We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place with few reservations”
Review of Westport Spa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westport Spa Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice place with few reservations”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed one night at Westport Spa Motel a few nights ago. The place is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The room is quite comfortable and has a small kitchenette. The room had a SPA tub and came with 2 free hours of internet time. The owner was low-key and very helpful. He recommended a restaurant to us on Cape Foul Wind that was just delightful. The only negative we had was that the windows were not double-glazed and it is on a main street, so there was road noise that bothered us a bit. Nonetheless, we would not hesitate recommending this fine motel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
49
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We thought we could drive from Fox Glacier to Nelson, but it is a long trek, so we stopped in Westport. Checked other motels, but we decided to stay at this motel because the rooms were large, clean and Paul showed us the room with the jacuzzi! Perfect for weary travelers! We opted to eat out for dinner, but the room is fully equiped with microwave, pots, pans dishes, and utensils. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern motel. It had everything we needed, spa bath was nice. Off street parking, we had a unit down the back so little road noise (don't know if units near road had it or not). We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times and it is faultless. The first time we expected to arrive 1 hour after closing and much to our surprise the owner Paul was awaiting.

Apartments are extremely clean, serviced daily with Sky TV. Bed linen changed regularly along with towels which are fluffy. Ample tea/ coffee, microwave and a power shower.

plenty of information re local attractions and owner is knowledgeable re restaurants with nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are preferable as there is less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Modern motels can be a bit functional rather than having "character". While this one is a bit like that it does it really well. The rooms are bigger than usual, and very fresh and clean. The propieter is particuarly helpful. It is the nicest motel I have used in westport.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in January 2013.

Man at reception was friendly and extremely helpful. Highlighted attractions, made good recommendations on cafes/restaurants/bars, provided good advice on road conditions. Motel information folder provided in room was also well thought out.

Room was clean, confortable and functional - not luxurious but decent quality. Shower had good water pressure and spa bath was great for relaxing in. Bed was okay - nothing majorly wrong with it but not one I'd rave about. Good to have a sky remote and choice of channels (incl. Sky Sport) rather than a limited set of channels. We had no noise issues.

While there was no wow factor in terms of quality or price to justify a 5/5, we found this to be a good solid motel to stay in so would recommend it to others visiting Westport. Friends of our stayed here and then another night in a different comparable star motel in Westport and heavily preferred this Spa Motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLeisureTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This motel was cosy and comfortable.

Owner of the motel checked me in (male) and was very pleasant, showed me places to eat, etc on the map and was extremely friendly.

However, the next morning another motel owner (female) seemed to be very hasty in getting us out of our room. Check-out is at 10am and at 10:04, while I had our door open and was zipping my suitcase closed after checking the room for any lost items, she came in to remind me that check-out was 10am and that her housekeepers were waiting to clean the room.

It was blindingly obvious that I was about to leave the room as everything else was sitting next to the door all packed up, a bit of patience for a few minutes would have earned this motel a 5 star rating.



Motel also has spa baths in every room, very nice to unwind in.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_de_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#12 of 12 in Westport
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
6.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Spa Motel

Property: Westport Spa Motel
Address: 239 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Spa Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westport Spa Motel in Westport, New Zealand comprises 10 comfortable, REDECORATED, spacious studio or 1 bedroom units / self-catering apartments suitable for corporates, travellers and couples. All upstairs units have a spacious corner spa bath with shower over and a balcony for outside seating. All ground floor rooms have a shower and outside private deck area in a garden setting. Our wifi is unlimited and multi user and FREE. Come and stay with me and I can help you plan your stay in Westport or further afield in the South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Westport Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing