We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still having flashbacks”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Still having flashbacks”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago for one night during a motorcycle tour of the South Island. The reason for leaving a review now is that, despite travelling widely for business and leisure, we are STILL recounting our stories of this as simply the worst place we have ever stayed. Apart from being made to feel hugely unwelcome by the hosts (who varied between being just unhelpful and at times downright rude) we would also concur with the frustrations of other travellers about the multitude of instructions about what we could and couldn't do. Upon arrival we were told that they were cooking a vegetarian dinner that evening for other guests which they 'supposed' they could stretch to include us as well but at a price that would have made your eyes water. Tired from the day we used the hot tub on the verandah and might have enjoyed the fantastic views a little more if it wasn't for our hosts very obviously monitoring our every move. If we could have found alternative local accommodation that night we would have left and stayed elsewhere, but we couldn't and instead opted to escape for the evening to a charming local pizzeria. Looking back, the setting was indeed wonderful, it just seemed a pity that we couldn't enjoy it because of the uncomfortable atmosphere caused by the hosts.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BrambleStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Wow is this for real? Andre and alison are stunned by this. We pride ourselves on our hosting skills and any one reading our many positive reviews can see this for themselves. We also pride ourselves on the high standard of food available by prior reservation. To arrive without a dinner reservation may indeed result in disappointment. The price for dinner has not changed in four years and is for three courses with quality wine that guests choose from a list.

We always assist guests with removal of the spa lid and provide instructions for operating the jets since not all guests have previous experience of spa operation. If this was construed as "monitoring" then the writer is mistaken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
186
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had a wonderful, but quick stay at Birds Ferry Lodge. Alison and Andre are wonderful hosts. We were so happy that we chose to have Alison's homemade dinner. It was exceptional! The breakfast, with homemade muffins, was also amazing! They grow/produce much of the ingredients used in her cooking. Andre's pride in their home was obvious when we asked for a tour of their property, greenhouses and areas where their animals are kept. Andre was also a wealth of knowledge of interesting and fun places to stop during our driving around the south island. The information he shared truly enhanced our trip. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esuesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We really enjoyed our return visit: Andre and Alison's welcome was just as good as the first time. This is more than just a good place to break the journey down the west coast. There is so much to enjoy both within the property and in the area generally that it is really worth having a few days to explore the area and to relax in very beautiful surroundings. Andre and Alison are full of suggestions for interesting days out. Enjoy!

Bob and Sue UK

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Our stay in the cottage [although it was for only one night] was the highlight of our holiday. The location was superb, so tranquil and peaceful. The cottage had everything that one could ever need. The garden was beautifully laid out with some very interesting ornaments. Particularly interesting was the 'Oxbridge' boat in the pond. The cottage was spotless. Very tasty were some home made dainties found on our arrival. The attention to detail was very impressive, even down to a welcome message by the front door. Our hosts were very friendly and professional. We were sorry to leave the place. Truly this was a taste of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawerau, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at birds ferry lodge last year. We had recently suffered a bereavement and this location was the ideal place for some much needed solace. We would highly recommend this awesome location and beautiful lodge to anyone. Not only were the hosts welcoming to us, they also allowed us to bring our five dogs with us! The house was immaculate, modern, warm, cosy and the surroundings were truly tranquil. With its own llake, outdoor bath and beautiful rural outlook we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Thank you very much for having us. We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We LOVED having you and your canine family to stay - thank you too for leaving the cottage in an immaculate condition! You are welcome back any time and our dogs Mick and Merlot look forward to that day! Alison and Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The cottage is a magic place in wonderful setting-we have been back several times and loved it every time.Alison and Andre are excellent hosts and will also provide a superb meal if required. Even had a white heron in the garden last time-ask Andre to show the rest of the property too.Great attractions nearby-The Denniston Coal Mine Experience is just one and suprisingly good restaurants in Westport too.Lovely log wood burner too. Chris

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Hello again Chris and thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Alison and Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Cottage was just the perfect place for a realxing,& rejunating short stay. It is a small piece of paradise. If you need to just relaxl & get away,you could not be in a better place ,or better hands.Will definitely be back. Thank You Allison & Andre

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
156 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
129 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
669 reviews
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Property: Birds Ferry Lodge
Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing