We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco luxury escape!”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eco luxury escape!”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I stayed at the Birds Ferry Cottage with my husband and friends (another couple) for a couple of nights. There was absolutley nothing that Alison and Andre could have thought of to make our stay more perfect. We especially loved the breakfast with home made yogart, muslie, bread, preserves, fresh free range eggs and bacon, juice etc. The evening meal was delivered to our cottage. Alison is a wonderful cook and she caters for vegetarians also. My meal was so delicious everyone wished they'd ordered it! I'd love the recipie Alison :) . No need to BYO wine as you can buy great local wines at the cottage. We'd been traveling for a week so did all our washing and drying. Wonderful!
We watched "Whale Rider" after our meal, which added to the atmosphere of The West Coast. It was very cosy having the fire too and warm rugs. It could be an awsome romantic escape too.
It's a great area to explore. We went on the Charlston Glow worm tour, which was one of the highlights of our holiday. The guide was superb.
We would like to stay a week next time and explore the area more. So much to see and do.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Hello again from the 'Best' Coast! Thank you for your detailed review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! A&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
186
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

I had the great pleasure last week to stay with Andre and Alison Gygax at Birds Ferry Lodge. The transition from road to driveway and from driveway to lodge peeled back the stress and tension of a hard day. This is a place to unwind and relax and my hosts have worked hard to ensure that this is exactly what every visitor does. Andre is a qualified masseuse and had I taken up that option I am sure I would have been even more unwound by the end of my stay. As I arrived the sunset provided a spectacular show http://yfrog.com/gzmkpzcj

The welcome is warm and genuine, the Lockwood construction of the building is solid, warm and exceedingly comfortable. Once in my room I opened the sliding doors to soak in the expansive view over native bush; the silence is almost total, punctuated only by the call of the native birds and the crack and hiss of burning logs on the open fire in the main room.

Before dinner we relaxed in deep plush leather sofas and discussed our respective days by the fire, the large windows still connecting us with the vista. Dinner was a further unwinding experience Alison is a great cook who fed us very well. I slept very well and my only regret is that I did not stay for two nights in order to experience it all again.

One thing is assured, I will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in the end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Hello again from the 'Best' Coast! Thank you for your detailed review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! A&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Our two days at Birds Ferry were a delight. Alison & Andre were wonderful hosts, with Alison producing gorgeous food and Andre the benefit of many years experience in the tourist industry, which enabled us to see more lovely places on our way south than we would otherwise have done. The lodge itself is very comfortable, with much attention to detail a good example of which are the low-sided baths, a great help for the less agile amonst us. The area itself is one of quiet beauty. All in all a great place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thank you for your detailed review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! A&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We spent our last night in New Zealand at the Bird's Ferry Lodge. We were originally scheduled to be in Christchurch the day after the earthquake and again on our last night before returning to the US.. Our itinerary was changed around and instead of flying home from Christchurch we flew home from Nelson. The Bird's Ferry Lodge is about 3 hours drive to the airport. We stayed at the Ferry Man's Cottage (that is separate from the main house). What a treat! The cottage is scenically set - great views, beautiful flowers and plants and a lovely pond complete with wildlife. Just sorry that it was too cold to try the outdoor bath tubs! The two bedrooms in the cottage were tastefully decorated, immaculate and had comfy beds. We were just two but this place would be great for a family or two couples who wouldn't mind sharing the well appointed bathroom. We prearranged to have dinner at the lodge and here we met our warm hosts Andre and Allison. Allison prepared a delicious dinner artistically plated using ingredients from her own garden and local produce. (thanks for the recipe for the chocolate mousse meringue cake!). Andre is charming and very knowledgeable about New Zealand - sorry that we didn't have some of his tips earlier on. The way that we got to the Lodge was bittersweet due to the quake but it was one of the most memorable days we had in New Zealand - just wish that we could have stayed longer! On our way to the airport, Andre suggested a ride to a seal colony on the magnificent coastline. The view of the seals, the sunshine and the waves crashing on the rocks was a perfect ending for our adventure in New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We were two of four guests in this remote lodge one and a half kilometers down an unsealed road. We were treated as if we were friends. Afternoon tea on arrival, beautiful optional dinner with everything home grown/made and a lovely table setting . Breakfast was prepared individually. Cold and hot dishes prepared in the adjacent open plan kitchen.
Massage and hot tub are available if required.
Maps and advice given concerning the local places of interest.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you felt at home here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The Birds Ferry is a fine option in an area that offers little in the way of accommodation. The Westport area is not New Zealands' most scenic, though the beaches are wild and unspoiled. The Lodge was welcoming and the owner Andre, not only gives a good deep tissue massage, but as a former tour guide, is a fountain of good travel information. The food was very good and the stars were awesome due to the remote location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tantallon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed this "off the beaten track' location and all that we offer here.Readers should note that the Coast Road between Birds Ferry Lodge and Greymouth is rated by Lonely Planet as one of the Top Ten Coastal Drives in the World! Well worth worth a side trip to the West Coat during your visit to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

New Zealanders in the tourist business are superb marketeers. On many occasions during our 4 weeks in the country, we have been profoundly disappointed by what we had been led to expect and what we experienced. Many B&Bs are very overpriced. In sharp contrast Birds Ferry Lodge came up to our expectations in all departments. Andre and Alison were charming but not intrusive. The location and amenities in the lodge are superb. The hot tub and wifi were wonderful and with no extra charge like many other establishments. Food was not only excellent but accommodated us as non-meat-eaters. Their garden is a delight and they grow and/or make almost everything. Their commitment to the environment is a model that should be followed by others. We were only sorry we could not stay longer. Though not cheap, the whole experience is worth every dollar spent.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoniRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southislander019, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay with us. We are always gratified when guests understand what we are trying to achieve here, just as you have. We live in harmony with our surroundings and are delighted when guests to pick up on this! Alison and Andre, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
129 reviews
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
156 reviews
9.3 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
671 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Property: Birds Ferry Lodge
Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing