We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest men and bonnie lasses , Outstanding ambience . Worm Hospitality, great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eglinton Hotel

Eglinton Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eglinton Hotel
1 review
“Honest men and bonnie lasses , Outstanding ambience . Worm Hospitality, great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed at the Eglington over new year. The worm friendly welcome was appreciated . I felt that I was part of the party, I always wanted to stay in a traditional Scottish hotel over the new year . Well I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The breakfast in the morning was delightful thanks Tom. The home cooking from Rae OMG Nigella eat your heart out. The home cooking was outstanding . The home made steak pie just melted in your mouth. If you ever get an opertunity to stay at this hotel go for it and you will return. I've booked up for a long weekend for some fishing and Golfing .
Thanks again. Please say high to the locals for me they really made my stay most pleasurable . Tommy, Alan, Davy the runner
Ross , Graham , Shigs, and Julie Cheers
Andy

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partyrock97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Myself and 8 friends had an occasion to spend a day at this establishment,the hospitality from Tom and Rae Bowie the owners of the hotel,their staff and regulars was second to none,in our party were 2 friends from Wales they were overwhelmed by the friendship and hospitality they received,this was our first visit to this hotel and we will definately be back,x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our 2 night stay was an absolute delight great home cooking with Mrs Bowie's home made steak pie just woderful Mr Bowie not to be out done sets you up for the day with a great Scottish breakfast, the rooms are clean and tidy and surprisingly sound proofed from the lounge bar downstairs staff are friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of the local area as have the patrons at the bar only to eager to impart stories of days gone by when Dalmellington was a thriving mining community. If you ever find yourself in Dalmellington pop in to the Eglinghton and say hello we did and stayed for two days cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanky2sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We had a lovely time in the Eglinton.

Great food in a SPOPTLESS restaurant, nice atmosphere (very country style).

Shirley is a charming lady and the Eglinton is homely.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabt1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalmellington
13.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Knowe B&B
The Knowe B&B
#1 of 2 in Carsphairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Old School
The Old School
#1 of 3 in New Cumnock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eglinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eglinton Hotel

Property: Eglinton Hotel
Address: 50 Main Street | Dalmellington, Dalmellington KA6 7QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Dalmellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmellington
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing