We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, cosy, everything at your fingertips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2010

A very warm welcome from Gay and a bit of a yarn and then off for a stomp along a sunsetting beach, stopped in the local pub for a pint and watch the local rugby team celebrate a win in a semi final, back to the B&B which is located on the main road just across from the beach, the road is not busy, and whatever traffic there is, is easily screened out by the double glazing, they are very comfy rooms, lovely linen and excellant bathrooms and lots to do in the local surrounds,Westport only half an hour away if you need to see some bright lights!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

We are so glad we chose to stay at Charming Creek B&B, it was one of the many highlights of the beautiful West Coast. Can't wait to stay there again! Gay was an outstanding host.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Gay provided us with a warm welcome and B&B on a cool April evening. She is a delightful host, who provides a beautiful breakfast. The rooms were spotless and fitted out with care and attention to detail. Gay is full of local info and happily provided some eating suggestions which we followed, Drifters Cafe is very good for a meal and does great coffee. The Charming Creek Walkway is a must, at least to the swing bridge. Walk starts across the oval from the B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My stay at Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast was one of the best while in NZ. Charming Creek offers a beautifully decorated, clean residence that is inviting and more luxurious than any hotel.

The bedroom was large and comfortable with high quality linen and mattress. The shower and bathroom were clean and provided for all needs (heating, powerful shower head etc). The bedroom opens up to a gorgeous patio perfect for relaxing with a cuppa. The B&B offered a communal kitchen and lounge area allowing guests to mingle, a great positive as I met an adorable couple.

Charming Creek is situated 20mins outside of Westport, which is a huge bonus providing a serene environment enhanced by the sound of the ocean literally across the road.

The host Gay (and her sidekick Storm), were very accommodating, friendly and fascinating. A very knowledgeable host, she has taken care of the tiniest details providing all creature comforts. Breakfast includes home-made yogurt which is truly divine.

I can not wait to return to NZ and look forward to my next stay at Charming Creek - you can not go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurKir_0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Had planned to stay in Westport but wanted an excellent B&B. We found this place "up north". Turned out to be wonderful. We found the Karamea area wih the arches and beautiful, easy, short walks. We'd had enough jet boats and other adventures by this point. The property looks plain but the rooms are excellent. It is across from the beach. Drifters is a hippified restaurant close by with excellent food. Gay, the host, was charming, helpful and a good cook.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

One of NZ's best kept secrets ! We left feeling like we had made a new friend,Gaye is a wonderful interesting person and an expert host, putting us at our ease and making sure our stay was special and very comfortable. She is expert at thinking of extra's which one might need and providing them.
Great sleep being lulled by the waves on the nearby beach, listening to the rain on the roof, exploring an old coal mine the next day, walking in the bush.
Thoroughly recommend the Charming Creek B&B attention to detail was superb, breakfast fresh and delicious, our weekend away left us wanting to return...soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winelover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Our host, welcomed us into her home along with her Sheltie dog, Storm.
You walk right into a sitting and eating area along with a kitchenette, has a apartment size frig for storage and the two rooms are on either side behind the kitchen. We had a spacious king size bed with walkout onto small deck. The beach is across the road, unfortunately we arrived late afternoon and the weather was quite windy, drizzily and cool to enjoy the beach. A beautiful place to stay for more than one evening. The breakfast consisted of both cold and hot and was quite delicious. An enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoltzfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.4 mi away
Miners on Sea
Miners on Sea
#1 of 1 in Granity
75 reviews
17.6 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
18.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
348 reviews
22.4 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
161 reviews
17.6 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast

Address: 24 Main Road | Ngakawau, Westport 7824, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £59 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish beach stay 20 mins north of Westport. All suites with premium pillowtop beds, french doors, sun decks, and in-room bathrooms. Rooms double-glazed, insect screened, and heated. Jura Swiss espresso machine. In house movies, TV satellite service, free wifi. Charming Creek walkway across the park cafes and art close by - easy day trips to Pancake Rocks, Denniston, and the Oparara Wetlands. Breakfast included Non-smoking inside. From December 1 2016 this property will become Charming Creek Beach Lodge offering self-catered accommodation, with guest kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing