We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and nice. Nothing more, nothing less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thurgoona Country Club Resort
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Let me start by saying I don't have a problem with this place. But calling this a Resort is a bit of a stretch. I have stayed here twice now, and it was considerably better second time around.

For a country town stop-over, or in town for work (like me) for one night, this place is perfect. Rooms are clean, an overlooking the golf course is quite nice. But don't expect anything more - it is after all, a country town motel. Rooms are quite dated, but still spacious enough. Offers free breakfast but I haven't yet taken advantage.

I stayed mid 2013 and had to pay for wifi, but stayed again in Feb 2014 and the wifi was free. Last year, I had no hot water and the staff were unapologetic, this time around the staff were fantastic and helpful.

In all, I will be returning to Albury periodically for work, and will continue to choose. Thurgoona. Nothing special, but everything you would expect for the price you pay. Might bring the golf clubs next time and check out what the course has to offer..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank always_Itchy_feet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a traditional country style golf course, long and tough. The fairways are ample, and after a long hot summer as we have just had, are hard and give lots of roll.
The bunkers are very well kept (even after a recent rain) and the greens offer a good deal of challenge - undulations and sometimes small and sloped.
The rough is just that - rough, and intended to be so.
The clue has just completed a major renovation by spending almost $2 Million on the installation of extensive fairway watering systems around the course. There will be major improvements in the lushness of the fairway next summer. They are already very good but I expect there will be no burned, bare patches in the next season on the short grass.
I understand the club has completed trials of a new grass proposed for progressive replacement of the existing fairways (Arizona Cooch). The one test hole was decidedly better that most and over the next few years will see this course rise rapidly in the rankings with dramatic improvements.
You would foo yourself a favour to pencil it in to your Murray Rive Bucket List over the next couple years which should see the good quality of the fairways get close to excellent.
The availability of gold carts is a bit limited so if you are visiting and want a cart be sure to book with the pro shop well ahead of your visit.
The Motel associated with the club is a bit tired but clean and could use a tart-up but the staff are pleasant and accommodating. Good, wholesome, stick to the ribs meals are available in the golf club and a nice cooked breakfast is available from the motel. The motel has a small but adequate pool and for groups will organise a poolside BBQ.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We too had the dinner, bed and breakfast package. I think we struck it lucky with our timing of our stay, as we booked in after the long weekend rush had been through, there was only us and one other car in the parking bays!!! We throughly enjoyed our roast dinner, and found the walking tracks around the area pleasant. Our room on the second floor looked out over the golf course, and we were greeted by two magpies who obviously wait for handouts - very tame, took food from our hands that we offered them. Room was clean and spacious, but agree that a little sprucing would not hurt. The continental breakfast was more than adequate, with plenty of choices of toast, fruit, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. Would definitely stay here again if back in Albury.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happylocal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We tried the dinner, bed & breakfast package, great value. Room was spacious, comfy bed, desk, table & chairs and a pleasant outlook, through sliding glass doors, over the golf course. Probably could do with a bit of fresh paint but very clean. We had a very pleasant evening, nice roast dinner, a couple of drinks and a short walk back to our room. Continental breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice and the dining room was clean and welcoming, a cooked breakfast is available also. We’re not golfers but will definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Seven of us stayed there for 3 days/2 nights on a golfing package. There were 5 golfers and 2 non-golfers. The package was very competitive. The golf course is very good, and we also played at the Albury Golf Course, just 5 km away, on one of the days, which gave us variety, at an equally good course. Continental breakfast was comprehensive and included, although a cooked breakfast was available for an additional $10. The bistro was just what we wanted for both lunch and dinner, and the roast was highly recommended by all who had it. The staff were all very helpful and cheerful. On one night we ate at the characterful nearby Kinross Hotel, which picked us up and dropped us off in their courtesy bus. The rooms were good for the occasion, but are a little tired in the bathrooms. The non-golfers found plenty to see and do in Albury and nearby Wodonga.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had a very nice stay with lovely views along the golf course, rural and relaxing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food in the Club House next door was very nice with good value food and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_A_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Would of been great facilty back in the 80s. Little bit dated but did the job for what we wanted.
Stayed two nights and a continental breakfast was included.
The bistro is very convenient with a tab, gym, pokies and great meak and service.
Fantastic golf course

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albury hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
5.4 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#3 of 31 in Albury
423 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#11 of 31 in Albury
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#5 of 31 in Albury
258 reviews
4.7 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#6 of 31 in Albury
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurgoona Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurgoona Country Club Resort

Address: 1 Evesham Pl, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range: £68 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thurgoona Country Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thurgoona Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing