We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westport Motor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fabulous Hosts”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Had a great stay here. Rooms clean and functional. Good parking. But the outstanding feature was the owner and staff. All extremely friendly and obliging. The owner really went beyond the usual call of duty, rustled up some food (even though the kitchen was closed) provided transport when we couldn't get a taxi. He was a truely hospitable host. Really recomend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311327Reb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    26
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
6
27
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed here twice in one week with a large group. Rooms were clean, well presented and had everything you needed. Plenty of parking outside rooms. Hotel is well positioned on main street.
Staff were friendly and very helpful. Had dinner in onsite restaurant which was absolutely outstanding, was a buffet-style, great food and so much selection. Would definitely recommend this place if your in westport.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nath79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I laughed when I read a review further down that likened this motel to Butlins in the 70s, as that is exactly what my husband said when we walked into our room! Very dated rooms, with a rather musty smell that reminded me of a retirement home. Room was clean and functional, but the bedding was old and needed replacing. Glad we only stayed for one night while travelling north.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westport hotels

Denver
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This motel served its purpose for us during our road trip around New Zealand. We got in late after driving several hours and then stoping at the seal colony just west of town and ended up staying at that beach for sunset (The most beautiful sunet I've ever seen - even better than Santorni!). The front desk was very helpful and gave us a restaurant recommendation since it was late and not many places were still open - she even called to make sure they would stay open for us. The room was clean and your typical room - nothing fancy, average two or three star place. It's on the main strip in Westport - which from what we could see was more of just a town to stop in to refresh, sleep, and get gas - which it accomplished for us.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michealangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We stayed a night in December 2009 and couldn't be happier! The rooms were spotless, the bar area very comfortable and the restuarant excellent. We had a fish dish with a local Sav, Blanc. and loved it. More importantly, the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a very positive experience.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

This hotel did remind us of Butlins in the 1970's (holiday camp) We had a good size room with all the facilites. The hotel is very dated but this shouldnt put you off if you are looking for a bed for the night. Our deal included breakfast which was fine.

Location is good for the town and parking is adequate at the hotel

As for Westport itself- miss out the whole town if I was you!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bash69Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Reading previous reviews made before the refurbishment, I can only assume the hotel has improved its image. personally, I found the facilities available to be excellant and far exceeding those normally associated with motor hotels.
The block of rooms might not look much from the outside, but I could not fault the interior. Everything was clean and well presented.
The bonus of a restaurant on site was a bonus I was not expecting. I had a superb steak meal there - all credit to the catering staff.
Bar staff were very friendly and as a lone traveller, they took the time and effort to chat to me during the evening - again, a gesture I appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westport Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westport Motor Hotel

Property: The Westport Motor Hotel
Address: 207 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westport Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westport Hotel is a leading accommodation provider in Westport with 27 studio units combined with onsite restaurant and bar facilities. The recently renovated hotel complex has a 3.5 star rating while our restaurant can cater to all your dietary requirements with seating for up to 60 people with buffet and a' la carte dining available. Located on the main street of Westport our hotel offers you the perfect base to explore all that the Buller region has to offer as well as true West Coast hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westport Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing