We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Karamea Lodge

Karamea Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karamea Lodge
London
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is an amazing place just outside of Karamea as you go into town there are three rooms in the lodge building all with decks and a fantastic view of the estuary

Rooms are well appointed with a fridge in each room

There is a shared kitchen where a lovely breakfast is available each morning

There was only one other couple when we stayed and they had stayed before

We really enjoyed our stay and it is a stunning area the trip on the good unsealed road to the Moria and Ompara arch is stunning as to the walk through the nikau forest at the start of the Heapy track

There is a good supermarket on town although there is a countdown and new world in Westport on the way up New World is off the main street

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

By far the best place we stayed during our 3-week trip to the South Island. This is a "self-contained" accommodation, but also includes a great breakfast too. We stayed two nights (and wish we had stayed longer). The lodge is truly amazing ... three guest rooms, washing machine, but the common room/kitchen was beautiful. We grilled a steak on the BBQ grill one night. The property (just south of Karamea township) is on a wonderful tidal estuary, and you can sit on lawn chairs and sip wine while watching the sun set over the Tasman Sea. Jenny was wonderful to talk with (Mark was away) ... felt like a best friend by the time we left. The Opara Basin area was great to spend a day at. This place is truly a gem and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They are all great (facing the Tasman Sea), but we really enjoyed the room we had at the south end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank econsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

"The best kept secret of the west coast" was the advertisement for Karamea, the Opara-Basin, and the limestone arches, and we (German) met a lot of New Zealander's who had not heard of it yet! It is still 50 km north of Westport on a very winding road but it's definitely worth the trip! The lodge is amazing, spacious, very tastefully decorated, rooms opening to the wonderful garden and the coast with magnificent views, particularly at sunset, Mark used his both skills and beautiful materials known to him as a boat builder. If you are lucky, you have the place to yourself and feel like an owner of a villa. The fotos on their website don't do the place justice, perhaps it's difficult to capture the beauty. Also the trip to the limestone arches via a dirt track is worth the effort, make sure you don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuppHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Karamea is literally the end of the road north of Westport.

The lodge is a house and the owners live in another house 50 meters away. The setting is very pleasant and quiet. All of the rooms and the public areas have great views of the ocean.

On the first of my two night stay I was the only person and had the three bedroom house to myself. There is a full kitchen, living area, television room, and laundry - washer but no dryer.

There is no broad band but there is a telephone line so I was able to periodically send and receive email. The owners do provide access to email at a computer in their home.

There is a television but it only receives a few local channels. The bedrooms have queen size beds, a mini-fridge, and the makings for tea and coffee. For coffee lovers there is a coffee press and packaged ground coffee.

Breakfast supplies are provided to include juice, cereal, toast, fruit, and yogurt.

The owners, Jenny and Mark, are a fantastic couple. This is an excellent base for exploring the south end of the Heaphy Track or the Opara Basin.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Peaceful,elegant beach house. Our families rented the entire lodge for five nights after Christmas. The property was immaculate, new and modern. The deck opens onto a large lawn and then a tidal estuary and Tasman Sea. The common room and kitchen are very well equipped. Our hosts (Jenny and Mark) were very helpful - arranging horse back riding and dinner reservations (including hosting a beach bonfire). Highly recommended for families or a romantic getaway. (also a great stop after a tramp on the Heaphy)..

  • Liked — Great location.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boston65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
46.4 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
153 reviews
43.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
346 reviews
43.6 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
43.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
96 reviews
43.2 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karamea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karamea Lodge

Property: Karamea Lodge
Address: 4589 Karamea Highway | Northern Buller, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karamea Lodge: A Hidden treasure. Discover our spectacularly located lodge situated in the semi-tropical northwest corner of the South Island of New Zealand. Blissfully quiet, bordering native bush on the warm sheltered estuary waters. Each of our three en suite rooms have their own veranda for viewing the majestic sunsets. Karamea Lodge is a great place to base yourself to do a day walk onto the Heaphy Track or the Oparara Limestone system. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing