We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy & comfy classic”
Review of Albury Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albury Manor House
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy & comfy classic”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed in a spa suite on our trip from sydney to Melbourne. The spa was great, the room was beautiful with an antique feel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbibie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    228
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
134
247
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Eventhough we arrived at 11:30 at night the reception was still open and our room key was waiting for us. The rom was large, maybe a bit tired, but much better than the average counrty motel. Some of the beds and the bathrrom were old but the other beds were very comfortable. The minibar was quite expensive.The breakfast in the restaurant was not very impressive- a small selection of heavy pastries, toast, breakfast cerals. We had to wait for our eggs benedict which was absolutely drenched in ready-made hollandiese and althought the pancakes weer huge, they didn't have much taste. All in all this is not a bad place to stay but definitely not a 4 star accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Arrived at 10 pm after a long drive from Melbourne to a lovely air-conditioned room and excellent room service. Was a wonderful surprise - was expecting the usual vanilla regional motel chain and was quickly won over by the clean room, which was charmingly furnished with period decor, though the modern touches of huge flatscreen TV, mini-bar and updated bathroom plus spa were much appreciated!

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettystown, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here on our first visit to Albury in May. The treatment we got was top class and the staff were wonderful. We were made feel extremely welcome and no request was too much. We returned to Albury to live in August and again stayed here. We would highly recommend it. The food in the restaurant was wonderful as well

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SianMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We took advantage of a wotif promotion for 2 adults, 1 child on our trip between Newcastle and Melbourne. Both my wife and I wished we had driven through to Melbourne to stay the night. Our room in the 'Manor' felt tired and had a strange smell that was difficult to adjust to. We often judge motels on their bathrooms/showers and we felt this motel does not live up to its 4 star rating. By the way the wotif deal was at $95 for the room however we were then charged an additional $20 for the extra person. We avoided the restaurant and took advantage of the pizza place up the road 500 metres (not too bad..if a bit shabby). Sought alternate accommodation on our return trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

If I can avoid it, I prefer to have a stopover on my way from Melbourne to Sydney - naturally if the luxury of time is on my side.

However, on this occasion, I was driving from Ballarat to Sydney which basically adds another two hours to the already given car ride of nine hours between the state's capital cities. Probably a bit too much to ask of your fellow travellers from the UK where a car ride of this length is generally unheard of and short journeys within the UK would involve packing a picnic for consumption en-route.

Having driven over 2,000 kilometres already, I was hardly relishing the prospect of such a long tedious freeway drive myself. I have used the Manor House on several previous trips and felt the time was ripe for a review of this establishment.

As always, The Manor House is devoid of any type of disappointment.

Upon arrival I noticed the secure parking lot was almost full and I had a trailer attached to carry the luggage of four occupants. The management graciously made arrangements for my car and the trailer to be parked within the complex to my complete satisfaction. This had been worrying me since I knew the hotel is popular and that space would be at a premium.

The charming lady at reception merely brushed off this favour as "all part of the service". My biggest concern had been dealt with in a professional, helpful fashion and from there on my hotel experience just got better.

The restaurant is simply superb. The quality of service is very high and my steak was exceptional and cooked to perfection. My partner and her parents also remarked on how much they enjoyed their food which is pleasing and gratifying.

The room we booked was a family room which was split between two levels and afforded every type of modern convenience.

I have travelled all over the world and stayed in hotels in over 30 countries but a prima donna I am not. I don't think it is unreasonable to expect good customer service in this day and age. An establishment only needs to meet reasonable expectations. Clean beds and smiling faces should be the norm not the exception. When my expectations are exceeded and the manner in which they are dealt with is in the spirit of focused personal service, then of course, I will mention this in forums such as TripAdvisor. I am mindful that people visit sites such as these to avail themselves of the best hotel experience whenever they may roam. I'd be a poor world traveller not to share such insight.

Albury has had to cope with a bypass being built around their town which perhaps has had a negative affect on the flow of hotel guests passing through their doors. However, I venture to say The Manor House has ignored such progress and kept on doing what they do best. This would be abiding by the motto on their website: "It feels different here because it is different here".

I could not agree more.

Lip service is a duck walk but actual delivery requires making a concerted effort. When you go the extra mile in keeping your customers happy, well, that's just icing on the cake is it not?

In conclusion, The Manor House should, therefore, warrant serious consideration from weary Hume Highway warriors. It is always refreshing to see that some people know why they ventured into the hotel business in the first place.

I look forward to my next visit very soon this year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

hi, we have just stayed at the manor house this weekend and what a pleasant experience. the staff were very friendly nothing was a bother, price is so cheap. the restaurant was great we had breakfast there on the first day, great value for money, 2 for the price of 1. Room a great size the balcony is a great idea, your not locked in the room, shopping centre close by good walk. On the way back from melbourne we got the same room, as we had the previous week, on arrival we asked how our trip was, i thought this was a great greeting very personalised. we had 5 days in the mecure in melbourne which is overrated, overpriced,i said i wish i could have picked up the manor house and bought it with us. i will definately stay and the manor house again. i thank the staff and management for 2 wonderful stays. highly recomend. jenny

Room Tip: i personally loved the balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albury hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
0.7 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#3 of 31 in Albury
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#6 of 31 in Albury
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#11 of 31 in Albury
202 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#5 of 31 in Albury
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albury Winsor Park Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albury Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albury Manor House

Property: Albury Manor House
Address: 593 Young St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albury
#2 Family Hotel in Albury
#3 Business Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albury Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albury Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albury Manor House Hotel Albury
Albury Manor Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Albury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing