We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit gem”
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must visit gem”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I wanted to spoil my pregnant wife with a romantic night away from the pressure of our 3 year old daughter. Tuddenham hall knew this reason for our visit and went out of their way to make it special for us and even left us a nice bowl of truffel chocolates and a reserved window seat in the restraunt for dinner. The kitchen was notified of my wife's pregnancy and had prepares our table with pasturised butter along with their usual butter and made sure to mention that the meat is usually cooked on the rare side and asked if she wanted it cooked longer. Fantastic service! The food was out of this world. We were a little intimidated by the adventurous menu but we both loved all 3 courses and the appetisers even each others. One of the best meals we've ever eaten. We stayed that night in the north loft which was beautiful, clean and spacious with luxurious toiletries and refreshments. Bed was very comfy we didnt want to get out. Had a huge rainfall shower and a nice pebble bath. Cosy fire to snuggle up next to with a big bean bag but even in a lodge loft it stayed warm without the fire. They provide a telescope and some nice easy listening music on their bose sound system.

Some reviews mention noise issue with the road and aircraft. I can't say we noticed. Felt secluded.

Thank you so much Tuddenham Mill for helping make me and my wife's stay very special. If we can get babysitters in the future we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: They have a special velux window which opens up to a balcony with a canopy to use the telescope on. We had fun trying to get it to work but easy when you know how and that it isn't just a normal skylight window. Apparently the staff didnt know how to work it when i laughed about it in the morning and even their website photo shows it without the canopy up :) to do it simply turn the handle, push the bottom out to form the balcony and the top half of the window, push that up but then flip it in the frame 180 degrees, once flipped it then stays up to form an overhead canopy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    162
    57
    15
    13
See reviews for
58
521
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have thought long & hard about writing this, but feel so strongly about how we have been treated, I felt I should warn others.
* Totally understand their policy on 'cancellation', but feel this could have been handled with more kindness,thought & consideration.
* Booking for my Husband's 60th Birthday treat last Friday-Sun-booked 21st/23rd Feb 14
* Taken ill Friday with the Winter Vomiting Virus, Hubby rang hotel at 4pm/also emailed, asked to change booking
* Received email to say, not able to change, non transferable, Hubby asked if we could give this booking to another couple, which unfortunately he was not able to do at short notice. Also he was pretty much busy looking after me! (no need for details!!)
* I rang Hotel on Monday, would the General Manager ring me back (he was in a meeting).
* Adam rang back aprox 3pm, I explained we had been very worried about going to the Hotel on Saturday evening as felt the last thing they needed was a customer infecting staff/ & other customers with the virus as NHS say 24hrs after better. I ask Adam to read emails, think about the 'said' situation & ring me back, but this he would not, the answer was a very sharp no. In fact he did say the Hotel had offered to move our booking to Sat/Sun, I explained this was never given to us as an option, as we would have accepted & took a chance with me having room service for Sat dinner. I felt their handling of the whole institution was inconsiderate given the circumstances, PLUS they they made addition profit to that which they would have expected because we consumed no food or drink.

Be Aware - Accident, Sickness - You will not get any sympathy from the Manager at Tuddenham Mill, Nr Newmarket.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Elaine

I felt compelled to reply to your review as I feel there are some inaccuracies between the conversation we had on Monday and the content of the review. It sets a tone of a general lack of care and customer service which I promise is never the case with either myself or any of my team and I apologise if you feel this is the case.

As discussed we received an email from your husband at 4pm on the day of arrival saying that you were unable to visit us. The policies and procedures are very clear on booking cancellations and the special offer you had purchased via a third party booking site also meant that the reservation is non-transferable especially at such short notice (after the stated time of check in). It was agreed that you could transfer the booking to a friend or family member and we would keep the booking in place for you.

Whilst on the phone discussing the situation I made you aware that I had read the emails my colleagues had sent to your husband and that I was fully aware of the situation which is why I didn’t need to call you back. I went onto say that I felt my colleagues had handled the situation in the correct manner and at no point was a sharp tone used. During our conversation it was suggested that unless I was willing to honour the booking at a later date or offer a refund you would have to look at alternative solutions.

I apologise once again if you feel we have delivered a lack of care as this is never the case.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Tuddenham Mill rooms are almost perfect. The Mill Stream room was very spacious with a large en suite attached. A big, free standing bath accompanied a shower to give every facility required. Maybe a little more hanging space or flat surface to store items would be useful but this is splitting hairs. A mini bar is provided but not to sell you drinks ( there is a real bar for that ). In the mini bar is complimentary water and the most amazing freshly squeezed orange juice -which is topped up daily. The room also has a cafetiere and kettle. A wide range of teas are provided along with the best tasting coffee I have ever had in a hotel room. There is a good feel about the whole hotel - staff are welcoming and efficient, and the grounds are lovely. A very good offer made this a great couple of days away - I have reviewed the restaurant elsewhere. I will go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife booked this by chance for a night away. The accomodation was very clean and to a high standard. The food in the restaurant was superb with great views over the mill pond and local countryside. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thommo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Exceptional service - courteous, attentive, professional and yet down to earth; Fantastic rooms (we were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost, fantastically spacious and comfortable); very good food (albeit not for the ravenous).

While the room was beautiful and the food delicious, it was the service that really made Tuddenham Mill stand out. While I hate the cliché, the staff really did go the extra mile.

I would stay again without a doubt, and recommend to anyone. I was even happily surprised when the bill came.

Room Tip: We booked mid week and just asked if we could upgrade. The staff were happy to oblige and we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpeness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Booked by phone, the receptionist was really helpful and I managed to get a discounted room rate and dinner included in my rate. The room was excellent, bright, clean and with excellent attention to detail. I stayed in Mill room East. Lovely views over the grounds and the river. An open plan room with a partition between bed and bathroom. The bathroom was huge with a massive bath and shower. Really nice touches in the room including complimentary sloe gin. The food in the restaurant was exquisite and offers really good value for money. Your dining experience stared in the bar with a small savoury pastry and onion emulsion. Going on to the restaurant, amuse bouche was chilled mushroom milk. Bread rolls just from the oven were excellent. Perfectly cooked boned chicken wings in peanut satay, followed by slow cooked beef cheek, then white chocolate moose, celery ice. All that for £25. all washed down by a really good bottle of wine. A defo stay for anybody who wants a luxurious night away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spamdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a lovely few days at Tuddenham Mill. The food and rooms were fabulous! Love the little details, you have thought of everything. We were very lucky to have an upgrade to a loft suite due to boiler issues on the first night. These suites are amazing, a real treat! Thank you! All staff were lovely and very attentive. Wonderful place and experience, thank you :-)

Room Tip: Loft suites are truly amazing, they have thought of everything you would want. Definitely recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
894 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,125 reviews
7.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
219 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Property: Tuddenham Mill
Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing