We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful hideaway”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed here with my sister on our South Island road trip. This was our first stop and a very welcoming one too! We stayed in the Ferryman's cottage which was self contained and very private. The views were lovely and the surrounding grounds beautifully landscaped with the ducks as were our very own live entertainment. Alison and Andre made us so welcome and we shared a dinner with them chatting away for hours. A great stay and a highly recommended place to stop. Thank you for everything and all the help with advice on the continuation of our journey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Alison and Andre Gygax, M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Birds Ferry Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a very pleasant one night stop at Birds Ferry Lodge. We felt very spoilt with both a beautifully appointed room and run of the expansive lounge/dining area. Alison and Andre got the balance right between being available to chat and fill us in on their property and the local area and leaving us to enjoy the serenity of the Lodge and grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed Alison's cooking and Andre's wine selection and found Andre's advice about local walks and attractions invaluable. We also appreciated all the little touches such as the wide selection of reading material and the home made shortbreads.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stopped in here for one night on a South Island trip and wish we could have stayed longer. A real remote location with amazing views, the perfect place to unwind. Andre and Alison were great hosts with lots of local knowledge they are happy to share.
The only thing I would do different is stay 2 nights.
Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a great location. We had Ferryman's Cottage. This is a totally self contained cottage, with no other habitation within view. It has views across the valley to the sea, and in the other direction landscaped gardens with small lake. The cottage has an exceptionally well equipped kitchen including washing machine/dryer and only place we stayed which had proper (Italian) espresso maker. There were other nice and thoughtful touches throughout the place. Nice bedrooms with comfortable beds (and views). The sitting area as sofas with distant views, and thoughtfully a large scale map of the area (a simple touch, but so welcome). The peace and tranquillity was just perfect. For the price this was outstanding value. We loved it and only wished we had booked to stay longer to enjoy the environs. We had wondered whether there would be enough to do in this area as there is not much in the guide books. As it turned out there was loads of interesting stuff. Highlight: Buller Gorge Jetboats at Murchison (see review), the seal colony just along the road at Cape Foulwind (watched young seals fighting, watched the baby seals playing) and Westport itself was very nice too, yes there is some industry but some great 1920’s architecture. And then there are the coastal drives, so 3 or 4 days at least would have been better than the 2 nights we spent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as we drove down the west coast of the South Island. The cottage was absolutely charming - high end amenities and a rustic decor which fit the location. The kitchen was well stocked. When we arrived, our ready-to-heat dinner was in the fridge, with a freshly baked loaf of bread on the counter. Delicious! The cottage is down the road from the main house, so it's very private and has great views. We strolled out to the pond to see the stars that night - so beautiful, peaceful and quiet. Bird's Ferry is a unique place and we would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cranelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a very special residence somewhat isolated near Westport. It had all the usual features you would expect in the best lodges including every possible piece of best quality linen and furniture. Our bedroom was good although somewhat eccentric. It was really a suite. There was a small but comfortable lounge off which led the bedroom, a bathroom with a bath- tub and lavatory, a separate lavatory and a room labelled Treatment Room which I did not explore. All this led off the family and communal lounge dining room which was beautifully furnished and had books, television and a CD player.
There were two other factors which made it outstanding. The first was the food. Allison made wonderful breakfasts to order. She will also make dinner. It is important to know that this must be ordered in advance and as there is no choice you need to mention anything you do not eat. This meant that the isolation did not matter as we did not have to go out for dinner and in fact for both our nights we had lovely meals each time with a different couple of guests.
The other thing is the nature of the hosts Allison and Andre. Allison was waiting to greet us as we arrived as though she knew exactly when we were coming. She gave us a very warm welcome and of course she is a great cook. She and Andre have their own kitchen garden and all their vegetables are home-grown. Andre took us round and showed us all the plants and he and Allison do it all themselves. We also watched him collecting the eggs from the chicken coop something I have not seen since childhood. Andre has a great knowledge of the area and its facilities and was very keen to share it with us. Consequently we knew where to go for lunch-The Bay Cafe which was wonderful- and all the excursions including a trip through the rainforest.
After only two days we were sorry to leave as we felt we were losing special friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I had a delightful if brief visit here during our honeymoon tour of NZ. The ready-to-heat meal option is great for accommodating a late evening arrival, and the setting is delightful to arrive to! The cottage is exactly as advertised, and quite wonderful. You wont' be disappointed by the food in the evening or morning, amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teledoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
162 reviews
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
673 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
18.8 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
191 reviews
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £211 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing