We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalmellington House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent one night in May and were the only two guests at the hotel. We arrived at 1am after messing James around due to difficult travel conditions. He couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.

The hotel feels like staying at a friend's house, being small and cosy. Rooms were quiet, clean, and a good temperature.

Food was excellent. Also the whole thing was remarkably cheap. We are planning to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed one night here in May and had a wonderful stay. Arriving in the middle of the night we were immediately made to feel welcome and offered a pot of tea and a light supper. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for James. The rooms were warm and comfortable. We left feeling full and happy after a full Scottish breakfast, with all the trimmings, in the homely dining room. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbonetalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent two nights here at the end of March and were delighted with Dalmellington House. Kate, the manager/housekeeper and James the chef were very friendly and welcoming. As the only two guests we got star treatment, with James discussing with us what we would like for dinner and providing us with a superb meal - we could get used to the idea of having a private chef! And Kate's breakfasts weren't half bad either....

Dalmellington House is set up primarily as a facility for carers to have some respite - (though anyone can book in) - and that sense of making guests feel special and cared for shines through. In a quiet way the place has a little bit of magic about it.

We stayed at Dalmellington House so that we could visit the Observatory in the Dark Skies Park nearby. The weather was appalling so we didn't see any stars, but the talk and discussion with the enthusiastic staff and volunteers was wonderful - inspiring and humbling.

While Dalmellington itself isn't a picture postcard-y sort of place, Dalmellington House, the Observatory and the amazingly beautiful countryside nearby makes it worth a visit. Go there and be enchanted - maybe you'll even see some stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMANDEE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYRSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent Saturday night here as a surprise for our friend's birthday it was the most amazing night ever. The food was excellent the service was outstanding + James + Kate couldn't have done anymore for us. The house is fabulous + we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTTISHHORNYGIRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed one night and was delighted with the hotel and the room. Comfortable, friendly and a lovely atmosphere. Would stay there again and advise anyone visiting the area to do so too.
We were visiting the Observatory just outside almellington and as the weather was filthy it was lovely to come back to a warm welcoming house. The staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had a lovely afternoon in the dining room of Dalmellington House recently. The food was exquisite and the service exemplary. I was also able to have coffee after lunch relaxing in the very classy and cosy lounge area. While I was only there as a lunch guest I had the opportunity to see around the bedrooms - all of different design mixing contemporary with classic styles. Very chic. The Hotel is small and they really give you the personal touch. This would be a great venue for a private family get together for a special anniversary or birthday or even a team away day. I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were rather unsure what to expect having booked this B&B. The town of Dalmellington is rather down at heel, especially now the open cast coalmine has closed. What would the B&B be like? We needn’t have worried. As soon as you walk in you realise what a friendly and welcoming place this is. From the fire in the lounge and the greeting of the staff to the tasteful decoration. Apparently this place is run by the Princess Royal Trust and most of the time provides respite for carers – something which it obviously does well. But in between they take passing traffic like us and make them too realise how good a B&B can be.

Our bedroom was very nicely –and recently – decorated in a classical style. In contrast the bathroom was super modern and functional. Both were good sized rooms.

We had arranged to eat our evening meal there too as there are not many good restaurants in town and what a meal it turned out to be! The chef handed us the menu to choose from before we showered and when we came down we were served straight away. Everything was simply delicious. He stayed overnight and then cooked out breakfast in the morning.

This B&B was one of the best, if not the best, we stayed in on our 10 day cycle trip in Dumfries & Gallaway, and also one of the cheapest. The bikes were stored securely too.

Excellent place! Do stay here if you’re in the area. (It’s quite handy for the Dark Sky Park too – some of the other guests were going there).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalmellington
13.3 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
73 reviews
10.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
122 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Old School
The Old School
#1 of 3 in New Cumnock
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Laigh Tarbeg Farm
Laigh Tarbeg Farm
#2 of 3 in Cumnock
49 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Knowe B&B
The Knowe B&B
#1 of 2 in Carsphairn
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmellington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmellington House

Property: Dalmellington House
Address: 32 Main Street, Dalmellington KA6 7QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Dalmellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmellington House is an elegant five-bedroom townhouse with private gardens situated in the small Ayrshire village of Dalmellington. Recently refurbished to a very high standard, the house and all of its facilities are available to rent throughout the year, giving you the opportunity to explore some of Scotland's most breath-taking scenery across the seasons.Owned by the Princess Royal Trust East Ayrshire Carers Centre, this luxurious house lives up to the high standards that the trust has to offer: charm, character, courtesy and care.Rooted in the centre of Dalmellington, the house is perfectly placed to explore the Ayrshire countryside, and is near the famous Galloway Forest, Loch Doon, historic Blairquhan Castle, and the ancient town of Ayr.Our staff is fully committed to your needs, working happily to ensure that you get the holiday you want, whether that means finding you the nearest nature walk or simply arranging a day of total relaxation within the hotel itself.We offer a personalised menu, prepared by our in-house chef and featuring the best of local produce, which can be prepared to suit your daily schedule. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing