We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They've thought of everything ......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They've thought of everything ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed for 2 nights mid week (buy one night get second free which made it much better value). We were shown to the Mill Room which was gorgeous. A Mr and Mrs Smith CD was already soflty playing in the room, fresh orange juice in the fridge, choice of DVDs and Tuddenham Mill cookies and fudge, it is these small touches which puts this hotel above its competitors . The room was exceptional, and the decor was very relaxing with a welcoming bath in the main bedroom. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the lamb was one of the best meals I have ever had. The staff encourage you to have breakfast in bed which we did both mornings. We can recommend the breakfast pancakes, croissants and smoothies. There was just one downside, the Mill Room is next to the main road and was quite noisy in the early morning, although this may be quieter at weekends. Overall, the quality of this hotel is superb and you must go!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaBell22, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 24 March 2009
Thank you for your review of Tuddenham Mill.

I'm really pleased that you loved everything in your room and the extra touches we have to help ensure our guests have an indulgent stay with us!

The two for one offer has now ended but we have Cosy nights on Sunday and Thursday nights from £130 a night if you would like a mid week break in the future!!

Despite being in the countryside the main mill building is next to a road and this can be a little noisy depending on the time of year. However, most of our bedrooms are set back from the road if you want complete peace and tranquility.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    155
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
497
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

We have just come back from what has been a fantastic 2 night stay at Tuddenham Mill. The rooms are heavenly with stunning views...sitting in the bath scented with complimentary Jo Malone toiletries, bathed in candlelight and with views of the lake and the illuminated swans you cannot help but be swept away with the romance. My husband and I went for a relaxing, rejuvenating but 'self-contained' break away from our two youngsters. The attention to detail in the rooms and relaxation areas is quite something. We started with a cocktail in the bar and then had a bath before dinner. The restaurant is not 'buzzing' but relaxed and they are clever with the ambience to ensure that even on quiet evenings it doesn't feel 'empty'. The food is on the expensive side as is the wine which may be why not every resident dined there - I am not sure. The food is good but (and I think another reviewer said the same) tries a bit too hard. Some parts of my lamb dish were excellent but then other parts (particularly the Shepherd's Pie) were a little too sweet for my taste. The oyster tempura was delicious though. Fed and watered we retreated to our room which was recommended to us and in the main house - we wanted for nothing but we didn't have a great sleep. The room is on the main thoroughfare in the village and whilst there isn't an abundance of traffic, it is regular and it felt / sounded like lorries throughout the night which as well as being rather noisy also vibrated slightly. Staff are friendly and we made use of room service for breakfast - we were spoilt. The rest of our stay was more of the same. We went for a lovely walk through the surrounding countryside and only ventured out to Newmarket to go to Corney and Barrow (sells good wines and the only other one is in Ayr) - I love going to stores where people know what they are selling and have a genuine interest, it was worth our only trip out.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyGreaterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaBell22, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 3 March 2009
Thanks so much for your review of Tuddenham Mill.

Yours is the 3rd review this week! It's great to receive so many positive reviews in such a short space of time..

As a team, we love to read the reviews and we do actively use the reviews to ensure we can continue to do the things we do well and also to improve the areas that we need to. We can only do this if we receive valuable feedback such as yours, from our guests.

It's fantastic to hear all your positive feedback about the rooms, the team, setting and food - all the areas we strive to excel in!

Your feedback about the food is very timely. Gordon, our head chef is currently designing our new Spring / Summer menu and the oyster tempura, one of our specials, is definitely going to feature on our new menu.

I do appreciate your comments about the road noise in the main mill building that's situated next to a country road - most of which comes from the local farming traffic which is somewhat unavoidable as we are in the heart of sleepy Suffolk! However, we do have 12 stunning rooms set next the millstream and overlooking our beautiful watermeadow that are set well away from the road and are completely undisturbed, if you don't count the local heron and other wildlife of course!

Thanks again for your review and we really do hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca and the Tuddenham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

Wedding Anniversary number 4 and after the tragic loss of both of our Fathers this time last year we were determined to make this a really special one. I booked Tuddenham Mill after a little research online. The place looked fabulous but web designers are paid to ensure that it is so, the real proof is of course actually staying and Tuddenham Mill certainly doesn’t disappoint. We stayed in a Loft Suite (North Lodge we think) which overlooked country fields and the Mill whose waterway and swans were illuminated beautifully at night. Attention to detail and complimentary luxuries in abundance. We used everything in our suite from Jo Malone toiletries to the slow gin and homemade fudge and biscuits. This place ‘smacks of special occasion’ which was knowingly written in a ‘Mr & Mrs Smith’ boutique hotel review and we agree.... The staff were wonderful, we probably bored them senseless with questions about the food and rural location. But they really did do all they could to ensure that our stay was memorable including an anniversary card on our pillow on arrival and kindly agreeing to my quirky request to keep the miniature pot plant as a memento on departure. Hubby is a foodie (ex Dorch’ and Hilton Chef) and was impressed, commenting that ‘it’s as good as some of the Michelin star restaurants’ we’ve enjoyed. We will be back as soon as we can and most definitely for next year’s anniversary! Ten out of ten, a must visit luxury Suffolk getaway stay! Many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaBell22, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 3 March 2009
Your certainly didn't bore us with your questions about the food and the mill!! I'm just glad we were able to answer all your questions. It's great to have guests who are so engaging and so interested in our wonderful building and our amazing food!

The team were blown away by your comments and feedback about your stay with us.. Thank you so much for your review..

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. We're hoping for a scorching summer (along with the rest of the UK!) and it really is stunning here in the warmer months.. Hope you are tempted!!

Kind regards,
Rebecca and the Tuddenham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We have just come back from a weekend away staying in a Water Meadow room at Tuddenham Mill. It was a really welcoming and enjoyable stay. The staff could not do enough for you.
Furnishings in the room were of a high quality - Bose Sound system, Loewe TV, DVD player, with free tea, coffee, biscuits, fudge, Orange juice and Jo Malone toiletries.
We only tried the food for breakfast which was fantastic - you have to try the Full Mill at least once !
Some reviewers have complained about road noise. This wasn't the case in our room, plus its only a country road not a main road.
Tuddenham is in the middle of very rural countryside, there isn't much near to the Mill so if you want to go out, you have to drive. We went to a lovely pub called The Olde Bull at Barton Mills - lovely food.
Bury St Edmunds is definately a place to visit. Its about 15 / 20 mins drive from the Mill. Its a small market town, You have to see the smallest pub in Britain - The Nutshell and the ruins of the Abbey.
Cambridge is also not far if you want a bit more civilisation ! Don't bother with Newmarket though.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holiday_Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaBell22, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 3 March 2009
Wow - a fabulous review!

We really do thrive on our reviews and to receive one such as yours is confirmation that we are acheiving our objectives in terms of service, food and guest exerience.

It is also really good to receive reviews on 'things to do' and I will pass on your comments to the 'Olde Bull' - it is great to have a place so close to us to recommend to our guests.

Thanks once again for taking the time to review the mill and we do hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca and the Tuddenham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

If you’re looking for a romantic short break then Tuddenham Mill doesn’t disappoint. On arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade to a loft room as the room we had booked in the main building was being refurbished.

You get what you’d expect from any bijoux hotel – Jo Malone bath products, a turndown service, complimentary coffees and biscuits/fudge. But the loft room is something special! Our loft room was located atop a scandinavian style chalet building. We went up a flight of stairs to a private porch which opened onto a large open plan suite. The room was decorated in a minimalist fashion with neutral colours and yet retained its warmth through the use of big windows and good lighting. There were beautiful views on all sides including swans in the grounds of the hotel and surrounding arable land. The main area contained a large bed (linen sheets of course), a sofa with flat screen tv/dvd, great sound system and…a large bath (for two). It was a novel experience being able to watch a movie while lounging in bubbles!

A loft room isn’t to everyone’s taste though. Although the bathroom (with super shower) and dressing area are divided off from the open plan, you can still “hear all” when your other half is in the bathroom. Get over that, and you have a luxury room.

The eating was another enjoyable experience the hotel has to offer. The restaurant is located in the building which housed the former mill and the building has been reconstructed to give you little views of the former mill including the water wheel from the bar and the millstone from the restaurant.
In general the food was good but not spectacular. We did enjoy the desserts though.

In the short time that we were there, the staff went that little bit further to make us feel welcome. A special mention has to go to the member of staff who went into town to buy us a bottle of bubble bath (as they had run out of stock when we phoned down to request it).

In short – you’ll have a gem of a break at the Tuddenham Mill.

  • Liked — The bath in the sitting room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sameera3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaBell22, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 9 February 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tuddenham Mill.

The team and I have just read through your review and it's really motivating to hear such positive comments about the hotel and the team and to hear that our guests are experinecing the mill as we would want you to.

We're delighted we were able to upgrade you and that you enjoyed the loft suite so much. Of course the open plan style (especially the bathroom!) isn't for everyone, but we do have rooms with doors on the bathrooms as well!

I do hope you come back and see us again soon. It's beautiful in the summertime!

Kind regards,
Rebecca & Tuddenham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

We booked Tuddenham Mill on the basis of a Mr & Mrs Smith review and were not disappointed. Our loft room suite was lovely although you want to be fairly confident you have already made a romantic impression on your partner if that is the intent of your stay as the toilet and bathroom are fairly open plan! We dined in the restaurant two nights of three and although the food was delicious two nights definitely sufficed to have sampled all worth tasting on the menu as it did not change significantly. Service was pleasant but slow. Breakfast is great if you like a hearty feast but disappointing in lack of imaginative breads/muffins or fresh fruit. Staff on reception were polite but not overly friendly with the exception of the lady who checked us in - name sounded like Magesh who was delightful. No sign of the manager which surprised us as we noted she seems to be a keen reader of the reviews. It would be nice if they had overhead terrace heaters for the balcony areas. The main reason to visit in our opinion was the delightful if pricey suite and room cleaning service which was excellent.

  • Liked — Decor, Comfortable beds, TV/Sound System, Great bath robes, Jo Malone toiletries
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaBell22, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 14 January 2009
Thank you for your positive comments and your feedback about your stay at Tuddenham Mill. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall.

It's great to hear all your feedback and ideas. As I've said before with previous reviews we want to improve and be the best we can be at Tuddenham and guest feedback is absolutely invaluable in helping us to do this.

I'm of course disappointed you didn't feel there was enough choice on the menu as we have such a comprehensive menu and we also ensure we have daily specials from local produce, fish and game so Gordon ensures we have variety on the menu every day. However, I appreciate that everyone has very different opinions when it comes to menus and choice. We are already reviewing our breakfast menu, as some guests have asked for a healthier alternative to the 'Full Mill', which in the de-tox month of January is not top of everyone's list!

I love the idea about heaters on the balconies - I will certainly look into this as an option for the Loft Suite terraces..

Magalie is my Assistant General Manager and yes, she is delightful! I'm so glad that she made such a positive impression on my days off during your stay.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back at Tuddenham Mill soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca and the Tuddenham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

this hotel does have a fault but once put right it was a supreme stay at this fine hotel and resturant. The service was superb and after our initial room in the old mill which is just too noisey by the road we were moved to a luxury loft suite and given a £50 reduction on our room rate.
The area lacks a bit but if you have one of the better rooms you needent move out. The resturant is superb setting and food to match.
Try it you wont be disapointed .

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the old room
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank howardgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaBell22, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, 14 January 2009
Hi Howard,

Thanks so much for your review, I'm so pleased that you chose us for your 'in between' Christmas and New Year stay.

I'm glad that we successfully moved your rooms and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in peace.

You're right if you are staying in one of the loft suites there isn't much of a reason to venture out. Cosy fire, a soak in the 'egg' bath, a DVD and a bottle of wine and you're pretty much set for a lazy afternoon!

I hope you enjoyed your afternoon in Southwold on the beach - such a pretty coastal town.

Thanks again for the review, for being great guests and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Rebecca and the Tuddenham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
6.8 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Property: Tuddenham Mill
Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing