We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed, friendly host, but fronts highway, not beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfy bed, friendly host, but fronts highway, not beach”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I hesitate to write a negative review, but the difference between our expectation and the reality, having read other reviews and looked at the website, had our hearts sinking as we pulled up to Charming Creek B&B. Maybe we were expecting too much – the website says all suites have private sundecks and talks of the Tasman in front and the bush-clad plateau behind; in fact the superking twin suite fronted the parking area and the highway with the ocean beyond and out of sight; adjacent, across the playing field, is a coal processing facility which operates around the clock, the noise is not great, and closing the screened window shuts it out, and also sadly, the sound of the waves. On the positive side, Gay is friendly, helpful and goes out of her way to make you feel at home – the Xmas cake she gave us for afternoon tea was superb; we also had a complimentary bottle of wine. Our unit was clean and tastefully decorated, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom large and the towels plentiful and fluffy. The Wifi is free for 30 mins, thereafter a charge applies, but for some reason our netbook was unable to pick up the signal for the B&B (although the neighbour’s registered). Gay suggested we park outside the library in Westport, to use the free Wifi there, which we did the following morning. In summary, comfortable accommodation and helpful host, but the setting is somewhat oversold.

Room Tip: Avoid the king twin driftwood suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agy_8, Owner at Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We are sad when any guests are disappointed - we make no attempt to oversell this property - the description for the superking room does not promise an ocean view - and from our decks there are glimpses of the sea directly across the road where the rest of our property does indeed go right to waters' edge......to gain more view we would have to wipe out all the little blue penguin habitat between us and the sea. Any more beachfront and the waves would be breaking into the property! Re private decks - the decks are private as they open from the rooms through your french doors - they are not secluded and hidden though - again our description does not promise that and the photos on the website are clear. The property is double glazed for soundproofing for any noise from the road or from the plant across the other side of the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Easy to find, great location, clean, comfy beds, friendly and knowledgable hostess, lovely breakfast and awesome beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bugdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A lovely place, spectacular and peaceful. Lovely and clean bedrooms and a relief to have a peaceful and soothing sleep. Beautiful surroundings and to top it off, amazing hosts (Gay and Storm :) ) Stones throw from the beach to enjoy the sea air and sunset. Def recommended place to stay.
Thank you Gay and Storm

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had a fantastic time at Charming Creek. Right from the start we were welcomed like we were family. Our hostess immediately showed us how to use the coffee maker and we were deliciously caffeinated for the rest of our time there. We also got help planning our New Years festivities and got information about local history and attractions. The room was spotless, bed was comfortable, walk to the beach short, and breakfasts tasty. The b and b is a short walk to the head of the beautiful Charming Creek walkway. Definitely worth staying more than one night to take advantage of the hospitality and beauty of this part of the country.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We arrived at Charming Creek after a long day's drive and we could not have been more pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome received as well as the cosy rooms which awaited us. We had a very restful night. Except for the fact that Charming Creek was located some what away from Westport town centre, Charming Creek is a very charming place for a stop over..... P.S It faces the sea and you will have access to an ideal morning stroll on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akirac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

What a gem of a place. Lovely bedroom, great breakfast but most of all fantastic hostess. Gay went the extra mile and made our lunch for our mountain bike ride we did around the Charming Creek circuit. Highly recommend bike ride, check out the Kennett Brothers mountain bike guide for directions. Took around 3 1/2 hours.
I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the private caravan and hot tub across the road on the beach front. Would reccommend without hesitation.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Staying at Charming Creek is a unique experience. The accommodation is reasonably priced and very comfortable, but what makes this place special is the feeling of being genuinely looked after. In the morning the weather was perfect for a walk on the magnificent beach opposite, but I had not brought sensible shoes. No problem — our hostess came out with gumboots for me to borrow!
Breakfast was great, with fresh grapefruit, delicious homemade jam for the bread and fresh fruit salad.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lindahuttwhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.4 mi away
Miners on Sea
Miners on Sea
#1 of 1 in Granity
73 reviews
18.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
17.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 17 in Westport
263 reviews
22.4 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
153 reviews
17.6 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast

Property: Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 Main Road | Ngakawau, Westport 7824, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish architect-designed beach stay 20 mins north of Westport. All suites with premium pillowtop beds, french doors, sun decks, and en suites with massage showers. Rooms double-glazed, insect screened, and heated. Jura Swiss espresso machine. In house movies, Sky TV satellite service, wireless internet, DVD/MP3 stereo system. Freshwater hot tub (extra charge/booking required), nature garden and relaxation centre at water's edge. Charming Creek walkway across the park cafes and art close by - easy day trips to Pancake Rocks, Denniston, and the Oparara Wetlands. Breakfast included Non-smoking inside. From December 1 2016 this property will become Charming Creek Beach Lodge offering self-catered, self-contained apartments - 1bed/bath; 2 bed/bath; 2bed/2bath; and 3 bed/2bath. Whole property will sleep 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing