We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 Armidale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed overnight at Petersons Armidale on a long trek up from Sydney to the Gold Coast. The guesthouse and grounds were beautiful, a throw back to the grandieur of yesteryear. The service was friendly and the food plentiful and delicious. The wine reasonably priced and very drinkable. The room was in keeping with the style of the place, large, comfortable and traditional. We would stop off again anytime and will stay for longer the next time around.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevejwillis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

We came across Petersons by chance and I'm so glad we did. It was one of the highlights of our two week trip to Australia. We absolutely loved the house and especially the mature gardens and it was great to hear some of the history. We were greeted warmly and Craig, the chef, was fantastic. He gave us a really good wine recommendation (by no means the most expensive on the menu) and we really enjoyed the hospitality. And it was marvellous to relax in the grand drawing room after supper, playing chess and nibbling on the cheese board. The after-dinner highlight was the complimentary port and muscat - the muscat being absolutely outstanding. The place has a calm, elegant atmosphere, and I loved the interior design - classic, fitting to the style of the house, which was originally modelled on the Indian Raj era design. Thank you to all at Petersons for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nadiarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this place expecting some rest and relaxation in the lovely New England countryside. Well, it wasnt the location/premises per se, but the customer service was just terrible. I dont usually write on these reviews but in this case I seriously need to advise people against visiting/staying at Petersons Winery & Guesthouse in Armidale. The supposed manager by the name of Sue was the source of our hardship (not so much the wait/guest staff). She was completely disinterested with our visit and it seemed as though we had put her out of her way! The features within the room itself was minimal, and as other people have noted, lacked the basics such as a kettle, iron, and web access. The only armchair in the room was wobbly and the bed uncomfortable. I must also mention the quality of the wine...horrible, Ive never tasted such swill in all my life. It was highly vinegary and had an old sock finish..blah, my 19 year old nephew makes better homebrew red at home. What ever you do, please find another place to stay when in Armidale, this was completely horrible. Zero stars.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Vernon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judytherese, Owner at Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Vernon V,

Firstly, Sue has not been the manager here for 26 months.

To answer you complaints: kettles are provided in each room along with tea and coffee etc.; ironing boards and irons are available on request; and web access is available for our guests upon request for the "Password". As for the wine, it is possible for an odd bottle to develop 'cork taint'. As cork is a natural product which we use in our top wines, this may occur. I see that "Vernon V" did not mention if the wine had a 'cork' closure or a 'screw cap' closure. I would have assumed that someone who travels with reasonable wine knowledge, as 'Vernon V' poses to do, would have flagged such an obvious issue with our staff if there had been a problem.

As for the beds, we have only ever had positive comments but of course everyone is different and we cannot please everyone. I thought 'Vernon V' would have approached us as owners to voice his concerns, as we do if we are not happy on our travels.

I note 'Vernon V?' joined Trip Advisor especially to voice his complaint. I would be happy for him to contact me directly as we pride ourselves on our Wine, Restaurant and Accommodation and have won many awards over many years.

I have no problem with 'constructive criticism', I do however have a problem with people who hide behind an alias, where you cannot contact them directly nor have access to their contact details.

I look forward to hearing from 'Vernon V' directly.

Yours
Colin Peterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed in Dec 2013,bathroom 5 star with stand a lone bath, unfortunately not the same can be said about the "Romantic suite "as we had an extra bed in the room ? We felt the furniture was dated as opposed to period !The kettle had to be boiled at floor level as their were no sockets at dresser level. The television was small and just placed on a dresser with basic channels, we paid $230 for bed and breakfast for one night (nice breakfast)Staff were nice but forgot iron which we had requested pre breakfast.
I feel the hotel which has all the attributes to be up there with the best country hotels in the wine region we stayed need a review of their bedrooms and facilities within.
We did receive a complimentary bottle of wine on our departure (nice touch)

Room Tip: Make sure you view all rooms to confirm you get the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hibernian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Peterson's Winery and Guest House in Armidale, NSW for two nights in December, as a little pampering at the end of a long road trip spent in mostly budget accommodation. So we were looking forward to a bit of luxury. We certainly paid for it at $225/night bed and breakfast.

Upon arrival, we were surprised by the locked door and buzzer system to get in. However, once warmly welcomed into the Great Hall, we were taken by the beautifully furnished and lavish heritage interior. They had certainly gone all out to impress visitors with an excellent first impression. We were shown to our very spacious room and settled in. That's when we noticed the strange things...

I often wonder how people could design rooms the way they do, and can only conclude that they never actually have to 'live' in them, otherwise they'd quickly see how impractical (or really dumb!) some things are. Take the illogical design of the ensuite bathroom for example. The shower door can't open properly as it is obstructed by the room door, so you have to be careful not to smash one into the other (not to mention that the shower leaked). The claw footed bathtub was nice, but faced looking directly into the corner and blocked access to the window that didn't have frosted glass (like the other bathroom window) and people walking by outside could look directly in unless the blinds were closed.

Also, the main bedroom room, while being very spacious, was furnished with a little TV on a tiny table, and a tiny desk too small to even work with a laptop on (I guess the small furniture made the room feel so spacious!). The wardrobe was in the corner, but blocked by the pedestal fan that had to be moved around the extra single bed.

For a place that caters to the high end of the market, it lacked some basic essentials:
-no iron and ironing board in the room (had to ask for them)
-no internet in the room (free wifi is only in the common areas)
-no fridge in the room (only a communal one in the breakfast room)
-no air conditioning (only the pedestal fan) that would've been very handy on the hot days we were there
-king bed ok, but single bed not properly made up
-meager toiletries in tiny bottles that weren't replenished after the first day
-towels fraying at the edges
-only one coat hanger provided in the wardrobe, and that one was in very poor condition

The numerous pot plants in the room and common areas gave a very homey feel, but upon closer inspection, we noticed they were all artificial, giving the place a cheap feel.

There were some really good things about our stay though:
-free muscat/port in the very comfortable, well appointed and beautifully furnished common room
-nice three course dinner ($60/person) and breakfast
-very attentive and friendly staff
-beautiful grounds and comfy large verandah to sit and read
-choice of a bottle of red or white wine upon departure

In summary, the Guest House provides excellent food and service from the staff, but the obvious skimping on cost cutting measures seriously detracted from the 'luxury' experience. For the price we paid for being pampered, I think much better value for money would be had elsewhere. I, for one, could not honestly recommend this place unless I knew the management had addressed the many simple things to make, what could have easily been, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We enjoyed a night here and will be back again. We had a spa room which was very large with a large bathroom. The reception was friendly, the house is beautiful. Bed was comfortable. A good breakfast the following morning. The grounds are lovely and I would have liked to be staying overnight to spend some more time in them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Where do you take 50 over excited 30-something women for their 20 year school reunion? Petersons Armidale of course.

I loved giving my cohort that OMG moment as we tri-trapped in our heels along the gravel driveway around to the veranda of the charming homestead. We loved the bubbles and canapés on that veranda as we mingled until dinner. We loved our private dining room, that offered us the perfect amount of space without losing any intimacy. We loved our barman who dexterously ensured each table was kept in constant supply of the Vineyard’s own wine. We loved the alternate drop main of lamb back strap with salsa verde, roasted shallots & potato gratin or Atlantic salmon on smashed potato with champagne & lemon beurre blanc. And of course, girls can’t go past flourless hazelnut chocolate torte or sticky date pudding with butterscotch sauce. Coffee and tea back on the veranda, and the trifecta was almost compete.

So what was the icing on the cake? Great owners and staff of course. Their patience dealing with last minute additions and changes, and their impeccable manners and helpfulness did not go unnoticed. Petersons proved to be the perfect venue for our function.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armidale hotels
3.7 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 23 in Armidale
328 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
3.8 mi away
Moore Park Apartments
Moore Park Apartments
#19 of 23 in Armidale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
2.8 mi away
Lindsay House
Lindsay House
#3 of 9 in Armidale
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse

Address: 345 Dangarsleigh Rd, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Armidale
Price Range: £92 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing