We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed here in a compact studio for three nights. We were on the ground floor and there was a table and chairs outside where we could sit and have breakfast. Our motel was spotless and very warm and comfortable. We have decided we will stay here from now on when we visit Westport. Although we were in a compact studio, there was everything we needed and the bathroom was spacious with a heated towel rail. We can thoroughly recommend the Bella Vista as a very enjoyable place to stay. Our hosts were friendly and made us most welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    45
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
55
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2005

I called 2-3 weeks in advance to reserve a mini studio at this motel. I mentioned that I would be arriving late and they assured me that this would be no problem since I guaranteed the room with a credit card. When I arrived, they informed me that they were full and that they would be moving me to a B&B. The woman at the reception stated that they wrote down my reservation on two pieces of paper and on one of them it stated I would be arriving on Monday and on the other it stated I would be arriving on Tuesday. Their solution to this dilemma was to book the motel full both nights and to not worry about me at all.

First of all, I don't understand why this motel writes down reservations on different pieces of paper. Shouldn't they have this computerized so that problems like this don't arise?

Secondly, the industry standard when overbooking is to send the guest to an equal or better property when this occurs. The woman stated that her friend ran a "lovely" B&B and it happened to be charging the same NZ$85 rate. The B&B was awful and a rip-off. If I had wanted a B&B instead of a motel room, I would have booked one. There is a good chance that the manager of this motel overbooks the property purposely to give her friend at the B&B some business.

It is unfortunate that this Bella Vista motel is so poorly run since I had a positive experience at another location. Until someone honest and competent is found to manage this location, I would avoid it. There are other motels in Westport. For tourists, though, I would recommend staying in Punakaiki, which is more scenic and interesting and less than an hour away from Westport.

Helpful?
1 Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 21 February 2008
We had had a no show prior to this. We sent many people to this B&B who reported back to us their stay was wonderful. Should you visit our lovely country again we would like you to have a night in a Bella Vista Motel with our compliments.
Marilyn & Trevor Wilson , Bella Vista Westport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing