We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, immaculate facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omau Settlers Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, immaculate facilities”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Omau Settlers Lodge for three nights. We found the accomodation to be stylish, quite new, very clean and comfortable. There was a TV, small kitchenette, ensuite and the room was easily heated with a small electric heater. The large king bed also had electric blankets if you are staying in winter.

The location was great - just a 5 minute drive into Westport, but right on the coast. We did the Cape Foulwind Lighthouse to Seal colony walk which was incredible - the wind and occasional showers really suited being out on a Cape!

Having the Star Tavern just 100m away was very handy for a relaxing evening 'in'.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Mac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
107
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three lovely nights. Room was immaculate with a very comfortable bed. The owner operators were very helpful and friendly and definitely made us feel welcome. Room had beautiful views and was easily accessible to many lovely walks and adventures. We will be back! The star tavern a 2min walk away had great food too. Thanks very much for a lovely stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank princessanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel. Perfect location by the sea, spotless room with TV, WiFi and kitchen facilities - so nice to be able to enjoy a cup of tea on our arrival. The owner Grace was so kind and helpful - laundry facilities were another bonus! Nice friendly Tavern around the corner for a friendly drink and dinner. Comfortable bed and a nice breakfast with home-baked bread. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: There are only 8 units and they all face the sea and easy parking near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

On arriving in Westport we sought help from the ‘i’ in finding overnight accommodation and, albeit we arrived just before closing time, they were very helpful. We visited 2 motels in town but decided the Omau Settlers Lodge, some 15 minutes drive before Westport was exactly what we wanted i.e. a balcony looking towards the sea; very clean and comfortable and commendable hosts. And, although it is isolated, it sits next to a smashing pub where we enjoyed a delicious dinner in front of a wood fire. Breakfast (fruit, cereals and toast) was served in a small, communal and very cosy dining room. In sum, a new, clean lodge we would rate overall, as one in the top group we have stayed in during our tour of the South Island. We were nearing the furtherest point from the office and we could not get the wifi to connect. Although it did work perfectly in the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for one night as were attending a local birthday party and needed somewhere within walking distance to Cape Foulwind. Delightful rooms at this motel, very comfortable and clean. A lovely TV/ Breakfast room and breakfast includes home made preserves and bread! Friendly, helpful owners. This is a peaceful location with spectacular views of the crashing surf. Would recommend :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-O2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here last month and have done so on previous occasions before, the rooms are very nice and clean, big and spacious, the shower has great water pressure. The lady that welcomed us to tell the truth could do with a holiday herself as you got the feeling everything was a effort, but she wasn't impolite. The lodge is right next to the cement works but I never notice it, we were told to go to the pub a 2 minute walk down the road for dinner, well remember this is a west coast pub so it's friendly laid back with good basic pub food, it isn't fine dining, if you want something nice hop in your car and go to the bay house at tauranga bay. Overall it's a nice place to stay for a night it is up there for price for what it is, but I reckon it's pretty ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahab1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this great motel. It is located on Cape Foulwind which has great cliff top and sea scenery. It is a little way out of Westport however it is an easy drive. The studio units are near new and are very clean and tidy and have a great bathroom. There is a large communal lounge attached to the main house/office with a kitchen where you can cook if you want and a fire and TV. Breakfast is served there as well. The breakfast is good with cereals, fruit, toast from homemade bread, and jams. The pub next door is a typical friendly old West Coast pub with a good selection of drinks and meals at a reasonable price - don't be put off by appearances.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
6.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
63 reviews
6.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
4.0 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
346 reviews
6.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
6.2 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omau Settlers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omau Settlers Lodge

Property: Omau Settlers Lodge
Address: 2 Omau Road | Cape Foulwind, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Omau Settlers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AFFORDABLE LUXURY IN COMPLETE PRIVACY. Tranquil and beautiful appointed units, each with its own veranda positioned amongst landscape gardens. Overlooking the Tasman Sea with mountains view, explore all the natural wonders of the West Coast. Wake up to the sound of nature and a walk along the stunning cliff top beach. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our comfortable lodge dining room, with homemade breads, preserves, jam, fruit, cereal and great coffee. We have a local tavern a short walk for a good meal and a catch up with some locals or head to our award wining restaurant, The Bayhouse, with spectacular beach views and food. Or relax here and enjoy our pizza, BBQ area to cook your favorite meal. Enjoy a relaxing spa / hot tub and watch our magnificent sunsets. We know you will love it here and we look forward to hosting your stay. Karen & Lee, Omau Settlers Lodge Motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Omau Settlers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing