We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, easy to find, would stay again”
Review of Westport Spa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westport Spa Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern motel. It had everything we needed, spa bath was nice. Off street parking, we had a unit down the back so little road noise (don't know if units near road had it or not). We would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times and it is faultless. The first time we expected to arrive 1 hour after closing and much to our surprise the owner Paul was awaiting.

Apartments are extremely clean, serviced daily with Sky TV. Bed linen changed regularly along with towels which are fluffy. Ample tea/ coffee, microwave and a power shower.

plenty of information re local attractions and owner is knowledgeable re restaurants with nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are preferable as there is less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Modern motels can be a bit functional rather than having "character". While this one is a bit like that it does it really well. The rooms are bigger than usual, and very fresh and clean. The propieter is particuarly helpful. It is the nicest motel I have used in westport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in January 2013.

Man at reception was friendly and extremely helpful. Highlighted attractions, made good recommendations on cafes/restaurants/bars, provided good advice on road conditions. Motel information folder provided in room was also well thought out.

Room was clean, confortable and functional - not luxurious but decent quality. Shower had good water pressure and spa bath was great for relaxing in. Bed was okay - nothing majorly wrong with it but not one I'd rave about. Good to have a sky remote and choice of channels (incl. Sky Sport) rather than a limited set of channels. We had no noise issues.

While there was no wow factor in terms of quality or price to justify a 5/5, we found this to be a good solid motel to stay in so would recommend it to others visiting Westport. Friends of our stayed here and then another night in a different comparable star motel in Westport and heavily preferred this Spa Motel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLeisureTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This motel was cosy and comfortable.

Owner of the motel checked me in (male) and was very pleasant, showed me places to eat, etc on the map and was extremely friendly.

However, the next morning another motel owner (female) seemed to be very hasty in getting us out of our room. Check-out is at 10am and at 10:04, while I had our door open and was zipping my suitcase closed after checking the room for any lost items, she came in to remind me that check-out was 10am and that her housekeepers were waiting to clean the room.

It was blindingly obvious that I was about to leave the room as everything else was sitting next to the door all packed up, a bit of patience for a few minutes would have earned this motel a 5 star rating.



Motel also has spa baths in every room, very nice to unwind in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_de_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stay here often for work, the rooms are great, nice and clean & tidy, theres Wifi Internet access available, each room has a sky decoder woth 50+ channels to pick from, comfty beds and if you get in quick there are rooms with spa baths so you can relax with a wine in the bath. Cheers Guys, see you again soon.

Room Tip: Book early and you could grab a room with a Spa Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

On Friday October 12 and 13 I stayed at Westport Spa Motel Westport New Zealand. What an enjoyable experience. The room was everything I wanted. A spacious room with lots of light and air but warm when the nights became cool. The bed was extremely comfortable and spa bath was huge. I had intended only to stay one night but the weather turned vey bad and I really had no option but to stay a second night. My hosts, Ann and Paul were extremely friendly and helpful. I cannot thank them enough for their courtesy and understanding. So I stayed and enjoyed a relaxing day watching the 50+ channels on Sky including the horse racing ! So, Westport Spa, highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was in an upstairs room; lots of light and air with big windows on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
65 reviews
0 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Spa Motel

Address: 239 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £63 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Spa Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westport Spa Motel in Westport, New Zealand comprises 10 comfortable, REDECORATED, spacious studio or 1 bedroom units / self-catering apartments suitable for corporates, travellers and couples. All upstairs units have a spacious corner spa bath with shower over and a balcony for outside seating. All ground floor rooms have a shower and outside private deck area in a garden setting. Our wifi is unlimited and multi user and FREE. Come and stay with me and I can help you plan your stay in Westport or further afield in the South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westport Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing