We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dads Birthday dinner.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Armidale
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dads Birthday dinner.”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic, sharp, quick witted, comical yet professional service for Dads birthday dinner. The meal was the best I have had with everything cooked to perfection. Service at its best when the head chef will come out to show you what he can do with the menu to cater for a family with allergies! Thank you David, Shane & staff at AZKA, Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are thrilled that you and your family chose to stay with us and celebrate such an important Day and appreciate you taking the time to give us such a wonderful review.

Your comments that the meal was the best you have had with everything cooked to perfection is music to our ears. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    108
    18
    15
    7
See reviews for
87
128
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way from Sydney to Queensland, having stayed here on a previous occasion many moons ago I was expecting the same excellent level of service & accommodation that I had experienced on my last visit. I was not disappointed. the rooms are well appointed & comfortable. The service was great.
the restaurant was excellent, the Thai Beef Salad was the best I have tasted. I had 2 guest with me & both of them had excellent meals. the manager Darryl was very friendly & helpful.
I can highly recommend this place to stay & to eat, we will visit again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glentc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Powerhouse and your feedback about the great service, well appointed rooms and high levels of service is appreciated because our staff really do go the extra mile to make every stay a memorable experience.

I will be sure to pass on your compliments about the excellent meals and restaurant to our staff and we are thrilled to know you will be back soon.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our extended family of 13 people stayed here for 2 nites in January ,we found the hotel wonderful in all possible ways and we are fussy.We all stayed in queen rooms, which were great.

The rooms were excellent very new clean and ultra modern.
The resturant and bar were beautifully decorated and had a Turkish vibe, we used the function room for a family celebration ,food and staff wonderful catering for even vegans!
The breakfast was very expansive and included hot items off the menu and the coffee ( and we are very particular was excellent complements to the chef and barista)
We also enjoyed time at the bar with wonderful tapas and nibbles.
Staff particularly the wonderful manager Darryl couldn't have been more helpful ,we felt like they really cared and took pride in their work.
It's very quiet and close to everything .
We have travelled a great deal overseas and this ranks with one of the best a real find!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keryn-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

To say we rank as one of the best Hotels in the world is an amazing compliment. We feel very honoured. We really do take great pride in providing excellent accommodation and dining experiences for all of our guests with service that is second to none, so your comments are appreciated.

I will be sure to pass them on to our staff.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Only stayed 1 night in a self contained 2 bedroom suite. Very clean, comfortable accommodation win good air conditioning. To our surprise the Inhouse restaurant was brilliant! Will certainly stay again when next passing through Armisale.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Wonderful feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, commented on the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and that your meal in our Azka Restaurant was "Brilliant"
We look forward to your next visit and hope we can tempt you to stay a little longer.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Having just ridden nearly 500km in high 30 degree heat, we decided to cancel our reservation at another hotel in favour of this one based on two criteria: a pool; and air conditioning.

Of the five hotels in Armidale that matched our criteria we chose this one as it was noted as 4.5 stars with a pool - given it was the last overnight stay before our ride back to Sydney we thought we'd spoil ourselves.

Having checked in while we waited on the bikes, hubby answered the excited question from our 14 yo of "where's the pool?!" with a very disappointed and somewhat disbelieving "they just told me they built a restaurant on it!"

Lessons learned - don't trust what you read and ask the critical questions before paying.

Otherwise a nice enough place to stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rdelambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

The Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale has recently undergone a multi million dollar refurbishment. Based on our market research, we discovered that as a result of our cooler climate our guests preferred an in house restaurant and cosy fire to a pool which could only be utilized 2 months of the year. Unfortunately your trip to Armidale was in the middle of a very unseasonal heat wave and although we no longer have a pool, Armidale is very fortunate to have 3 indoor pool complex's which are all in close proximity.

We hope to see you again the next time you travel through.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here in a family 2 bedroom suite for one night on my through to Brisbane. I had been told by family about this place so I stayed here without really reviewing it at all.

The place was great, beds where comfortable, the entire place was clean and the included breakfast was good too.

It was my first time to Armidale and I liked it. I will be back in the future to stay longer and explore the surrounding region and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We're thrilled that you've described us as the perfect spot to stay in Armidale.
Comfy beds, clean rooms and a great breakfast all help make a traveller feel refreshed and a trip more enjoyable. We hope to see you when you next visit Armidale again.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We checked in on Christmas day with a family of five in a two bedroom suite. The accomodation is a very good standard and reasonably spacious. On boxing day we had breakfast which was included in our package. The good was fantastic, I had a fruit salad followed by a cooked breakfast of poached eggs and salmon.
A great place to stay on our way to Byron Bay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on such an important day of the year and that you had a lovely time with your family. We're so glad you stayed for breakfast as we think our choices are pretty amazing too!. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Mary Ryan-Garnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armidale hotels
2.7 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 23 in Armidale
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
0.1 mi away
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
0.4 mi away
Sandstock Motor Inn
Sandstock Motor Inn
#9 of 23 in Armidale
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale

Property: Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
Address: 31 Marsh St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia (Formerly Cattleman's Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Armidale
#1 Family Hotel in Armidale
#1 Business Hotel in Armidale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Hotel Powerhouse, Armidale's only 4.5-star hotel open 24 hours for your convenience. The Powerhouse offers stylish accommodation, warm professional service & delicious cuisine at Azka Restaurant, Wine & Tapas Bar. Located a short distance from the CBD & New England Highway, the hotel features 55 luxurious rooms with FREE wi-fi, smart TVs with Foxtel, 24-hour reception, room service & gym. Whether travelling for business or lifestyle, The Powerhouse has a range of elegant room styles to suit with Superior Queen Rooms, Family Suites, Kitchen Suites, Executive Suites & Executive Spa Suites. All rooms feature a marble bathroom with underfloor heating, bathrobes & luxury MOR toiletries. Reverse cycle air conditioning, block out curtains, the latest swipe key card technology & FREE parking guarantees your comfort. For coffee connoisseurs, exclusive Espressotoria coffee pods are available in rooms. The Powerhouse Cottage, adjacent to the hotel, is ideal for group accommodation with 2, 3 or 5 bedroom self contained options - perfect for extended families & friends. Enjoy a contemporary dining experience at Azka Restaurant which celebrates local New England produce in a space adorned by 70 beautiful Moroccan hanging lanterns. The restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Or escape to the intimate Wine & Tapas Bar open every day until late - choose from over 40 drops by the glass & a delicious selection of modern tapas. A private dining room, boardroom & upmarket conference room are available for meetings, special events, conferences & weddings. The Powerhouse is a proud recipient of a 2016 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for the hotel & restaurant plus a 2016 Choice Hotels Gold Award winner. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to restaurants, shops, cafes & bars and a 10 minute drive to Armidale Regional Airport. We invite you to experience unsurpassed personalised service, beautiful accommodation and fantastic dining at the Quality Hotel Powerhouse, Armidale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Armidale
Armidale Best Western
Quality Inn Armidale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing