We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Armidale
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great spot to stop!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Only stayed 1 night in a self contained 2 bedroom suite. Very clean, comfortable accommodation win good air conditioning. To our surprise the Inhouse restaurant was brilliant! Will certainly stay again when next passing through Armisale.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Wonderful feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, commented on the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and that your meal in our Azka Restaurant was "Brilliant"
We look forward to your next visit and hope we can tempt you to stay a little longer.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    110
    18
    15
    7
See reviews for
90
131
20
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Having just ridden nearly 500km in high 30 degree heat, we decided to cancel our reservation at another hotel in favour of this one based on two criteria: a pool; and air conditioning.

Of the five hotels in Armidale that matched our criteria we chose this one as it was noted as 4.5 stars with a pool - given it was the last overnight stay before our ride back to Sydney we thought we'd spoil ourselves.

Having checked in while we waited on the bikes, hubby answered the excited question from our 14 yo of "where's the pool?!" with a very disappointed and somewhat disbelieving "they just told me they built a restaurant on it!"

Lessons learned - don't trust what you read and ask the critical questions before paying.

Otherwise a nice enough place to stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rdelambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

The Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale has recently undergone a multi million dollar refurbishment. Based on our market research, we discovered that as a result of our cooler climate our guests preferred an in house restaurant and cosy fire to a pool which could only be utilized 2 months of the year. Unfortunately your trip to Armidale was in the middle of a very unseasonal heat wave and although we no longer have a pool, Armidale is very fortunate to have 3 indoor pool complex's which are all in close proximity.

We hope to see you again the next time you travel through.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here in a family 2 bedroom suite for one night on my through to Brisbane. I had been told by family about this place so I stayed here without really reviewing it at all.

The place was great, beds where comfortable, the entire place was clean and the included breakfast was good too.

It was my first time to Armidale and I liked it. I will be back in the future to stay longer and explore the surrounding region and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We're thrilled that you've described us as the perfect spot to stay in Armidale.
Comfy beds, clean rooms and a great breakfast all help make a traveller feel refreshed and a trip more enjoyable. We hope to see you when you next visit Armidale again.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We checked in on Christmas day with a family of five in a two bedroom suite. The accomodation is a very good standard and reasonably spacious. On boxing day we had breakfast which was included in our package. The good was fantastic, I had a fruit salad followed by a cooked breakfast of poached eggs and salmon.
A great place to stay on our way to Byron Bay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on such an important day of the year and that you had a lovely time with your family. We're so glad you stayed for breakfast as we think our choices are pretty amazing too!. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Located on the motel strip about a 10 minute walk from Armidale central the Quality Hotel is very well-presented. Reception staff are friendly and helpful and I left after check-in with my key and a complimentary newspaper under my arm. Although it is located next to a main road noise was very minimal and the only thing that disturbed my sleep was the whirring of the fridge as it clicked on and off and a dripping noise which I tracked down to a clock which sat on the bedside table. With the fridge switched off and the clock in a drawer I was only left to count the sheep jumping over the fence before I fell asleep in the very comfortable bed. The only real negative for me was the restaurant experience. I was on a motorcycle, tired after my 5 hour ride from Sydney and so couldn't be bothered to walk into town for dinner. The first shock is the interior design - garish lamps, dim light and the whole lot swathed in yards of white net curtains. The food is quite expensive and from my perspective not very good either. I ordered my salmon pink and it arrived baked dry and tasteless and it was returned from whence it came. The second try had not been quite so harshly treated but was still far from perfectly cooked. Totally frustrated I left most of it and walked off into town to the White Bull where I had my salmon cooked to perfection and for two thirds of the price. I'd stay here again but I'd definitely give the restaurant a big miss.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your comments about our well presented hotel and friendly staff as we work hard to make a stay at the Powerhouse an enjoyable experience . We will take your feedback regarding the restaurant on board.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I travel frequently for work, so am well used to hotel rooms and their accommodation fit-outs. The Powerhouse, though, is outstanding for country accommodation. We were returning from a short stay in Brisbane and came in to Armidale late. Reception staff were welcoming and friendly, and were more than happy to assist with my request for a quiet room. The room itself was incredibly comfortable, spotless, and well thought out - large bathroom with rain-shower; a well stocked mini-bar; a microwave and safe; reverse cycle air conditioning; block-out curtains; a deliciously comfy bed, and bathrobes. We slept until 9.00am on a Saturday and were not woken by any noise - the room we were given was well away from the road and backed onto an empty field. Yes, it's a little bit pricey, but after a long trip, it was just such a welcoming and comfortable stop. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Articul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Powerhouse and are very happy that you thought our Hotel was outstanding for country accommodation. Your feedback about the incredibly comfortable room, bed, large bathroom and our rain-shower is appreciated because these are all features we love about our Hotel too. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for work and were very pleasantly surprised at how well the refurbishment has been done. Have been to many in capital city hotels that have had the same and they seem done to a price and don't always work. This has been done to a high standard. Very impressed.
And it is so quiet. It is located on the main north road, so we expected some noise. Our room was towards the back of the block and there was no noise at all. Work paid this time but I don't think prices are that bad and you get fast internet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceMcBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review.

It's also great to know that you will be staying with us again so we look forward to welcoming you on your next say in Armidale.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armidale hotels
2.7 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 23 in Armidale
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
0.4 mi away
Sandstock Motor Inn
Sandstock Motor Inn
#9 of 23 in Armidale
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale

Property: Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
Address: 31 Marsh St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia (Formerly Cattleman's Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Armidale
#1 Business Hotel in Armidale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Armidale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Hotel Powerhouse, Armidale's only 4.5-star hotel open 24 hours for your convenience. The Powerhouse offers stylish accommodation, warm professional service & delicious cuisine at Azka Restaurant, Wine & Tapas Bar. Located a short distance from the CBD & New England Highway, the hotel features 55 luxurious rooms with FREE wi-fi, smart TVs with Foxtel, 24-hour reception, room service & gym. Whether travelling for business or lifestyle, The Powerhouse has a range of elegant room styles to suit with Superior Queen Rooms, Family Suites, Kitchen Suites, Executive Suites & Executive Spa Suites. All rooms feature a marble bathroom with underfloor heating, bathrobes & luxury MOR toiletries. Reverse cycle air conditioning, block out curtains, the latest swipe key card technology & FREE parking guarantees your comfort. For coffee connoisseurs, exclusive Espressotoria coffee pods are available in rooms. The Powerhouse Cottage, adjacent to the hotel, is ideal for group accommodation with 2, 3 or 5 bedroom self contained options - perfect for extended families & friends. Enjoy a contemporary dining experience at Azka Restaurant which celebrates local New England produce in a space adorned by 70 beautiful Moroccan hanging lanterns. The restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Or escape to the intimate Wine & Tapas Bar open every day until late - choose from over 40 drops by the glass & a delicious selection of modern tapas. A private dining room, boardroom & upmarket conference room are available for meetings, special events, conferences & weddings. The Powerhouse is a proud recipient of a 2016 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for the hotel & restaurant plus a 2016 Choice Hotels Gold Award winner. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to restaurants, shops, cafes & bars and a 10 minute drive to Armidale Regional Airport. We invite you to experience unsurpassed personalised service, beautiful accommodation and fantastic dining at the Quality Hotel Powerhouse, Armidale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Armidale
Armidale Best Western
Quality Inn Armidale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing