We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albury Classic Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like coming home”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is our fourth or fifth time staying at the Classic Motor Inn and after being greeted by hosts Maree and Shane, I remarked to my husband "it's like coming home". Nothing is ever too much trouble, the pool is great, breakfast by Shane is wonderful and the rooms are beautifully presented with modern soft furnishings. Very comfortable. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Albury. Alan and Carole Royce

Room Tip: It's always helpful to read other people's reviews, road noise not noticed from inside the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburyclassic, Owner at Albury Classic Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thanks Carol and Alan for your review. It's has been terrific catching up with you both again and so glad we could organise tickets for you to see Jimmy Barnes at the Kinross. Great night was had by all. Looking forward to catching up again on your next trip through.
Kind Regards Maree & Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    53
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
37
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stopped here during a bit of a roadtrip from Orange NSW, to Melbourne purely on the grounds that it was about halfway and the review on TA was pretty good.

Not disappointed. The room was a perfectly good example of motor inns almost anywhere you care to go, but elevated by the care and attention of the owners.

For the price, it was brilliant and some $300/night hotels could learn a lesson from free WiFi and a small bottle of fresh milk for tea/coffee....

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonLaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburyclassic, Owner at Albury Classic Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thanks Jason, we really do try to give good service without charging through the roof for the little extras. It's amazing the people who just love the little bottles of fresh molk (not the horrible UHT stuff) and the free WI. Some people think they are getting a great price but then have to make extra for every little thing. Thanks once again and hopefully we can continue to make other guests feel welcome.
Kind Regards
Maree & Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

With SO many accommodation choices in Albury, I chose this one based on TripAdvisor reviews, and I'm glad I did.
Very friendly at reception, large spacious rooms & very well located. Unfortunately there isn't an on-site restaurant, however they provide an excellent service where I could choose from the local pub menu, which was delivered to my room and charged to my account.
Would absolutely recommend this motel for a comfortable, friendly stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 4ndre_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburyclassic, Owner at Albury Classic Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Andre, so glad you chose to stay with us and wern't disappointed. Sorry I didn't order your seasoned wedges but shows we really are human. We really do try to make our guests feel welcome and I'm glad you agreed with your great comment. Hope to see you or your friends again when you are travelling through Albury Cheers Maree & Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorebank, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This has got to be the friendliest place I have ever stayed. We checked in late and needed to clean a truck they were more than helpful giving as the use of there bucket and cleaning products. we didn't know were to go for dinner and they told us if we went to the local pub we would get a discount for mentioning were we were staying and the food was amazing. when returning to the hotel after dinner we were invited to have a drink around the pool with other the guests. This was the nicest place I have stayed for a while and the people made us feel right at home they would do anything for there guests thankyou very much. We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Spa room its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburyclassic, Owner at Albury Classic Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks Amanda for your review. It is great when our guests interact with each other. Shane is going to put the picture you sent us of the Harley truck you bought with you on our web page. Glad you enjoyed yourself and see you both again soon
Regards Maree & Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a gem the Albury Classic Motor Inn is - The proprietors, Shane and Maree, are the most hospitable hoteliers I have EVER met. From the minute we arrived, road weary and hungry, we felt at home. We ended up having a BBQ by the pool instead of going out for dinner and then whiled away the evening making new friends. After a sensational night's sleep in wonderfully comfortable beds we got up for a leisurely breakfast, again by the pool, and a morning of drinking coffee and reading the Sunday papers. Shane and Maree - it was wonderful to meet you both and we will all be back. This is my new regular stop on my Sydney to Melbourne road trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndal441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburyclassic, Owner at Albury Classic Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Janelle great having you Frank and the guys stay with us whe you played at Edwards Tavern with the Highway 31 Blues club. As noted by a previous guest it was great to interact with you guys and just sit back and chill. A great performance on Sunday, looking forward to having you stay again

Cheers Maree & Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Travelling with family, booked a family room, with Queen and single beds.

Neat, Clean, Tidy

Large Bathroom, Comfortable Beds and Kitchenette!

Free Wi-Fi

Across the road from great pizzeria.

All too easy.

Friendly Manager.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WaynesGFGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had been over in Australia for a family funeral, staying out in the middle of nowhere, and stayed at the the Classic for our last night, before flying out from Albury Airport.

We booked their romantic spa package, which included a spa in the bedroom, a bottle of bubbly, chocolates, candles and a selection of romantic CD's.

Although the room is basically a standard motel room to which they have added the spa bath, they have gone to real effort to make it cosy and inviting. The bed linen and furnishings have all been matched to provide an upmarket feel, and the other touches, while not expensive, really added to the feeling of being pampered, my wife loved it! It was a really good way to unwind after a very emotionally stressful week.

The optional breakfast the following morning, again whilst not over fancy (bacon & egg on toast) was extremely good value at $14 with plenty of bacon.

Only downside (if there has to be one) is that it is a little far from Albury town centre if you don't have a car, (5 mins if you do). There is however a reasonable shopping mall about 500m down the road for supermarket etc. There is also a very good value clothing discount warehouse about 250m away which is well worth a look.

Overall we rate it as an excellent place to stay, and will happily stay there again next time we are in Albury. People who go the extra mile on service deserve the business.

Room Tip: They only have one spa room at present, and I would assume that the other rooms are bog standard mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albury hotels
3.5 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#6 of 31 in Albury
251 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#11 of 31 in Albury
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#3 of 31 in Albury
398 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden Court Motel
Garden Court Motel
#12 of 31 in Albury
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albury Classic Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albury Classic Motor Inn

Property: Albury Classic Motor Inn
Address: 404 Wagga Rd | (Hume Highway), Albury, New South Wales 2641, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albury Classic Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and try us at the Albury Classic Motor Inn. We are not the most modern motel but we do offer spacious, immaculately clean rooms, beds with comfort tops, hot water with good pressure, terrific value breakfast and service from the owners that really care if you enjoy your stay. We're only a few minutes off the new freeway and nearby a shopping plaza, restaurants, service stations, parks, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albury Classic Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing