We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome by Gay and the shelties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome by Gay and the shelties”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This was a unique little B&B. Very comfortable, we were late in arriving and although we had already eaten on the way cheese, pickle and homegrown tomatoes were waiting for us. Very comfortable room with a separate shower room and separate toilet facilities. Small kitchen/sitting area for use of guests. Super breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade yoghurt with choice of cereals and plenty of toast. We only were able to stay one night as we were transiting from Picton to Dunedin via the West Coast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had the most beautiful stay at the aptly-named Charming Creek B&B. The location is beautiful, with the restful, ever-present sound of the sea as background music. The accommodation itself is immaculate, cosy and well-planned, with every amenity. The outdoor hot tub was just magical after a long drive. The food was fresh, interesting and delicious and Gay and is a friendly, fun host with a wealth of local knowledge and interesting tales. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiegeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Lovely well thought out accomodation with everything you could want. Everything the other great reviews have said I have to agree with. Gay was a lovely host and we had a great 2 night stay. We enjoyed the hot tub in the evening after our treck along the entire length of the walkway, this was a magical experience with all of the candles and little old caravan. We did eat at the B and B on our second night and had a lovely 3 course meal. The restaurant mentioned in the previous reviews was closed for a private function and we missed out on trying the ribs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

"I don't Suppose" we could have asked for a more pleasant place to stay or a more wonderful hostess than Gay. Our breakfast was fresh and very good. The room was very clean and all the little added features that make it special. The lounge area was very comfortable with all the amenities. Gay was very accommodating, knowledgeable about all local stuff and just a great hostess. We loved the Shelties and everything else about Charming Creek B&B.

Paul & Jane Meyer
Colorado, USA

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Gay is the perfect host. We loved the Shelties! The room was lovely and spotlessly clean as were the rest of the rooms. A beautiful costal place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Junction, OR
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here one night on a trip up the west coast. The room was very pleasant with a nice outdoor veranda. We were greeted by two darling Shelties - one who loves to play ball and one who is rather shy but enjoys being petted and cuddled. As we were missing our own dogs, it was very enjoyable to have these two little gems around. In the evening we went for a walk on the beach with the owner and the dogs. The beach is just across the road from the Inn and is very nice. An excellent walk, the Charming Creek Pathway, is very close and is most enjoyable. This B and B is a ways out of Westport and would be a great location for exploring the Karamea area. We will definitely be back and will stay at this B and B again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road and had a very nice veranda to enjoy the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewZealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Gay is an intelligant host ,friendly but not overpowering ,leaves you with plenty of space to do your own thing .Great bed complimented by a spotlessly clean en-suite.Well set up lovely warm lounge .Great indoor outdoor living options
Nice healthy breakfast ,served with a liberal dose of good humour.
If you really want to get a good taste of life on the West Coast (life as it used to be ),then Charming Creek B&B is an excellent base .We got out into the countryside ,completed the Charming Creek walkway ,beautiful and surely one of New Zealands most under rated walkways. Even if you just get as far as Wilsons Mill swing bridge you will love the walk .We are in our sixties so all you youngsters will find the walk a breeze .
Gay pointed us in the direction of Drifters for dinner ,its a grest spot if you want to meet a good cross section of the locals .Uncomplicated menu ,the pork ribs were the best I've ever had.
At Charming Creek B&B we felt valued and well cared for by a very helpful and courteous host .

Room Tip: Whichever room you get you'll be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugsey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.4 mi away
Miners on Sea
Miners on Sea
#1 of 1 in Granity
73 reviews
18.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
17.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
152 reviews
17.7 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
71 reviews
17.6 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast

Property: Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 Main Road | Ngakawau, Westport 7824, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish architect-designed beach stay 20 mins north of Westport. All suites with premium pillowtop beds, french doors, sun decks, and en suites with massage showers. Rooms double-glazed, insect screened, and heated. Jura Swiss espresso machine. In house movies, Sky TV satellite service, wireless internet, DVD/MP3 stereo system. Freshwater hot tub (extra charge/booking required), nature garden and relaxation centre at water's edge. Charming Creek walkway across the park cafes and art close by - easy day trips to Pancake Rocks, Denniston, and the Oparara Wetlands. Breakfast included Non-smoking inside. From December 1 2016 this property will become Charming Creek Beach Lodge offering self-catered, self-contained apartments - 1bed/bath; 2 bed/bath; 2bed/2bath; and 3 bed/2bath. Whole property will sleep 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing