We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omau Settlers Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McManus Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Westport Motels(Westport)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
215
34
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
34
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadhot tubstar taverncape foulwindseal colonycontinental breakfastthe pubgreat hostskaren leepub next doorbay housefriendly tavernyogurtlovely dining roomchalet stylemeet other guestslarge table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Although the rooms were slightly smaller than the average motel room, they were very well-appointed and comfortable. Lots of natural light. A plentiful breakfast with other guests round a large table was a great start to the day.

Room Tip: Friendly tavern about 70m away has good value food
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilsteadUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Omau Settlers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Visiting cape Foulwuind, we managed to stay at this new spot. Staff were freindly, and the included cont. breakfast was very good. The view from the balcony of our unit was very nice, except for the trucks on the haul road, which stopped at 5pm anyway. They have a lovely nature walkway and a spa in the ferns where you can see the weka's running about - sadly the spa was not rising above 32 degrees... I will stay here when i visitCape Foulwind / the Beach House in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We travelled with our two teenagers and young son and although we could not be accomodated in one room we still found it value for money. The location is great with an easy walk to the beach. A very friendly pub is located next door which serves nice food at a reasonable price. We all enjoyed the hot tub located in a secluded part of the gounds as well as the breakfast which is included in the price. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The Omau Settlers Lodge is at Cape Foulwind where most of the attraction was for us in the Westport area, plus it is close to the Bay House well known on the West Coast of New Zealand for superb dining. The room was a very comfortable motel style accomodation with a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_Squared_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Omau is a super location for visiting Cape Foulwind and the lodge has a lovely location, having been built by the owners. Unit is quite small with no cooking facilities but very friendly breakfast provided. Compared to other motels we visited we found it over-priced for what was on offer at 150 dollars per night. Excellent walks along the coast and award winning Bay View restaurant 5 mins away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkUKRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, Owner at Omau Settlers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

As the new owners of Omau Settlers Lodge (since April 2016), we appreciate this feedback and are working through the issues you have raised. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in future. Kind regards, Karen & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews