We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise in the Wild West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bullaburra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprise in the Wild West”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Gay provided us with a warm welcome and B&B on a cool April evening. She is a delightful host, who provides a beautiful breakfast. The rooms were spotless and fitted out with care and attention to detail. Gay is full of local info and happily provided some eating suggestions which we followed, Drifters Cafe is very good for a meal and does great coffee. The Charming Creek Walkway is a must, at least to the swing bridge. Walk starts across the oval from the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My stay at Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast was one of the best while in NZ. Charming Creek offers a beautifully decorated, clean residence that is inviting and more luxurious than any hotel.

The bedroom was large and comfortable with high quality linen and mattress. The shower and bathroom were clean and provided for all needs (heating, powerful shower head etc). The bedroom opens up to a gorgeous patio perfect for relaxing with a cuppa. The B&B offered a communal kitchen and lounge area allowing guests to mingle, a great positive as I met an adorable couple.

Charming Creek is situated 20mins outside of Westport, which is a huge bonus providing a serene environment enhanced by the sound of the ocean literally across the road.

The host Gay (and her sidekick Storm), were very accommodating, friendly and fascinating. A very knowledgeable host, she has taken care of the tiniest details providing all creature comforts. Breakfast includes home-made yogurt which is truly divine.

I can not wait to return to NZ and look forward to my next stay at Charming Creek - you can not go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurKir_0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefree, Az
Level Contributor
103 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Had planned to stay in Westport but wanted an excellent B&B. We found this place "up north". Turned out to be wonderful. We found the Karamea area wih the arches and beautiful, easy, short walks. We'd had enough jet boats and other adventures by this point. The property looks plain but the rooms are excellent. It is across from the beach. Drifters is a hippified restaurant close by with excellent food. Gay, the host, was charming, helpful and a good cook.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2010

One of NZ's best kept secrets ! We left feeling like we had made a new friend,Gaye is a wonderful interesting person and an expert host, putting us at our ease and making sure our stay was special and very comfortable. She is expert at thinking of extra's which one might need and providing them.
Great sleep being lulled by the waves on the nearby beach, listening to the rain on the roof, exploring an old coal mine the next day, walking in the bush.
Thoroughly recommend the Charming Creek B&B attention to detail was superb, breakfast fresh and delicious, our weekend away left us wanting to return...soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Our host, welcomed us into her home along with her Sheltie dog, Storm.
You walk right into a sitting and eating area along with a kitchenette, has a apartment size frig for storage and the two rooms are on either side behind the kitchen. We had a spacious king size bed with walkout onto small deck. The beach is across the road, unfortunately we arrived late afternoon and the weather was quite windy, drizzily and cool to enjoy the beach. A beautiful place to stay for more than one evening. The breakfast consisted of both cold and hot and was quite delicious. An enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoltzfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed here for a night on our way down the west coast for our honeymoon. I will agree with the other posters that it is a bit far from Westport. It is right on the main highway leading north from Westport. Because it was June, not all the restaurants were open and we ended up at a casual bar-type place, about 15 minutes drive from Charming Creek. It was a pretty good dinner though.

The room was fine with a large bathroom and a fairly large bedroom, but we were a bit put-off by some of the rules and we did not find Gay to be overly friendly. For example, there is no TV in the room, but it is instead located in the shared eating/lounge area, right near the ceiling, some distance from the sofa. That is fine, but if you want to watch one of the videos from this uncomfortable position, you are supposed to pay for it!! The other thing that was disappointing was the quality of the breakfast. There were holes cut out of my toast in the morning. I'm pretty sure that it was because the mold had to be cut out! I am not sure if this happened only because we came in the slow season, but of the 11 different places we stayed on this trip, this one was our least favourite. Maybe I would feel differently if we could have used the outdoor hot tub (too windy), but I would pick something else next time.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agy_8, owner and manager at Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
We are sad that this honeymoon couple didn't have a good time here. Our policy with honeymooners is to be non-intrusive and to respect the fact that their primary interest is in being together. We also like to point out that all our DVD movies are free to guests (so we don't quite understand the comments about having to pay for them). The "holes in my toast" comments have us utterly perplexed - we never serve anything that isn't at peak freshness even growing our own eggs - the only holes in our bread come from the fact that we often in the winter make home-made loaves which guests love - occasionally the last or first slice of one of these isn't uniform like supermarket bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Gay is just the most fabulous host. Charming and attentive, but respectful of privacy. The meals that she put on for us were just lovely and of restaurant quality. The set-up at the house is fantastic - I love the fact that we had our own lounge/dining/kitchenette, we really felt like we had "our own space". And of course I can't say enough about the outdoor hot-tub experience! Well worth the extra money I say.

The location is just stunning, right on the beach and so peaceful. It really is a most gorgeous part of the country. But do be aware that it is a good 30min drive from the nearest town (Westport) and if you are looking for anything resembling civilisation you won't find it here! (But that's a good thing in my books - it's just you, the beach and the birds!)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeekgirlWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.4 mi away
Miners on Sea
Miners on Sea
#1 of 1 in Granity
68 reviews
18.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
125 reviews
17.7 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
339 reviews
22.4 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
135 reviews
26.4 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 16 in Westport
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast

Property: Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 Main Road | Ngakawau, Westport 7824, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish architect-designed beach stay 20 mins north of Westport. All suites with premium pillowtop beds, french doors, sun decks, and en suites with massage showers. Rooms double-glazed, insect screened, and heated. Jura Swiss espresso machine. In house movies, Sky TV satellite service, wireless internet, DVD/MP3 stereo system. Freshwater hot tub (extra charge/booking required), nature garden and relaxation centre at water's edge. Charming Creek walkway across the park cafes and art close by - easy day trips to Pancake Rocks, Denniston, and the Oparara Wetlands. Breakfast included Non-smoking inside. From December 1 2016 this property will become Charming Creek Beach Lodge offering self-catered, self-contained apartments - 1bed/bath; 2 bed/bath; 2bed/2bath; and 3 bed/2bath. Whole property will sleep 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing