We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Ranked #2 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My wife and I decided to take our honeymoon in New Zealand and booked a package which included the rough and tumble lodge. Throughout out stay in new zealand we stayed at about 8 different accommodations yet the rough and tumble lodge was by far the most impressive stay. This lodge combines romance with beautiful scenery. The food was astonishingly impressive as well. Our first night we were greeted with hummas and pita followed by a main course which included baked salmon with a garlic cream sauce and rice pilaf, with a side of mushroom rosetti of some sort. It was the kind of food one would pay 30-40 U.S. dollars for per meal, but it was included. Not to mention the dessert which was a sweet pear and cream. It was amazing! The coffee was great. The activities were perfect as well. We only had a day there, but we took a hike that followed a raging river which had several waterfalls dumping into it-- followed by the main attraction-- a powerful 50 foot waterfall. Lunch was even provided that day! After the hike we relaxed in a bush bath, which is literally what it is. It is a romantic bubble bath overlooking the river and under looking a beautiful sky of stars! We would go back to New Zealand just to stay here! WE LOVE ROUGH AND TUMBLE! --Andy and Debbie

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muska3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2009

The Rough and Tumble Lodge is a beautiful property owned and operated by an American couple - Susan and Marion - aka Weasel. The property is located in a remote valley which is reached by travelling a gravel road four (4) kilometers past Seddonville. Seddonville itself is but a dot on the map and consists of principally one structure - the tavern.

The Lodge has four rooms each of which has a bed and bathroom downstairs and a loft with another two twin beds. The setting is beside a river and extremely relaxing. The main room of the lodge has a dining area with two tables and a small sitting area. There is also a loft above the dining area with another sofa and a desk.

Guests are encouraged to bring their own beer and wine. All meals are provided to include a sack lunch for those guests staying two or more nights. The food is very good.

There are several tracks in the immediate area but the main one of interest is the Charming Creek Walkway. The walkway follows the route of a railway that was used to transport coal and timber from the early 1900s to 1958 from the Charming Creek Valley to the coast. Many of the rails and ties from the railway are still in place.

After a breakfast of some fresh fruit salad and chili eggs I set off for the Charming Creek Walkway. Since Susan and Weasel wanted to do the walk as well we exchanged cars. I drove to the upper start point with their truck and they drove to the lower start point with my rental. Midway on the track we exchanged car keys.

The walk was perfect. No people and great weather. At one point I sat on the track and had a nice visit with a local bird a "Tomtit".

Great location and hosts. This is a one of a kind.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My stay at the R&T was like no other. The lodge is beautifully presented and welcoming. When we arrived the Lounge had the fire lit and it was wonderfully warm a cosie. The rooms top floor looked out at the dense bush below and the restful sound of the River and Rain made for the best nights sleep i have every experinced. I would definatly reccomend that you stay at least two nights to enjoy it properly. There is a great pool just down form the lodge where the men can fish and the children can swim. There are bushwalks for you to explore the area and you can even get a helicopter up the monkihanui river and raft down. The dinner & breakfast is also great and included in the price of the stay. If you stay more than one night you also get your lunch included. I would reccomend this for anyone wanting to get away from the busy life and it is great for any age to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussymis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

Rough & Tumble Lodge is a very special place!.Our stay there was too short ,(specially with so many activity possibilities) so we hope to come back and enjoy it next time for a bit longer!
The "R&T" is located in an awesome place.It is secluded & totally surrounded by natural beauty. Sounds of birds, the amazing river (the pool) and views of the ancient trees & green covered mountains from our rustic yet cozy & well appointed room invited us to relax and tune in with nauture.
Susan our host cooked delicious food for us and made sure we were confortable. Few places in NZ offer such powerfull natural settings like the Rough & Tumble Lodge plus the added warmth, friendly hosts, cozy lodge atmosfere really made our stay there very special.

Ramon & Maggie

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ramonhron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

We ended our family xmas holiday to NZ with three nights at this unique and wonderful bush lodge. The natural setting is stunning: mountains rising up around you and the Mohikhinui river flowing by so clear and clean we drank straight from it. Equally spectacular was the lodge itself, and our fantastic hosts who built this intimate lodgewith their own hands with love and delightful attention to detail. It feels like a home away from home. Wonderful home cooked food, great conversations and games in front of the toasty fire, secluded places for quiet time. We tried the "heli-rafting" offered through the lodge, awe-inspiring copter ride up into the mountains (hauling the raft and kayak on a rope!) and then rafting down over a glorious six hours ending right at the beach in front of the lodge. We also did some great hiking in the area. The setting and the lodge itself are exceptional, but what makes this place truly extraordinary are the wonderful owners, Marion and Susan. They are fabulous hosts: welcoming, sensitive to their guests needs, attentive, entertaining (setting up an after dinner bonfire near the beach for us, know everything about the area, great musicians!), generous and relaxed. For us, all these qualities of Rough & Tumble Bush Lodge made for a fabulous end to what had been a great visit to New Zealand. I also commend Susan for her flexibility and helpful attitude when I was struggling to nail down our reservation for a large party of people coming from all over the world. If you love nature and appreciate beautiful duplex lodge rooms, delicious food, a hot fire to sit around in the evening, and a most hospitable atmosphere, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agfHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

I have read good reviews about the setting of the lodge on this site so I will try to add to them. We stayed at the lodge for 5 nights, 2 of the nights we were the only guests and 3 nights there was another couple and 2 families with 2 children each. The owners of the lodge did a great job making all the guests happy; Marion with all the activities he offered, he took us on a special bush hike Christmas Day, drove my husband and I to another hike, songfest by the campfire one night etc and Susan made all the meals fit everyones' taste, fresh and delicious home cooked meals (breakfast and dinner in the lodge, bagged lunches for the day). They really want you to have a good time. You can also just relax on the large deck, by the fireplace in the lodge, in the bush bath (fun, fun, fun) or in the quiet rooms. The beach close to the lodge is deserted and beautiful. The Rough and Tumble is relaxing, fun and a good value with owners who know what they are doing.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank derwae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

Definitely rustic but a really wonderful place. We had both dinner and breakfast prepared by Susan and it was some of the best we had in NZ (and we stayed at many 4 and 5* places). Beautiful setting.

One note: there are sandflies. If you plan on spending time outside please bring bugspray.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
30.8 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
170 reviews
9.7 mi away
Miners on Sea
Miners on Sea
#1 of 1 in Granity
75 reviews
34.6 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 17 in Westport
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
133 reviews
26.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
350 reviews
25.7 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge

Address: 589 Mokihinui Road, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £162 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to adventure and serenity at the northern end of The Old Ghost Road. An oasis of rustic elegance on one of New Zealand's purest rivers. After a day's biking, hiking, fishing or rafting, relax with a local brew by the stone fireplace and watch the river run by. Hearty meals and beer and wine are available during the warm months and the entire lodge, including our chef's kitchen, is yours for exclusive use during cooler months. Deeply comfortable accommodations with birds-eye view lofts; ideal for couples, groups or families. 45 Minutes north of Westport. We'll look after your car and gear while you're on the track and will help you arrange road and heli transportation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing