We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, service & welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omau Settlers Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Although a few kilometres 'out of town' it is in a wonderful scenic area, a few minutes walk from the wild west coast. Room was good, if a little small, but you don't spend much time there really. First class continental breakfast included. With family in Westport, will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c0atesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Although the rooms were slightly smaller than the average motel room, they were very well-appointed and comfortable. Lots of natural light. A plentiful breakfast with other guests round a large table was a great start to the day.

Room Tip: Friendly tavern about 70m away has good value food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilsteadUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Visiting cape Foulwuind, we managed to stay at this new spot. Staff were freindly, and the included cont. breakfast was very good. The view from the balcony of our unit was very nice, except for the trucks on the haul road, which stopped at 5pm anyway. They have a lovely nature walkway and a spa in the ferns where you can see the weka's running about - sadly the spa was not rising above 32 degrees... I will stay here when i visitCape Foulwind / the Beach House in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We travelled with our two teenagers and young son and although we could not be accomodated in one room we still found it value for money. The location is great with an easy walk to the beach. A very friendly pub is located next door which serves nice food at a reasonable price. We all enjoyed the hot tub located in a secluded part of the gounds as well as the breakfast which is included in the price. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The Omau Settlers Lodge is at Cape Foulwind where most of the attraction was for us in the Westport area, plus it is close to the Bay House well known on the West Coast of New Zealand for superb dining. The room was a very comfortable motel style accomodation with a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_Squared_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Omau is a super location for visiting Cape Foulwind and the lodge has a lovely location, having been built by the owners. Unit is quite small with no cooking facilities but very friendly breakfast provided. Compared to other motels we visited we found it over-priced for what was on offer at 150 dollars per night. Excellent walks along the coast and award winning Bay View restaurant 5 mins away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkUKRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Omau Settlers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

As the new owners of Omau Settlers Lodge (since April 2016), we appreciate this feedback and are working through the issues you have raised. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in future. Kind regards, Karen & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We liked staying here it was a lovely experience. It was not a personalised service but the people running this were friendly and their response to any issues was fast and efficient. This was like staying in a motel with a communal breakfast room so you did get to meet other guests and share your travel if you wanted to. Even though we did not arrive or stay in the best weather (there was a sea fog) the accommodation was quiet and in individual cabins so the privacy was lovely and I could hear the sea but unfortunately could not see it but I am presuming that the location could be scenic. When we arrived we were tired so it was lovely to be greeted with a nice clean room and excellent bathroom as well as to be told that there was a friendly tavern with good basic food practically next door. To be able to walk there and get a great friendly reception and good food and wine was a wonderful experience. We were made very welcome. Yes I would go back there and stay again and this time I would use the hot tub which is in the garden of the Omau Settlers ......but after a few wines and good food all I wanted to do was snooze and have a lovely nights sleep which is what we got!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandt_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
4.0 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
134 reviews
6.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
350 reviews
6.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
6.2 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
7.7 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 17 in Westport
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omau Settlers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omau Settlers Lodge

Address: 2 Omau Road | Cape Foulwind, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £82 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Omau Settlers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AFFORDABLE LUXURY IN COMPLETE PRIVACY. Tranquil and beautiful appointed units, each with its own veranda positioned amongst landscape gardens. Overlooking the Tasman Sea with mountains view, explore all the natural wonders of the West Coast. Wake up to the sound of nature and a walk along the stunning cliff top beach. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our comfortable lodge dining room, with homemade breads, preserves, jam, fruit, cereal and great coffee. We have a local tavern a short walk for a good meal and a catch up with some locals or head to our award wining restaurant, The Bayhouse, with spectacular beach views and food. Or relax here and enjoy our pizza, BBQ area to cook your favorite meal. Enjoy a relaxing spa / hot tub and watch our magnificent sunsets. We know you will love it here and we look forward to hosting your stay. Karen & Lee, Omau Settlers Lodge Motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Omau Settlers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing