We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbotsleigh Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Armidale
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for short stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I was on a 1 night business stopover and booked a budget room at $89. It was on the small side and I would not want to spend more than 1 or 2 nights, but it was exactly what I wanted and good value. I’m sure the other more expensive rooms are larger and more comfortable.
The only real complaint is that the desk which can not be moved is positioned so that you back is to the TV so you can not work and watch theTV.
Good home style restaurant at reasonable prices, as well as having several takeawys within walking distance. Also close to centre of city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    34
    28
    10
    17
See reviews for
19
37
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just stayed at this place for 3 nights. Found staff to be helpful and friendly. My employee and myself had a Budget room each. Rooms were small, but very well cleaned and fine for the price. I will stay again next time in Armidale.

Room Tip: Budget rooms are small with no A/C. Maybe upgrade for a few bucks more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It was only a quick visit to Armidale , but the location was easy to get around, the staff I saw were very nice and the room was very clean and suited my needs. Would reccomend it too anyone!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have stayed here several times recently and would recommend this motel for a decent value overnight stop.
The rooms are dated, not overly large but clean, quiet and have everything needed for a comfortable night.
The bathrooms are well appointed although patience is needed for the hot water to flow, but don't worry, it gets there eventually.
The hosts are friendly and helpful and the motel is just a short stroll to the city centre with its shops, pubs and restaurants.
A big plus is that although the motel is on one of the major streets and handy to the city centre the rooms are quiet. We have slept well on all occasions we have stayed here.
There is also a BBQ area if you want to self cater.

Room Tip: Check out the budget rooms up the back before deciding on which room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The room is very tired indeed. Dust clung to the old biscuit wrappersand the shelf they sat on. Clearly had not been cleaned for ages. The garbage bins still had rubbish overflowing from the last tenant YUK.

Staff on the phone and did not acknowledge me when I arrived. RUDE

FREEZING COLD even with heater on. Bed comfortable enough but a look around the floor and it has not been vacummed recently. Half mirrors in bathroom and bed area.

The place needs a good tidy up

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettelouisegibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Armidale hotels

Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Easy parking, large enough rooms, clean and well maintained. HOWEVER if you claim to have a restaurant in the advertising, and have the sign lit up out the front, then have a restaurant. Too many times we book ahead only to find that there is some reason for the restaurant not being open. Three out of six on our most recent trip and no sunday in our itinerary. Not good enough Aussie motelliers. Lift your respective games!

Room Tip: If they haven't got the restaurant open, either refuse to stay or ask for a discount plus notify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flapgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent 1 night at the Abbotsleigh Motor Inn on route from Toowoomba to Sydney. The property was neither good, nor bad, it was just average. Check in was quick, but lacking in information. The room was small but clean. It is an old property but has been reasonably well maintained. Whilst the property isn't fantastic, it should be considered that it is also not as expensive as some of the other properties in Armidale. If you just need a bed to sleep in whilst in transit then this one will serve the purpose adequately.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armidale hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Comfort Armidale
Country Comfort Armidale
#22 of 22 in Armidale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westwood Motor Inn
Westwood Motor Inn
#16 of 22 in Armidale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Centre Motor Inn
City Centre Motor Inn
#5 of 22 in Armidale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estelle Kramer Motor Inn
Estelle Kramer Motor Inn
#12 of 22 in Armidale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh Motor Inn

Property: Abbotsleigh Motor Inn
Address: 76 Barney St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbotsleigh Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbotsleigh Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Armidale
Armidale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing