We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly”

New England Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New England Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Armidale
z
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great motel. We checked out about 6 motels on the way

in and were really happy to find this one. The wifi was excellent. Great heating and good beds. Walking distance to everything. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rexZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed here for a couple for nights mid April. The location is convenient and the rooms are OK, but the wifi is shocking. I was up for a uni intensive school and the wifi coverage nearly drove me spare. I dont need it to be super quick, but i do need a secure connection with minimal drop outs.

House keeping must have been having a bad week too as a couple of mornings they only bothered to pull the doona up, nothing else.

Armidale has a pretty average selection for the $100 price range, though i'd recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson C, Manager at New England Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Sincere apologies that the wi-fi kept dropping out for you. We were having some difficulties with the internet during that period. We have now upgraded to a high-speed internet plan with unlimited download. The wireless/wi-fi signal is now a secure connection. Guests will receive free internet during their stay with us.

Sorry about the room cleaning. Housekeepers had a rough week at that time. Daily room services (for stays) includes bed making, towel changes (if required), rubbish collection and dish-washing. Keep in mind, if your personal belongs are on any furniture/bedding, the housekeepers cannot legally move them away and thus cannot service the room as guest require.

Armidale does have a wide range of motel selection for $100 per night, but I believe that New England Motor Inn has the most convenient location (within walking distance to shops, mall, restaurants, pubs), spacious rooms with queen beds, free internet and friendly service.

We hope you will stay with us the next time you're in Armidale.

Kind regards,
Jackson Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

All we were looking for was a good nights sleep and we found a great one here. We were really impressed with the cleanliness of this motel, not just clean, but did not have the harsh chemical cleaning smell many motels have. It was fresh, clean and the beds were comfy. This motel is off the 'main drag' so we were not kept awake with passing traffic (though we did hear the bowls club patrons next door leaving). The staff were really friendly and helpful. The location was walking distance to everything we needed. Free Internet an added bonus. Great night, would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I recently had the pleasure of passing through Armidale for a one night stopover.
I was so impressed with the service, location and cleanliness of the motel I have just been back for a long weekend and was not disappointed. Congratulations to Jackson and his team.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snitz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I booked three rooms for 3 couples for an overnight stay and we were all very happy with our choice of motel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything you needed. Plenty of space. Because I was the contact person the hosts upgraded my room to a King at no cost which was a nice touch.
Great location - walking distance to the Services Club where our function was held, as well as to Bowling Club and main street.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSearchEngine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was out 3rd stay in this motel and each time the greeting of reception staff/owner has been great. Very welcoming. The little touches as a sweeties on the bed side table, fresh milk and a couple of biscuits are nice little touches. Very convenient for a walk around the city/town, close to the supermarket if required, good walking distance to the Services Club and next door to the Bowls Club. We have eaten on each occasion at the Bowlo, and the meals on previous visits have been excellent. Very disappointing on this trip - overpriced and not at all of good quality. Might be an idea to check with locals as to whether this is the best place to eat in town. The rooms at the motel are of a good size and very clean. Microwave and crockery in mini kitchenette very handy especially for a quick cereal and toast breakfast. Good value for money and we will continue to stay at this motel.

Room Tip: Maybe towards the back of the motel, due to the pub/nightclub across the road, but all rooms fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the New England Motor Inn for 2 nights in October. Upon check-in, we found the staff (owner?) to be incredible friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic, just over the road from a major supermarket, and close to shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and the free wireless Internet and Austar was an added bonus, we also got a free continental breakfast with our booking which I had forgotten about so that was a nice suprise. My only criticism would be that the location, while convenient, was also very noisy late at night with a pub over the road. I think there may have also been a few drunk people returning to the hotel in the early hours of the morning carrying on a bit. But this was no fault of the hotel. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sajst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armidale hotels
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
0.1 mi away
Sandstock Motor Inn
Sandstock Motor Inn
#10 of 22 in Armidale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
0.4 mi away
City Centre Motor Inn
City Centre Motor Inn
#5 of 22 in Armidale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Motel
Club Motel
#13 of 22 in Armidale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New England Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Motor Inn

Property: New England Motor Inn
Address: 100 Dumaresq St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New England Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location places you in the heart of Armidale with easy access to all it has to offer. Armidale's restaurants, cafes, boutique shops, art galleries, shopping malls and clubs are all within a short walk and makes our Motel an ideal Armidale Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your New England Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing