We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, no frills”
Review of Garden Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Court Motel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at the Garden Court Motel for three nights In March 2014.

We needed somewhere inexpensive to stay and this place did all that was expected of it. Only being a couple of blocks from the main street of Albury made it very convenient in terms of getting to cafes and the cinema, and the pub on the next block was great for dinner on our first night, too.

The room was on the small side but it was fine, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom did all it needed to.

There was one very odd feature to this place, though. Our room (and I assume most, if not all of the others) had a small private courtyard at the rear. It was made very clear by signage - and by the rear sliding door being set up so it could only be opened a couple of centimetres (literally) - that these courtyards were out of bounds.

It was clear that the fences between the courtyards didn't go all the way to the rear fence, meaning it would be possible to walk through from one to another. I assume this is why we weren't allowed to use them. But having recently stayed at the Belvoir Motel in Wodonga and made use of the private courtyard there, this seemed a loss, especially as the weather was very warm.

The other problem with the rear door being only able to be opened a tiny bit meant that it was virtually impossible to get fresh air into the room at night, which in turn meant wasting electricity and using the air conditioner (which made odd noises, incidentally). Surely it would be possible to make the courtyards inaccessible (if this has to be) and still make it possible to open the window to let in some air.

We didn't have breakfast at the motel so I can't comment on that.

By the way, if you have two cars (as we did) do let the owners know. We didn't let them know and were subtly reprimanded on check out...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, it is well located within easy walk to the main street, shops and restaurants and easy to find. It has a very nice little pool which was great as it was mid 30's when we stayed. Yes bit dated but clean and comfortable and our bathroom was a decent size and shower was strong. The AC worked well so for a couple of nights it was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kme98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This motel was cheap and the family room was perfect for our over night stay! Very happy with price and location. The rooms were a bit outdated but i guess that was expected. The bathroom was not clean enough for me and the cups in the fridge had all been used. After this I was careful with what i did and didnt use in the room. One bed didn't have an electric blanket which was odd but other then that i was happy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLC89255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This motel is situated in a great location. The accommodation is spacious and clean if somewhat dated.

The beds are on the firm side of comfortable. The decor is decidedly 70's brown.

For the price paid, this property offers very good accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The challenge was to find a motel in Albury for one night on the way from Melbourne to Canberra. It needed to be within walking distance of Albury pubs and restaurants but away from the main drag. I also wanted to be a few streets away from the Albury by-pass with it's propensity for heavy truck traffic during the night. The Garden Court fitted the bill on paper and delivered more in reality. Larger than average rooms, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, all expected facilities and on-site breakfast restaurant. Even a group of grey-haired motorcycle riders who, despite having noisy Harleys were very pleasant people. We will definitely use this motel again to break our trip.

Room Tip: Far enough away from town and the freeway that all rooms are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryF1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Unpretentious old-style motel situated very conveniently to the Albury main street and downtown attractions and services but far away enough so as to be quiet. Large room, comfortable, clean and well-appointed considering its very moderate price. Wireless Internet is available at no additional charge. I did not use their breakfast option (I wish I had) but at night I was offered suggestions and recommendations on nearby restaurants, also I was given a drink voucher for the nearby Brady's Railway Hotel where I found a very good meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

What a delightful find! A perfect place to stop over on the way to Canberra. Ideally situated. The rooms were large and very clean. It was great to be able to have a dip in the pool after a hot drive and breakfast the next morning in the "Breakfast Room" was very good value. Would definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#12 of 31 in Albury
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#3 of 31 in Albury
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#5 of 31 in Albury
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
580 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hume Country Motor Inn
Hume Country Motor Inn
#9 of 31 in Albury
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Motel

Address: 426 David St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albury
Albury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing