We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel, handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandstock Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Armidale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great motel, handy location”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were running late so I phoned ahead and spoke to the woman at reception and advised her of the time we expected to arrive ... no problems !.

We arrived sometime after 6pm and met the lady from the front desk who said she had already put the heater on in our room to warm it up for us ... how great was that ?

She also gave us dining suggestions which we took up and enjoyed.

Our room was nice - very clean and warm. Our bed and pillows were the most comfortable we had slept in in a motel - the best nights sleep in a completely darkened room - heaven on a stick !!

We had a small bar fridge, a microwave, plunger coffee, biscuits as well as tea bags, sugar. No cutlery or toaster but that was OK. A small wardrobe with hanging space, ironing board and iron too and a Flat Screen TV and sofa, plus a small table/chairs.

The bathroom was clean and in good condition and the hot water was plentiful and hot.

We also had access to free WiFi which was great.

We appreciated the bucket with window cleaner the following morning when our car was iced up !!!

Great place to stay and we would certainly stay there again when we are next in Armidale.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were the last room in the run of rooms - number 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    38
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
44
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Arrived without a booking in inclement weather, and was greeted warmly, given a good price on the room, was given advice on eating options, and even offered use of an umbrella to walk to nearby eateries.

Location wise, there is a supermarket, bowling club, several eateries and a bar within a couple of minutes walk. On the downside, there is also a tyre outlet almost next door, which may be an issue for some early morning noise on a week day. I stayed on a Saturday night, and found it to be very quiet with the exception of some inconsiderately noisy late arriving guests.

The room was large enough and well furnished with a sofa, small table and chairs, a writing desk and large tv with foxtel and free to air. The bed was quite firm, but didn't affect my sometimes troublesome back. There was also a microwave as well as the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, and vanity storage. Best of all, the air conditioner worked well on a cold night and was exceedingly quiet. There were also considerate additions, such as a towel and bucket and squeegee thing to clean car windows in the cold mornings

Would happily stay again, and would recommend to anyone looking for great value and comfortable accommodation in a handy location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I consider this motel to be one of the most comfortable motels of the many we have stayed in over recent years. The owner/ proprietor was very welcoming and helpful and the room she provided had many small touches which made our brief stay most satisfactory. The motel is well located in the heart of town but is quiet and close to numerous cafés and restaurants. I would certainly stay here again when visiting Armidale.

Room Tip: Our room was furthest from the road but all rooms were well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of the reviews and we were not disappointed.  The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Everything works and there were lots of little extras in the room that you don’t usually get in country motels.  Very happy to recommend and will definitely be staying here again next time we’re passing through.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterfield, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We recently stayed at this motel and found the rooms spotlessly clean and well maintained.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower very good .Great location, close to shops and Bowling Club.Owner very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazH790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I choose this motel based on it's rating and positive reviews but was very disappointed in the accommodation, the sofa had no support and was a struggle to get up from but mainly the bed was very hard and uncomfortable giving both of us a sleepless night, tossing and turning, just trying to get comfortable and ease the pain in our backs and shoulders caused by the bed. The bathroom had a cracked porcelain basin and the bathtub with it's overhead shower was slippery and I would advise guests to use the bathmat provided. On the upside the room was clean apart from some stains on the carpet and the shower had good pressure and was hot which helped ease the pain in my back in the morning, they do provide tea and coffee making facilities and a microwave if needed and a flat screen TV with a good selection of channels. I am rating this accommodation as poor due to one of the most uncomfortable beds I have had the displeasure of 'sleeping' in and cannot understand with the motels lack of amenities, dated uncomfortable accommodation how it has such a high rating and command a high fee in return for so little.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieTraveller55_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

More expensive than anywhere else we had stayed on our road trip. Room was large but bathroom only average- shower head poor (we did report this to the manager). Microwave, kettle and toaster but no bread and butter plates- weird. Air con really struggled- lucky it was only 35 degrees. Nice but jaded. Quiet and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armidale hotels
2.4 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 23 in Armidale
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
1.0 mi away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
1.3 mi away
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandstock Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandstock Motor Inn

Property: Sandstock Motor Inn
Address: 101 Dumaresq St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandstock Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandstock Motor Inn is a charming, boutique style motel with clean, well-appointed rooms. We are situated directly opposite the Armidale City Bowling Club, within walking distance to cafes, restaurants, movie theatres, hotels, parks and markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandstock Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing