We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were friendly but not intrusive. Lovely room, great view, fantastic shower. Little details such a homemade biscuits and fresh orange juice in the room each day. We had an earlybird meal in the restaurant which was excellent value - £19.50 for 3 courses. Breakfast and room service also very good. Highly recommend and would definitely return

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloucestershiregirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    156
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
504
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

As I work away a lot of the time, my wife decided to surprise me by taking me away for the evening as I returned home. I was shocked, instead of going home to see our children, I was whisked away to a very peaceful atmosphere and secluded elegant little hotel!
The rooms are individual, spacious and beautifully decorated. The room had big patio doors overlooking the meadow with a decked patio with table and chairs. We enjoyed a glass of wine overlooking the sunset whilst relaxing. The ensuite bathroom was a nice touch with rainfall shower and large enough to accommodate us both.
We chose to eat in the in house restaurant, and the food was high quality, highly prepped for a over a 5 star rating.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very romantic and relaxing. We were both glad of the decision my wife made to stay here. Breakfast was delivered to our room and it was a touch I would recommend, whilst dining on the private decking in just the soft robes the Hotel provided!

So nice, we stayed for afternoon tea to finish our stay off perfectly! We will be back in the not so distant future and whenever people ask, you can certainly expect a grade A* for comfort! Thank you for a very pleasant and relaxing stay!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SaalemAlikum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights before attending a wedding in Bury st Edmunds
I found the hotel on the Mr and Mrs Smith website and we had a very comfortable stay at the end of July.

We stayed in a mill stream room. It is not possible to see the stream at this time of year for the plants. The room was well presented, comfortable king sized bed and large ensuite.
There were very nice touches in the room, In the fridge each morning were 4 bottles water, a jug of freshly squeezed orange juice and on the side a carafe of sloe gin. The tea tray had cafetier and selection of tea bags.

We ate the first night in the restaurant then the next two evenings on the terrace.
The food was excellent both in the evening and at the delicious breakfast.
The menu doesn't change greatly from night to night but guess this is because the food on the menu is fresh.
Every member of staff made an effort to be welcoming and helpful. My only criticism was that when we checked in the only person around was the lovely pregnant lady who offered to help us with our bags! No man could be found so we managed The millpond was not at it's best being covered with algae due to the unusual weather.

It was very nice to return to the peace of this place after the trips into Bury and I think we struck lucky choosing this hotel.
The extra nice touch was 3 nights for 2 midweek
Yes we will stay again when visiting friends in Bury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Tuddenham Mill on Saturday night and will most definitely be returning. Easy place to get to literally a stones throw from the Motorway but turn into the driveway and peace and tranquillity awaits. We checked in and were shown to our room which was beautiful (we were in the main house). No expense has been spared and every detail taken care of. I am picky and there was nothing I could find fautly with. The bed was huge with sumptuous bedding, the double bath was luxurious as were the Espa Bath Salts, the bottles of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, razer, toothbrush and toothpaste all provided as well. On the side was a 1/2 bottle of red wine with really good red wine glasses, in the fridge a 1/2 bottle of white, jug of delicious orange juice and 4 bottles of water. The Bose stereo and good TV completed the room. The food served in the restaurant was very nice and the breakfast was probably the best we have ever tasted. The staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. All in all a hotel most deserving of 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I decided to take my girlfriend away for a night to a beautiful peaceful place and propose to her. Tuddenham Mill was the perfect place to do it. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The food was incredible too. Thank you!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

One word describes our evening/night at tuddenham mill - outstanding!
From arrival, check in, accommodation, bar, restaurant, room facilities, comfort - I cannot find fault!
The greeting upon arrival was pleasant, informative and welcoming. We stayed in a meadow view room, music was playing as we were shown into our room and the amenities explained to us, all of which were perfect!
We were greeted by the bartender as we re-entered the main building and asked if we would like a pre-dinner drink in the bar, exceptional service. The menu was a delight to read, the hardest decision being what not to have (!) as all sounded delicious! We were not disappointed as the food was sublime, the wine list is huge - ranging from very reasonable to very expensive, catering for all tastes and purse sizes!
Back in the room, the evening weather helped enormously as we could sit in seclusion on our veranda and enjoy the remainder of our wine in comfort. The room facilities were very comfortable - the bath & shower were fantastic!
Breakfast was as delicious as the evening meal the night before, ample supply of toast & tea, coffee, juice selection & cereal should you wish, I had the full English & Hannah had the warm smoked salmon & scrambled eggs - delicious!
Over all an exquisite location and hotel, we'd heard good things and had wanted to visit for some time and we were not disappointed. We will most definitely be returning to tuddenham mill, loved it, could happily have stayed indefinitely!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel on Mr and Mrs Smith website and it lived up to all of the wonderful reviews. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room is gorgeous. We stayed in a water meadow room which had a lovely little decked area which we used for lunch and drinks due to the beautiful weather. The bed was very comfy and the huge bath and shower are fab. There are lovely touches like freshly squeezed orange juice and milk in the fridge plus the excellent tea tray, including gorgeous brownies from the kitchen and a great range of teas. Breakfast is generous and you are invited to have as much or as little as you want from both the cold and cooked menus.
The only downside to our stay was the one night we ate in the restaurant. They were short staffed and we ended up waiting 45 minutes to get a glass of water, let alone any food. The food was very tasty but rather expensive, particularly given the long wait. I thought that we could have perhaps been given free dessert or a drink to compensate. As it happens, there was obviously no one senior enough to do this and unfortunately this experience put us off eating in the restaurant again for the rest of our stay. I've given 5/5 for the hotel stay alone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CLSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Property: Tuddenham Mill
Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing