We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Letdown”
Review of Westport Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westport Motels
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Westport
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Letdown”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed one night whilst travelling up the west coast.. Frankly after the other motels and guest houses we'd stayed in it was a complete letdown. To be fair the room was clean, but it in all other respects it was extremely tired and dated and in need of a complete refurbishment. Enough said!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlecuzau, Manager at Westport Motels, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for your comment on our motels. Fair comment in regards to the dated units, yes there are some major upgrades required by our landlord to which we have been promised will be completed within the next year or two and we hope that he sticks to his words, as for the furnishings they are all in good working order and shall stay in use until we feel the need to replace them. We are not on the high end of the motel industry, we are clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation providers who prides ourselves in the service that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We spent one night here in March as part of our six week holiday. Motel was basic but clean, it is just Westport itself which is a bit depressing. Not somewhere to stay long.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the motel which offered good value. This was our first experience of NZ motels and we were impressed by the facilities provided. The room decor was slightly out-dated, but clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
723 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We arrived weary after a long day. Theo could not have been nicer or more helpful. He offered free internet on their computer. Coin operated laundry was available in a separate room. The motel was nicely landscaped and parking was easy. Theo gave us many helpful suggestions. The room (17) was like an apartment--separate bedrooms, kitchenette, dining area. A delight.
In the area be sure to go to see the fur seal colony at Cape Foulwind. Not too far away is the Buller Bridge. Though a tourist attraction, it is one that is worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We arrived late and were told we had been upgraded. We were traveling on a budget and it was a huge relief to be able to spread out over so much space! Rooms are comfortable, kitchen facilities are a bit dated but work fine and the owners were wonderfully kind. Great value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilbos_companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I arrived here after a 4 hour drive from Picton and was so pleased to see this little motel as I drove up to it. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and I booked in with no fuss. The room itself has everything you would need ; microwave, fridge, utensils, mini-oven, and the living area had a double bed, single bed and a sofa.

Being the beginning of spring, there was a chill in the air so I was more than relieved to find the bed was complete with electric blanket. It was a shame that the weather was a bit rough since I couldnt take advantage of the table and chairs outside.

This place had more charm and quirkiness about it than some of the other hotels I have stayed in.
I would recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere with friendly staff, great value for money and a place that is not stuck on a noisy street.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper South Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This was our second time in this motel. As usual the grounds were lovely and the exterior of the units well-kept. Our one bedroom unit was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. In fact the cleanliness could not be faulted. Our unit was serviced daily with plenty of supplies replenished. Hats off to the housekeeping staff. In fact all staff were pleasant, friendly and I would highly recommend this motel for a stay in Westport. It will not break your budget either.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterpearl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#12 of 12 in Westport
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Motels

Property: Westport Motels
Address: 32 The Esplanade, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westport Motels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 fully self-contained studio, 1 & 2 bedroom units all at ground floor for ease of access. Set amidst mature trees and green lawns in a delightful garden setting, Westport Motels offers a relaxing retreat on the beautiful West Coast. Fully equipped kitchens, guest laundry, hot, bubbling spa, courtesy car from terminals, high-speed wireless internet, children's play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westport Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing