We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hume Country Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable in the country”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

En route it was the perfect stopover for the night. Clean, comfortable, quiet and spacious room with that lovely country feel to it. Waking in the morning and not being in the centre of town is a major plus for me. To see the countryside spread out, it was a great start to our trip.
For a refreshing night's sleep, hard to find better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review MattVac.
Nearly all of our return guests come back because of either our location, or service.
Although it does not suit everyone, our location is really magnificent for those wanting some quietness and tranquility, but also be a close enough drive into town or a shopping centre for dining out, rather than ordering room service.
Thanks for choosing the Hume Country Motor Inn for your stay, and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Travis & Justina Breheny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    130
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
112
146
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobden, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were attracted to this motel by the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not let down. Travis, the manager, could not have been more welcoming. Our room, exceptionally large for a motel room, very comfortable queen bed and two singles, two seater lounge, large table and seating for 4 , and still plenty of room to move. Nice to watch the flat screen TV from the comfort of the bed. I particularly liked the large bay window with sliding door to an outdoor area with seating and views of the surrounding hills. Small touches like the heated towel rail in bathroom demonstrate that someone has given thought to making guests as comfortable as possible. As kitchen was closed when we arrived we ordered pizzas through reception, scrumptious. Breakfast was help yourself in a room for the purpose, wide choice of breads and cereals, juices, yoghurt etc. Whilst it is a few minutes to the highway we appreciated the quiet. All in all a great place to stay whether overnight or longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugstyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review Dugstyles.
Although short and sweet, it was great having you both stay with us.
We enjoy reading our guests reviews, especially when their expectations are met, or exceeded.
I agree with your comment about a lot of though has gone into the design. I believe the person who built it was a bricklayer, and he built it for himself. Always a good sign when a tradie builds something for themselves.
We hope to see you again in the future, and maybe for a longer stay next time so you can both enjoy what Albury/Wodonga has to offer.
Regards, Travis & Justina Breheny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Justina and Travis were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was not far from everything and yet it was peaceful, relaxing and had beautiful scenery. Breakfast included was convenient and fresh. A fantastic place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TikaM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review TikaM2013.
It was great having you and your family stay with us, although the circumstances could have been better.
Reading your experience here was enjoyable is very satisfying for us. A lot of our guests agree with you regarding the spacious rooms on offer. We believe the person who build this property had a lot of foresight, and planning the design out very well.
Having the Bunya Room to enjoy breakfast is a nice touch, and we are actually working on an outdoor area where our guests can enjoy their breakfast outside during the warmer months.
Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Travis & Justina Breheny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrum Downs, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having been staying in Albury every month for the past 12 months I just wish I had found the Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn alot soon .I can only thank god where we would normally stay was fully booked out and we had to find somewhere else.I honestly felt like I was at home the friendliest people.We all loved it as we were there with 3 adults and 3 children ages 6 and 4 (Twins are 6) we all sleep so well felt like we were welcome and nothing was a bother I just really want to thank them for a fantastic stay and we will see you next month

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review Patricia B.
It was great to have you and your family stay with us on the weekend. The Large Family Room is very popular due to its size, location near the pool/bbq and full Foxtel channels.
We strongly believe customer service is very important, and unfortunately, we do not receive much of it these days, which is a shame, so we like to ensure our guests receive it every time they stay with us.
We are wrapped your family enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you all next month.
Regards, Travis & Justina Breheny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Service and rooms were excellent! Peaceful setting, loaded fridge, full room service menu, breakfast and wifi. Couldn't ask for more when on a brief business trip - except we did not see any kangaroos. Travis was plenty of help navigating the map and finding our way around town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dhaddock82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review Dhaddock82.
It was great to meet you both last week during your stay on business.
It is important that all our guests needs are covered, from drinks, food, peace and quiet.
I am sorry about the kangaroos, sometimes we see them out back, or out the front of the property skipping in the fields, or across the road. Maybe next time you will be lucky enough to see them.
Regards, Travis & Justina Breheny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Having stayed at many other motels in Albury, I can comfortably say this is the best place to stay and I for one will stay here every time I am in town. You will not find more friendly, welcoming and professional owners. Travis and Justina are passionate in providing their customers with the experience they are looking for. Great for all ages, beautiful location, quiet and very clean rooms. Rest assured you will not be disappointed with any aspect of your stay here. Very highly recommended by someone who has seen some of the best motels in NSW. This is the one!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review Michael H.
It is always a pleasure having you, and your colleagues, stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms, our customer service and the location, which provides for a quiet nights sleep.
One of our advantages is that it suits all ages from little kiddies, to the more senior travelers.
We look forward to seeing you again in Albury/Wodonga next time.
Regards, Travis & Justina Breheny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

First stayed here about 25 years ago when it was pretty new and associated with the adjoining Golf and Country Club
The golf course went broke and when we next stayed here about 10 years ago we were the only guests and it was in serious decline--- vowed never to return until we searched Tripadvisor and saw how positive the reviews were so thought we would give it another go
My wife has family in Albury so we come here from Adelaide once a year--- have stayed in many motels over the years and like most businesses they have their moments but inevitably find difficulty in maintaining standards.
Sundowner is in the ascendancy primarily because of the efforts of its proprietors Travis and Justina who are most welcoming and friendly hosts
We took the large family two bed room apartment because we like plenty of space and it met our needs admirably
The motel is indeed set in a quiet location which is its prime attraction if you have ever spent time in one if Alburys CBD motels on a Friday or Saturday night when the locals are at their noisiest
Our room was clean and well maintained but is showing its age as you would expect of a place at least 25 years old--- no major issues just lighting and bathroom upgrading would do the trick
Have to say Sundowner has the best Foxtel availability of any motel or hotel I have ever stayed in-- almost every channel rather than the half dozen most offer

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review Longhaven.
It really was a pleasure hosting you both for the fews days you were here.
The pressure was certainly on. I keep laughing to myself when you booked, telling me about your stay 10 years ago - thank you again for giving us another go.
Many agree that our location, and sense of home, helps with people's perception of our property remain positive. We love meeting great people such as yourselves, and making a difference during their stay.
We agree with your comments on the age and the lighting in some areas. Our spa suite have all been recently renovated. For the rest, we hope to upgrade these over time, but are trying to plan this, so not to burden our guests with a higher tariff to cover these costs. As you mentioned though, these things are not required, but simply would be nice.
Yes, there is Foxtel, and then there is Foxtel. We provide the boxes in rooms, which allow our guests a huge channel selection over the more common system found in other places. It is more expensive, however our guest really seem to appreciate the difference. We can't wait to be part of your next visit to the area and hopefully we can only improve further, on your perceptions then. Regards, Travis & Justina Breheny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albury hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
1.8 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#7 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#10 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#3 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.8 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Country Motor Inn

Property: Hume Country Motor Inn
Address: 736 Logan Rd, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Country Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Albury's Quietest Motel' the Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn is located in Albury, a 5-minute drive from the CBD. The hotel offers a seasonal outdoor pool, free WiFi and FREE continental breakfast.Rooms at the Hume Country Motor Inn are spacious and feature modern decor with all having new window furnishings installed recently. All Ground floor rooms come with free parking in front and a patio. A kitchenette is available in all rooms. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool or arrange day trips at the tour desk. The hotel provides a children's playground and newly renovated Guest Laundry. The Bunya Room serves a daily light buffet breakfast. Breakfast can also be delivered to the rooms. Dinner is served everyday. Drinks are available at the reception and mini bar in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hume Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing