We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful and relaxing”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We needed to 'get away from it all' and see a part of South Island that we had somehow missed in the past. Andre and Alison at Birds Ferry Lodge were able to provide all of that and more: they added a warm welcome and friendly touch as well. The Ferry Mans Cottage is situated in an idyllic setting for relaxing, with only ducks on the nearby ponds and birds in the trees for company. We had 3 days of stunningly-warm weather and fortunately the cottage is conveniently positioned to exploit the cooler sea breezes.
Andre is a veritable mine of information on local history. We particularly appreciated the walks he took us on through areas of old gold diggings near Charleston and the now-abandoned coal mines of Denniston.
All in all it was a wonderful place to stay and Andre and Alison proved to be warm and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard_derekson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

Ferry Man's Cottage offers Pioneer-style seclusion coupled with every modern convenience and thoughtful touch you could desire - including plenty of board games and DVD's in case of wet weather. Immaculately clean, well appointed, nicely furnished, and in a setting that will take your breath away. Spend hours sitting and gazing at your beautiful surroundings and listening to the birds. Just bring your insect repellent in case of sand flies. The icing on the cake - the sunset was truly beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We spent a few days in the Ferry man's Cottage. Alison and Andre were the perfect hosts full of information on things to do in the area. Alison is a magnificent cook, with all produce coming from her garden. The cottage, whilst situated close to a range of drives and walks is also private and secluded and provides the perfect opportunity for relaxation. A beautiful retreat!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

.. this place is pretty self sufficient it seems and the 40 odd chooks of differing varieties had an old townie like me fairly interested - not to mention the horticulture, most of it inside 'plastic tubes' -corn, asparagrass, tomatoes, courgettes, pumpkin, sweetpea, carots etc etc. We toured the grounds with Alison and gained a bit of insight into this type of country life and a little history of the place - well worth doing when you visit. Whether there is just 2 of you, or a small group looking for a place where you can cook yourself and party a little (in the cottage which is well separate from the lodge) and with a beautiful environment - this is the place. GO.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank poppyh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

On our way up from Franz Josef to Abel Tasman we needed a place to stay. I can imagine this is a general problem for a lot of travellers up the west coast and that they end up in Westport.

By pure luck, we found and booked the Birds Ferry Lodge. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted by the welcoming Andre and Alison, the owners, and their two lovely friendly little dogs. There is nothing like arriving after a long drive and being welcomed into a great place, sat down, offered a warm cup of tea and chatted to as if you were more than just customers, but actual GUESTS in a place.

Andre and Alison were fabulous - no request was too much for them and my wife and I were bowled over by their great attitude. Andre is also a masseuse and professional guide and is happy to take tours around the area.

Birds Ferry Lodge itself is a very modern lodge in a relatively isolated part of the world. Its location is very impressive and picturesque and the lodge offers modern, clean and spacious accomodation. We chose to relax but the setting is certainly impressive enough to go on several exploratory walks if desired.

We topped off the stay with an excellent breakfast cooked by Alison and were sad to have only spent one day and one night with them.

For people looking for sophisticated, modern welcoming accomodation, we would highly recommend the Birds Ferry Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylordavidandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We arrived here after a long drive and were warmly welcomed by Andre and Alison with home made cakes and tea, just what we needed! The Lodge has a magnificent setting at the end of a track leading from the main road south. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable with lovely bed linen to relax into. The Main seating/dining area is in a beautiful room with wonderful views over a valley to the distant sea, and this room and the bedrooms have a wooden terrace aound them should the weather allow you to sit and dream outside. This place is so relaxed and peaceful, we wished we could have stayed longer. One of our party is a birdwatcher and we did hear a Morepork owl during the night and watched the bird on the feeding station outside in the garden. As we "grow our own" at home we were invited to walk through the vegetable garden and poly tunnels which supply the Lodge, and we met the ducks, chickens and guinea fowl en route. We would encourage guests that want an evening meal at the Lodge, to book this in advance. Not all travel agents tell you this, and it would be a shame to miss Alison's cooking and sampling the produce from the garden! As Andre discovered that I am a bird watcher we had a conducted tour of the scrubby land beyond the garden where we had some wonderfully close up views of Fernbirds which we otherwise wouldn't have seen, so well do they hide themselves in the undergrowth. I don't know where the disgruntled reviewer stayed, but it certainly wasn't in the same Lodge as we visited. We would certainly love to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Located in bushy surroundings, with picturesque views. Privacy is ensured. Food and service is the best that we experianced on our south Island trip. Alison and Andre have captured true New Zealand country feel. Our wedding photos were beautiful, and would recomend to any one wanting a peaceful relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbksNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
184 reviews
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
687 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
230 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
315 reviews
9.3 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 16 in Westport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £209 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing