. Great immaculately clean rooms and Sky Guest Select which was a real bonus. I really want to mention Ross who was on the day I checked in, there were a group of travellers from overseas in front of me when I checked in and he was so kind,friendly and more than happy to give them heaps of advice about where to eat, go, what to do etc it was so nice to find a manager who doesn't just throw a map at people across the desk. Apparently the owners were away on holiday, you sure have chosen great people to represent your business in your absence!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have forwarded this to Ross who was managing while we were away. We know the business is in good hands when they are here. We appreciate you staying with us.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed 1 night in this motel.
+
Exceptional service by Bella Vista motels.
We were able to book this motel after asking for help in Bella vista hokitika. Manager there helped us with booking and provided all directions. And manager in Westport helped us via leaving the keys in the room as we were not able to reach the westport in their working hours.
Room clean and big.
-
What I hate most about 80% of NZ hotels is shower. Which is usually fixed at height of 180cm.
C'mon! With my height of 192 washing my head becomes very funny 1st time, but very irritating when seeing this stuff in 5th hotel again...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreyT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Pleased we could help in your situation. Point noted about the shower height. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in NZ.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed over again in the Bella Vista for a recent school reunion. Has been consistently good each time we have stayed.
Owners very friendly. Some free wifi was included which is always good.
Unit was clean and well presented.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you had a good experience with us. Maybe we will see you back sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We recently stayed at the Bella Vista in the middle of some terrible weather - even with power cutting in and out of Westport was the owners were really helpful and friendly and room was really nice & clean.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

We did have a rough time that night, pleased you enjoyed the experience. Hopefully if you visit again sometime the weather will be much nicer. Thanks for your kind words.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing