We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”

The Butt and Oyster
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pin Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

A great place to spend a day had morning coffee which was great sitting outside in the sunshine latter on had lunch ln side the restaurant which was full we had fish&chips excellent very good atmosphere good service very pleased will go again soon

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    227
    76
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not so good this time”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

WE visited as a family to celebrate our sons 18th birthday. This restaurant is situated on the banks of the River Orwell, very picturesque location. I have visited a couple of times recently and had a great meal and great service. Sadly, this time, the meal was still great, but the service was poor. One waitress seemed to be ordering for the whole place, but did not work methodically, she cleared some plates, then went off to do something else, then came back for the rest of the plates. There seemed to be plenty of staff about but they only put in an appearance when drinks or food had to be served and were then not seen again. Many of the desserts were sold out, along with one or two mains (more understandable as they have a fresh fish based menu). I had the pulled pork which was delicious, birthday boy had steak, other son and my mother had fish (huge portions) and daughter had a pork burger. All of these were very tasty and well cooked. My husband however was very unimpressed with his fish stew. The portion was laughably small (and served in a large dish) and much of the fish was overcooked. It was the most expensive of the meals and the most disappointing. We were seated in a lovely position, overlooking the river. Unfortunately there was also a very noisy group on the tables adjacent to us, which rather spoilt the occasion. Our desserts were yummy, but could have been more generously sized in some cases. Not a bad night by any means, but a let down compared to other times I have spent here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lor28C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“With a location like this you could get away serving beans on toast!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is one of our regular haunts. Let's put to one side the gentrification of the area and the erosion of local water-related businesses - that's a whole blog topic in itself and local politics is not the Butt's fault. It is a beautiful, near idyllic location that's great for just about anyone. Surroundings first:
Estuary frontage? Yup.
You want to see lots of sailing yachts? The Orwell has them by the skipload.
Traditional Thames Barges? Check
Wooded surroundings? Double whammy on both sides of the river.
Chocolate box hamlet? Hoo yeah. With a boatyard or two.
Oh, did I hear you say you wanted a stream where the children can paddle? Guess what...

Ok, so what about the pub? It's VERY popular. Inside and outside seating and the restaurant can all be rammed in school holidays. On these days just accept that you're in a great location and the staff really do work their socks off to serve you. Then enjoy your pint served from the cask and kept well. It amuses me immensely that I can sit in the bar by the fire with my two dogs, watching the river go by but children have to sit outside, in the snug (with fire) or the restaurant. If you're outside with children, please let them a) explore the foreshore b) get muddy. They'll amuse themselves for hours and remember it for years.

Food: good generally with plenty of choice on the menu and specials boards. Plenty of fish available. For some reason though the same dishes can vary in quality significantly and not always because it's busy. I've noticed this with fish and chips (oil too hot or cooked too long) and meat dishes (over-cooked). But don't let this stop you going.

One last thing. Car parking. The Butt has a car park but on busy days it'll never cope with demand. There's a small council-owned car par park up the lane. Otherwise, park on the lane down from nearby Chelmondiston and spare a thought for the residents. Don't park across their access. There are double yellow lines everywhere and yes, it's patrolled. If you decide to run the warden gauntlet, watch out for the tide. It covers the shore road and your car will lose the fight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoking
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lot better”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went to the Butt and Oyster on a business trip against my better judgement but my colleague wanted to go. The setting is wonderful and the place is always busy because of it. My previous visit was not a success so no happy memories but I have to say on this occasion it was much improved.

The place was cleaner, the satff better trained and the less rude and the food considerably better. We had white bait which was good, shredded duck which was good and fish and chips which was very good. We had a pint of Adnams beer which was nearly clear. Serving real beer from casks in a warm bar is always going to be difficult during a hot summer and I would normally have avoided it and had a lager but I was obviously distracted on this visit. Volume food is always difficult especially in such a cramped environment and when it is hot but this visit was much improved on the last which was a disaster.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food great views”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went back to the Butt & Oyster after many years, the view is just as great, the food is no longer a spit and sawdust fry up. Really good menu, good tasting and realistic prices, service good, gets busy lunchtimes, so good we went back for seconds, even the same dish...
A great place to take a special friend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evesy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Butt and Oyster also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Chelmondiston, Babergh District
 

Been to The Butt and Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing