We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent All Round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited for a weekend recently, and we're very impressed by the hotel and its restaurant. We stayed in a Mill Stream room, which while not sharing as excellent a view as the water meadow rooms was still beautifully appointed. While I felt the room could have done with something a little extra to take it to a truly excellent standard, it was lovely nonetheless and the free orange juice, water and sloe gin were lovely touches.

The food at Tuddenham Mill is of a very high standard, and good value. The tasting menu was excellent, but the a la carte was easily as high quality. The staff were very good throughout our stay, and made every effort to check that we were enjoying ourselves.

I would definitely return to Tuddenham Mill, but would try the loft suites next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    155
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
499
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked this hotel after looking at reviews, especially in relation to the food. Every interaction we had with staff was very good from the initial reservation (many thanks to Sheryl and Michaela), arrival (a very warm welcome from Stacy) and service at mealtimes (thanks to Hannah and the rest of the serving staff). Our room was very comfortable (we will have to purchase some goose down pillows now!) and the food did not disappoint and the tasting menu was very nice being varied and very tasty. A varied drinks list and it was nice to see loacal produce available in the berrs and wines. The staff were happy to make slight changes to the menu to suit our preferences. Congratulations to the whole catering staff. We would certainly recommend this as a great place to saty and dine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Went on an afternoon outing and ended up here after a little drive, which brought back childhood memories of when then mill used to work!! It was lovely to see everything still there just a shame it isn't working with all the history behind it!!
We sat upstairs for the set course lunch menu which had plenty to offer with a diverse selection along with a lovely view looking out of the window!!
We first of all were offered homemade bread but being in Suffolk why is a local restaurant using Cornish butter and not supporting farmers in Norfolk or Suffolk??
I had the muscles to start which were brilliant succulent and in a lovely sauce of which there wasn't to much. My girlfriend had the onion soup with the cheddar straw which she said was good but at a restaurant like that lacked a killing edge to it!!
For mains I had corn fed chicken with 2 tiny bits of parsnip, minimal caper and onion salad and one large bit of beet root so all I had to eat was the beet root and chicken!! It was a nice but not the most appetising of dishes meanwhile, my girlfriend had the bream and beer battered muscles which she was extremely pleased with saying the fish was cooked very well!!
The deserts where a mixed bunch also my girlfriend had the whipped tonka egg custard with lemon curd blueberries and shortbread unfortunately didn't taste very nice and looked like they had chucked it all into a bowl lacking presentation would have been better putting te shortbread at the bottom and building the layers up to get the texture the whole way through the custard, lemon and blueberries!!
I had the passion fruit posset, white chocolate, pistachio granola and mint, though it was very nice there was a lot of white chocolate melted at the bottom with minimal pistachio granola, and passion fruit posset!!
Was a nice experience and reasonable price, would perhaps keep driving next time

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisc-1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a lovely place!! Best Living Social voucher we have ever had. The staff were all excellent and the food was scrumptious! Lovely big Mill bedroom. Nice comfy bar area, and spacious restaurant, with food to die for. Bit expensive without the voucher, but super value with one!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Champagne27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Took my Wife for lunch on her birthday today. The staff were brilliant, the food was spectacular and we both left relaxed, contented and full of lovely food. The 2 table staff were faultless and reminded us how good service just makes a meal better. We've been lucky enough to eat at some superb restaurants, with rosettes, hats and stars; this was not out of place on that list.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Really is a stunning hotel in a gorgeous part of the world, great for a weekend away or if you are spending a few days in the area. BUT it is pricey all things considered - we went on a deal and so found it a bargain but, as much as we loved the place, would certainly NOT feel that paying full price is worth it. The restaurant's food was quite stunning (if you like very posh and contemporary dining, which we do!) and surprisingly good value - though time will tell whether this will remain the case now that rising-star chef Paul Foster has left. The rooms are gorgeous too - we stayed in one of the Loft Suites, which are fabulous EXCEPT for one HUGE issue... the 'open plan' bathrooms and toilet, that not only do not have a door but with the walls not reaching the ceiling. This means that if you need a no. 2 be prepared for your every body movement to be heard and smelled by anybody in the main part of the room! This is such a design blunder from what otherwise is such a brilliantly designed and run hotel - many others here have commented on it yet they had done nothing about it by the time we were there and didn't seem to want to listen to our comments about it. So bad is it that when either of us needed to do a poo we walked to the reception of the hotel to do so, which considering how much these rooms cost per night is just silly. Put a major downer on what otherwise would have been a near perfect stay. I would not return again - what ever the deal - until I knew that this had been resolved.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HMSLondon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were in a Watermeadow room in a purpose built block away from the mill. Very well appointed room indeed with complimentary slow gin,,orange juice and 'up market toiletries.The Mill has been beautifully restored and the restaurant décor is excellent. Our dinner was very good although I found the meals a little fussy with a number of ,what to me were , unnecessary ingredients ,for example,,my bavette of beef had a small portion of clams which added little to the experience. However,I am no chef. Service for dinner was excellent. My only niggle concerned breakfast where a virtue was made of everything being prepared and brought to you. This even included the cornflakes and the result was we had to wait some time for our cereals and juice. I accept they are selling a premium product but it would have been nice to grab our own cereals and juice. Having said that ,the cooked breakfast of egg and smoked salmon was excellent. An enjoyable stay,but it is not cheap

Room Tip: Whilst the Mill building is attractive ,it abuts a busy road. Go for the outbuildings where it is qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
6.8 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Property: Tuddenham Mill
Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing