We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birds Ferry Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westport Motels(Westport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McManus Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
250
27
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
27
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnew zealandone nightsouth islandsmall lakegreat cookfresh eggsgracious hostsdelicious dinnerremote locationhome growna special placehome cooked mealour honeymoontwo nightsother guestsoff the beaten track
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Birds Ferry Cottage is set in the most beautiful secluded place on the West Coast of New Zealand. We loved the quiet, the outdoor baths, the food and cosy but very comfortable accommodation. With food, amazing massage and bubbles thrown in it was a cost effective way it spend a weekend where we needed some R and R. Came away feeling refreshed. We so appreciated our hosts Alison and Andre who made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. We will certainly go back again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which has two good sized bedrooms with the most comfortable beds ever!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Alison and Andre Gygax, M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife, dog, and I stayed in the Ferryman's cottage for two nights and couldn't have been more impressed. From the moment we arrived, our expectations were far exceeded. Alison and André have clearly thought of everything. Before arriving we discussed doing some of the things on offer in the area (which there are many) but after stepping foot into the cottage we both agreed that we wanted to enjoy the place and surroundings as much as possible. It was a completely relaxing weekend. We had a scrumptous cottage dinner cooked by Alison and a fantastic massage by André. If you are looking to be thoroughly spoiled for a special occassion or just want to get away from it all this is it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 103Ted103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Alison and Andre Gygax, M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the lodge and can only praise every element of our experience from the welcoming hospitality to the tour of horticulture prior to our departure.

The standard of the rooms is high as is Alison's cuisine. . Andre as an experienced tour guide recommended interesting places to visit. Alison and Andre are professional and welcoming hosts and provide a truly enjoyable experience

We endorse the positive comments of earlier reviews and would recommend Birds Ferry Lodge for anyone looking for something special.

Room Tip: The cottage is self contained with the lodge catered for breakfast and optional dinner. All rooms are first class.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Alison and Andre Gygax, M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

You couldn't ask for a more peaceful and beautiful place to get away from the ratrace. Alison and Andre are delightful hosts who strive to attend to your every need. We stayed in the cottage, which is warm and cozy. The fire was lit and very welcoming when we arrived on a dark wet evening. The bed was extrememly comfortable the the place was spotless. A tasty selection of goodies was provided for us to choose from for breakfast. The kitchen was well equiped and we particularly liked the generous supply of glasses so we weren't constantly having to wash up. The garden bath was a great kiwi experience with a modern convenient twist. We will definately be returning to Birds Ferry Lodge.

Room Tip: If you want to be pampered and catered for stay in the lodge, but if you want the freedom to do things at your own pace the cottage is for you.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilippaDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Alison and Andre Gygax, M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Fantastic cottage in a peaceful and beautiful setting!! Amazing find!! You can't believe your eyes when you arrive at this cottage and look at the surroundings!! We were astonished at the beautiful surroundings as well as the wonderful cottage, as well as the delicious dinner and breakfast that was supplied by the chef. This is one place you want to visit and stay for as long as possible. It looks even better than it does on the website!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lambchop97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Alison and Andre Gygax, M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews