We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable motel”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

In comparison to Fox Bella Vista this one was better maintained and very nice. We had a large 2 bedroom unit-others were full -so much more space and good kitchen set up. Helpful friendly service and in the main street.

Room Tip: Upstairs units are normally the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello Barry, your comments are much appreciated. We work very hard at providing a good service for our guests. Look forward to having you stay again sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I had to be in town for a weekend so as to catch up with work clients and this place suited me down to the ground. Plenty of car parking, ground floor units easily accessed for lugging work stationery between vehicle and room. Free daily paper upon request and reasonable amount of free WiFi. Nice décor and plenty of space for me to work at, with a comfortable chair to relax in while catching up on some TV. Place serviced smartly each day. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi Mikare, we appreciate your kind comments following your stay with us. Moving forward we hope you can visit us again some day.
Kind regards Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Clean, tidy and reasonably priced, considering that there is very limited choice in Westport. Motel 8 style, but probably the best choice in Westport. This town definitely needs some great boutique B&B's or lodges.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and hope you enjoyed visiting Westport and the beautiful West Coast of the south island.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband has used this motel a couple of times before on his way to the HeaphyTrack.
The service is good, the rooms are clean and large enough for the sorting through you need to do prior to tramping. Close enough to the supermarket to cart your supplies - good practice for what's ahead. The owners are helpful with airport pickups if arranged ahead of time

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi 'Snowdreamers', very much appreciate your comments. Look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here on our way through from Blenheim. Everything was as we expected. A standard motel on the main drag of Westport. The host put the heater on for us prior to our arrival. Room was fairly tired.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KruegsAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hello, thank you for staying with us, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Westport and had time to explore the Buller area. Regards Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Being our first time in Westport, the staff were so friendly and helpful which made us feel very welcome!

Returned to motel each afternoon to a superbly serviced room, beds made, fresh towels, even dishes done! The room had lovely décor, modern but homely and was spotless every day.
Nice and quiet area but walking distance to supermarkets, restaurants/takeaways.

I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you stay again sometime
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having been away from my home town on the West Coast for almost two years now, it was lovely to stand outside my unit and watch the awesome West Coast mist descend down.....and then it rained!
Our unit was upstairs, husband forgot to book access room. Up I went with walking stick to find out husband had forgot to book 2 bedroom unit. So, with a queens and a single in one room we settled in for three nights. It was lovely. The beds were comfortable, the room was warm, even during a particularly foul piece of weather. Didnt need to anything. The hairdryer was in the bedroom instead of then bathroom which I found weird at first, until I realised how easy it was to do my hair while the boys were using the bathroom.
Our room had a good sized wardrobe with ironing board and iron. Great has we had a formal function to attend. Although not a full kitchen, I am sure you could whip up an easy snack in it.
The shower had great water pressure and the bathroom was always keot well stocked for our needs. I also asked for extra towels on one of our days, not a problem.
I also used a guest laundry whilst I was here. It too was clean and tidy. Large carparking area. All in all, a quiet, basic retreat away from our daily business.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tounga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Hi, thanks for your kind comments. Yes the weather was rather wet for your visit. Hopefully if you visit again we can give you a larger unit.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Bella Vista Westport Motel. You'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Westport town centre for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. We cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on Palmerston Street 40 minutes from the famous Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and 1.5 hours from Greymouth. We have ample safe parking so you can leave your car, avoid parking issues, walk to work or explore on foot. Our superior smoke-free accommodation includes a variety of studios and one bedroom units. You have a choice of king, queen or single beds with electric blankets for those cooler nights. WIFI is available and a work desk in every room. Units vary from just tea and toast making facilities to those with cooking facilities. We offer continental and cooked breakfasts and evening meal charge back facilities. You can be assured of a warm welcome at reception where we will assist you in every way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing