We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, make the time to get there!”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, make the time to get there!”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I stayed in the cottage with friends for only one night. I could have stayed one week. The location is a bit remote, but this provides lots of native bush and birds for a feeling of solitude and nature at its best. I would prefer the cottage over the lodge too, simply because I like my space. Andre and Alison are very friendly and welcoming, no doubt great hosts if you are in the lodge with them! The dogs are gems.
The cottage has everything you need, and more! Loved the information provided on the area, loved the wood burner, loved the garden. The two bedrooms are both very comfortable, as are the couches in the lounge. I wanted to curl up for days with all my supplies (and maybe a trip to the pizza place!), my partner, and a book. I wanted to explore the beaches, the walks, the grounds. I want to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2009
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
186
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okarito
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed in the cottage and, after a wonderful visit with hosts Alison and Andre, and armed with loads of maps, places to visit, walk and discover, we proceeded to relax more in 3 days than we did in 2 weeks in Rarotonga! The peacefulness of the property, the outdoor bath while being serenaded by bellbirds, and the discovery of the diversity of environment one finds here on the West Coast was wonderful. The cottage had everything (and more) we needed. We highly recommend a stay whether passing through or looking to unwind for a few days - marvelous!
Paula & Swade - Okarito, West Coast, NZ

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leoben, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We reached late afternoon on a cool breezy winter day and were very pleasantly surprised when we reached the Lodge.
The hosts were very attentive and since we booked all three bedrooms, the lodge was fully ours.
The bedrooms are nicely done, all wooden interiors which makes a warm impression. Size of the rooms is nothing special, bathrooms are ensuite. The lounge / dining area are truly nice and relaxing, open fireplace, huge leather couch, great really.
Best is the hot tub outside which we greatly enjoyed late night for stargazing at minus 1C :-)
A laptop with internet access is provided by the hosts, alternatively wlan is available (chargeable), which only has signal in the lounge though, but that's not an issue really.

  • Liked — Hot Tub
  • Disliked — Nothing, all good
  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southislander019, owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to review.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit whilst escaping the heat of home!

Readers should note that the WIFI internet supplied throughout Birds Ferry Lodge is comlimentary. Guests are issued with a coded voucher which has a dollar value printed on it but no charge is made. Easy to see where the confusion lay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We arrived at Birds Ferry Lodge on a rainy afternoon. After a trip up a dirt road, we didn't expect much. We were pleasantly surprised when we came upon the lovely main lodge. We were invited inside and offered refreshments by Andre and Allison, the owners. Birds Ferry is on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley with a view of the ocean in the distance. The rooms were comfortable and food was wonderful. Some members of our party stayed at the outer cottage and said that it was wonderfully romantic. This is a great place and run by a super couple.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank video1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We visited Birds Ferry Lodge in February of 2009 and with out a doubt this was our favorite stay in New Zealand! The private chalet was incredibly wonderful and private. The views were breath taking. The food was truly the best in the country and the service from Alison and Andre was absolutely beyond our expectations! This is a New Zealand experience you do not want to miss!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crogers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I've been to over 100 cities all over the world, and I've stayed in all types of great hotels. I think that Birds Ferry Lodge provided the best experience anywhere.

First, the great things about it:

* The lodge is serene, beautiful, and the view is gorgeous at any time of the day
* The owners are some of the nicest people we met in New Zealand
* Breakfast and dinner were perfect
* They have two great doggies who are very friendly and nice

Additionally:

* The price is high, but not ridiculous. I would pay for a 3 night stay without hesitation.
* The location is good if you're traveling up or down the west coast
* The neighbors are far away -- you're literally surrounded by beautiful land

I could easily live at the Birds Ferry Lodge for 6 or 7 days. It's a perfect experience for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southislander019, owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, 27 April 2009
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with is our secret corner of New Zealand! We look forward to welcoming you back some day. Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at Birds Ferry four years ago, during a honeymoon trip through NZ. We have traveled extensively through four continents, but when we remember the places we have stayed in our travels, we always put Birds Ferry at the top of the list. We think of it every few months--"Remember that place we stayed on the West Coast of New Zealand?" one of us will say, and the other will nod wistfully. What is so amazing? Well, simply: everything.

The location is conveniently situated for anyone heading to the Pancake Rocks or heading down to the glaciers, but the lodge itself is nestled just far enough down a private road that you feel that you have entered another, more natural, world. The lodge is impeccably furnished--it is comfortable, beautiful, and showcases its breathtaking surroundings. Our bed was oh-so-comfy, and the bathroom was positively luxurious. You will experience the proprietor's scrumptious cooking in the morning (the breakfast was ridiculously hearty), but you should also bespeak a handcrafted dinner for your first night (you should do so in any case, because the food is amazing, but it is also true that other dining out options are limited in this rural area). There is a smorgasbord of outdoor opportunities nearby, and the lodge is situated on 33 private acres, which you could spend days exploring if you so desired. My husband and I particularly enjoyed relaxing in the lovely spa (we were visited by a rare species of owl as we soaked--apparently not an uncommon occurrence) and taking the short walk up the hill to the nearby seal colony (there were hundreds of seals, sunning themselves on huge rocks as the ocean swirled with bull kelp below them).

In short: stay here. And schedule an extra night or two, because it's going to be even better than you expect.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank histrionics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
156 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
129 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
669 reviews
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Property: Birds Ferry Lodge
Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing