We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't clean and food and drink were way too expensive for dollar value”
Review of The New Albury

The New Albury
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Albury
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wasn't clean and food and drink were way too expensive for dollar value”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My room was very dissapointing. Carpet worn out, very aged, old bed was extremely uncomfortable, shower was leaky, the whole badly needs a complete renovation to return it to it's splendour. Bottle tops and lolly wrappers were on the floor in a common area (hallway) and stayed there for the four days I was there - no cleaning at all. Rooms were not serviced only the towels were changed.
Main bar was dirty - spiderwebs everywhere. Tap beer was off and over priced. One night there was person behind the bar responsible for serving drinks, taking meal orders and checking in hotel guests and dealing with room issues - he had not a hope of getting to everything/everyone and I told him not to worry about the issue I was having with no remote control in the room - not his fault - he was just swamped and the place completely understaffed.
We have stayed here in previous years and although the hotel was old it was always clean and the food and bar/s were great. It has gone downhill massively in the last couple of years. Won't be back until it is completely overhauled.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobytyler368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianwilli, Guest Relations Manager at The New Albury, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
We are currently under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    5
    6
    14
See reviews for
5
2
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have eaten here several times for lunch as it is conveniently located in the centre of town, it is a very relaxing environment and the outdoor room is heated.

We have tried many different meals. There is a good variety of meals, which are well presented. But after all it is a pub and they are pub meals. Very edible but nothing super special.

My son says it is better at night when they have a band!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianwilli, Guest Relations Manager at The New Albury, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Thanks for your feedback we are under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Hotham, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at Paddy's (The New Albury Hotel) many times and would like to go into bat for this unpretentious budget hotel. For $66 a night I really don't care that my room is a bit shabby & dated or that the paint on the bathroom ceiling is peeling!! What I do care about is that the bed is comfortable & the sheets are crisp, my room is clean and nicely presented...it is spacious with a high ceiling and is delightfully curved as I have a corner room in this marvellous art deco building. I love to soak in my big old porcelain bathtub and can watch the tv while I do so! I could not be closer to the town centre, there is free off-road secure parking, the staff are always friendly & helpful and there is great food & draught Guinness just downstairs in Paddy's bar. The incredibly reasonable rate I have paid must barely cover the cost of housekeeping, linen & consumables..therefore I am happy as Larry to have all these other bonuses. The previous reviewers must be stuck in a time warp if they expect big-city luxuries & amenities at this price. Bravo Paddy's - I will always stay here!!

Room Tip: The '03, '05 & '07 rooms are at the front and benefit from the deco balconies theref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianwilli, Guest Relations Manager at The New Albury, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
We are currently under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms were very down not what they looked like on their website. Their website had photos of the rooms showing like a 4-5 star hotel and yet when I got there and stayed in a balcony room it wasn't the same. A closet that was dusty and damp, the bed looks like it belonged in the 60's, same with the bathroom. I would've thought it would be better since the other hotels and inns were better than this. I think they need an update. Looks like a 1-2 star hotel at The New Albury.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianwilli, Front Office Manager at The New Albury, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Google Translation
We are under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albury hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday after a long road trip and were worried after reading the terrible reviews (hubby booked it without checking , just saw the words Irish Bar'!) and the reviews were so right. the phtots on the website are nothing like reality. The accomm was a dingy room, badly stained carpets and furniture. shower was old but ok. Holes in ceiling & walls, smoke detector broken, shower rail had no bracket one end and balanced on the tiled wall. no remote for tv, had to unplug fridge to use kettle! The bar was noisy with a live band but wasn't too bad to sleep through as the loud air con unit in the room dulled the sound. The staff were lovely & helpful. food was great but the accommodation needs demolishing. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, it's like a condemned building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianwilli, Guest Relations Manager at The New Albury, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
We are currently under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I went to Paddys with my expectations not vert high and I certainly wasnt disappointed, the meals were tacky and slow to come out. I ordered a rare steak it came out well done, someone needs to look into the chefs they hire! I wouldnt eat here again rubbish for for prices.

Room Tip: dont order the meals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILuvfooD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianwilli, Guest Relations Manager at The New Albury, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
We are currently under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Not too bad for what it costs, bit grubby, tiny TV, curtains don't shut, but not even a hot shower that was disappointing! Maybe pay a tad more for the renovated rooms? Probably not worth the chance though!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SticksG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianwilli, Guest Relations Manager at The New Albury, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
We are currently under new management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.6 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#7 of 31 in Albury
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albury Regent Motel
Albury Regent Motel
#19 of 31 in Albury
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Motor Inn
Commodore Motor Inn
#22 of 31 in Albury
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albury Townhouse Motel
Albury Townhouse Motel
#15 of 31 in Albury
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Albury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Albury

Property: The New Albury
Address: 491 Kiewa St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing