We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the Ferryman Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Great stay in the Ferryman Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked a one night stay in the Ferryman Cottage. The location is pretty isolated (I believe around 20km from the nearest town), so the detailed directions provided on their website were useful. We were told beforehand to proceed directly to the cottage upon arrival. It had a separate road leading to it and felt very secluded. As we drove in we noticed the beautiful grounds around the cottage. There was lush greenery surrounding the area as well as a small pond, and we were greeted by around five ducks (who seemed to reside in our garden).

Entering the apartment, it seemed well appointed and quite spacious with two bedrooms, a large dining table, lounge area and open plan kitchen. There was only one bathroom, which may not be ideal if you were a party of four staying in the cottage (in our case there was just two of us, so it was not an issue). It seemed no matter which window we looked out of, the views were very nice. Not a single building or other person in sight!

There are some short walks you can take around the property and a map illustrating these is provided in the room. There is a double bathtub outside located in the gardens which looked tempting, but we did not get a chance to try it out.

If you provide advance notice, dinner will be provided in the cottage and left in the fridge for you to heat up. The menu is always changing, in our case we had a chicken dish with rice and corn on the cob. It was quite tasty, although we felt it could have had more seasoning. Loved the chocolate based dessert though! Similarly, all the necessary ingredients for breakfast are left in the apartment (eggs, muesli, fruits, bread, etc). The only extra item available on request was freshly baked croissants, which were delivered to us by Andre in the morning. We found the kitchen was very well equipped and the cutlery and utensils were of a high quality.

Wifi is provided free of charge up to a certain usage limit. We did have some issues with wifi, which was a bit slow and had to be reset at one point. There was a drawer in the kitchen absolutely full with board games, books and DVDs. Plenty to keep you entertained in the evenings. We decided to watch a DVD as we ate dinner, but did find the TV quite small and located at an odd angle.

The cottage is clearly well equipped for winter conditions. There is a working fireplace, radiators, electric blankets, etc. In our visit during March it was a warm sunny day, and it was a bit muggy in the apartment until we opened up the windows. There are plenty of windows so it was much more pleasant once we had a nice cross breeze flowing through. Thoughtfully, they have included mesh netting on most of the windows to keep out any bugs.

We only went to the main building when we needed to check out the next day. Andre was quite keen to hear about our onward journey and provide tips/comments. This was a very enjoyable overnight stop. I loved the seclusion of the cottage and the great views, as well as the resident ducks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
184
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great little gem. We stayed in the cottage - I only wish we could have stayed longer. It's a fully kitted out cottage suitable for a family, and had everything we could possibly need as travellers, including a washing machine with powder, and a dryer. There was plenty of hot water, towels, dressing gowns, and bathroom stuff, including bath salts. They have an impressive collection of DVDs and games, although we did not have time for those. The furnishings are cosy. It was very warm, so we had no need for the wood burner, although that would have been romantic. If it had been cold, they also had oil fin heaters and electric blankets. The beds were divine. The kitchen is fully equipped, and has a dishwasher drawer. We were left bacon, eggs, juice and freshly baked bread for our breakfast. Outside there is a fantastic garden with a huge lawn, a stream with a bridge and a family of ducks. Interestingly, there were also two baths outside, fully connected to the main water supply, with telephone-type tap fittings. On the deck there is a table and chairs and a BBQ. I would not only like to stay here again, but to live here.!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We only spent one night here but wished it had been longer. We were greeted by Alison on our arrival with a pot of tea and beautiful home made shortbread. She showed us around the property and then to our room which was extremely comfortable with great views and had everything one could possibly want at hand.

We had pre booked dinner at the lodge and we were offered pre dinner drinks at 6.30 in the guest with Andre as host whilst Alison was merrily cooking our dinner in the adjoining kitchen. Dinner was beautiful and thoroughly enjoyed.

After dinner the lounge is a wonderful comfy room to relax in and look at the many books And magazines available.

Breakfast was lovely too and afterwards the little chat we had with Andre about our onward journey was very much appreciated.

This B&B is well worth a visit, thank you Alison and Andre for your hospitality and only wish we could have used the hot tub and also experienced a massage too, next time!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Bird's ferryman cottage for only one night, travel agent's shame, as it should be longer to enjoy the ambience of the place and hospitality of the hosts Alison and Andre. While the cottage was self contained with provisions, way beyond our needs, to prepare our own breakfast, we also enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal prepared by Alison and served at the lodge with lodge guests. Evening meal must be booked in advance!!! Breakfast supplies were all homemade or local produce. The garden was a joy to behold and pond ducks gave us many laughs as they begged to be fed. Cottage includes washing machine, dryer, dishwasher and microwave. Rooms spacious and well furnished, just drive in and enjoy the peace and solitude. We will be back if at all possible, thank you Alison and Andre

Room Tip: Didn't see the lodge rooms but suspect they as good as the cottage which has 2 bedrooms so would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review - Andre and Alison are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Birds Ferry, particularly Allison's excellent cooking. Unfortunately rain kept us from seeing much of the property, but the views were beautiful. The room included a separate sitting area, which was very nice. Westport is a bit remote, but the area attractions make it worth the drive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary_Gotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review - Andre and Alison are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

we had a fantastic welcome, accomodation and meals here. the tour of the garden and brid life added to having and all-round excellent experience - tour organisers should extend the stay beyond one night- we were sorry to leave..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notsofat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review - Andre and Alison are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Bird's Ferry is a must when in Westport.
Allison and Andre are the perfect hosts. We were so sorry that we were only there for one night.
The most beautiful accommodations, delicious food, magnificent setting.
More than the comforts of home.
In the am Andre gave us wonderful places to stop at to hike as we moved down the coast.
A must place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilll111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Andre and Alison thoroughly enjoyed your company and we are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. We hope to see you back some day and wish you both safe and happy travels.A&A M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
20.0 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Property: Birds Ferry Lodge
Address: Birds Ferry Road, RD 2, Westport 7865, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing