We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but in need of some tweaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Waters Holiday Resort
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This 'resort' was adequate for our needs for just one night. We were in a two-bedroom family room - which my kids enjoyed. But if you like the finer details taken care of - this is not the place for you. I noticed that the ashtray on the balcony had cigarette butts in it and there was screwed up bits of paper and rubbish left on the balcony. My kids "used" the bathroom when we first got there (if you get my drift) and the fan didn't work. There was no handtowel or bathmat for the bathroom and the 'shower gel' and 'hand soap' dispensers have been screwed to the wall in the wrong places (- shower gel, shampoo etc next to the basin, and hand soap etc. in the shower). The shower and the bathroom generally - weren't the nicest I've been in. We stacked the fridge with our milk and goodies, but were very afraid to subsequently open the fridge because of the incredible whiff!!! In all fairness the owner said this would be replaced, but it was a little late for us... We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony. The staff look like they're doing a great job but unfortunately this place seems a little sad and run down.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

At arrival room was only for 2 people, booking was for 3. Rude receptionist (that's not what is says on MY booking!!!!!) that finally gave us another room. Bathroom smelled like sewer. Two dirty towels were still hanging on the back of the bathroom door. Overall it looked run down, unmaintained etc. There is NO room service at all. First and last time we stay at that place!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After a friendly welcome we went to our room. Because the room was quite hot we tried turning on the air conditioning. However it didn't seem to work - and I was not sure if I wanted it to work because of the dirty grilles (see photo) - so I went to the reception and they told me they would have a look. After a while a maintenance worker brought us a fan because the airco couldn't be fixed. We ended up with opening the back door for some cooler air, but this let bugs in too.

The room we had came with a river view (see photo). Although the view was good, with a renovation / it could be so much better. Besides the cleanness of the air conditioning, the carpet on the floor wasn't clean and needs to be replaced. The bathroom was fairly clean but the showerhead was way too low.

Our booking included a good simple breakfast to get the day started, again with a good view which need some adjustments. In the public area's there is free wifi available.

Because the hotel is on a good location (walking distance to town) and has some great potential, however this involves a big renovation which wil improve the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

"The Batemans Bay Hilton" is what we ended up referring to as.

The room wasn't ready for us at check in time. Meaning not only was the vaccuuming not done, but they were in the process of building the balcony for the room they initially put us in. They moved us to the room next door which had oviously recently been painted due to the overwhelming fumes.

We had booked a room with two beds (queen and single) as my sister was going to stay with us for a night. We were informed by a staff member (who in all fairness was very nice) that this was a different type of room to the one we had booked, so no extra bed and that it was infact nicer and "more spacious" than the room type we were supposed to have been in. She bought us a trundle which was so uncomfortable that the third adult couldn't stay.

The room itself was freshly painted and the balcony had literally just been built as we walked in. The bathroom door didn't shut without extreme force and failed to lock. It resembled a cell more so than a bathroom. The toilet flush stuck and the skylight was absolutely filthy.

The main room was small with just enough room for two, pity we'd booked for 3. We would have had to rearrange furniture to put the trundle out in a position where it wasn't in the way. It also didn't come with a blanket. The front door had a (larger than it should) drafty gap underneath and the far wall in the corner of the room had a gap between wall and roof.

TV was standard digital.

The one redeeming feature of the entire place was the view of the river from the window.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Rooms are a good size, with a queen size bed, and a table with 2 chairs. Bathrooms are a little dated, but the shower is great. We chose the river view room, which has windows overlooking the Clyde River and Princes Highway Bridge. Outside undercover there is an outdoor setting (table and 2 chairs) to take in the view. Big trucks crossing the bridge can be heard when sitting outside, but with the doors and windows closed, the rooms are nice and quiet. Bay Waters has a nice restaurant with great food, and are offering a large discount on meals while some renovations are happening. They also include a continental breakfast in the room rate. We have stayed several times at the Bay Waters Inn.

Room Tip: The river view rooms have a nice porch to sit outside and see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A nice hotel with a lovely setting, it is located near the Murramarang national park. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable. The welcome was friendly. The restaurant offers decent food. Breakfast and wifi are included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

For just $70, this place is excellent value. Good location on the northern side of the bridge going into Batemans Bay. Nice surrounding parkland. Reception area very nice. The rooms are very basic and dated. Unless you are very tall, impossible to adjust the air-conditioning unless you stand on a chair. It looks like this place was built in the 1970's with nothing done since. (to the rooms that is). Bathroom small and outdated.
However, it is great value. A continental breakfast was included but didn't take up the offer so can't comment.
The reception staff disappointing. Just wanted to give me the key, brief directions and that was it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
0.7 mi away
Zorba Waterfront Motel
Zorba Waterfront Motel
#4 of 18 in Batemans Bay
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 18 in Batemans Bay
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corrigans Cove
Corrigans Cove
#1 of 3 in Batehaven
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Coachhouse Marina Resort
#9 of 18 in Batemans Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Waters Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waters Holiday Resort

Address: Cnr Kings & Princes Highway, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Batemans Bay
Price Range: £76 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Waters Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing