We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, inventive wine list, slightly haphazard service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Little Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food, inventive wine list, slightly haphazard service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I'm a sucker for figs. Same for duck. So when a menu has figs featuring in all three courses of the daily specials I am very interested.

In the end I only had two courses, of which the highlight was the duck Maryland with figs. Beautifully cooked and well presented. The wine list was unusual in that there was a very narrow price range (most bottles being in the low $40s. However they were all interesting wines and looked like good value.

Service was not great, with inexplicable gaps between courses, being asked two or three times the same question etc. but all in all it was enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    73
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great cuisine in a little known location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We were steered toward this restaurant by the local owner of the motel we booked. We found the food to be fresh and tasty, and professionally presented. I would rank this restaurant comparable to top level international restaurants.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DDutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
611 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Service was quick and friendly. Food was lovely. For a little coastal town this Resturant is excellent. Enjoyed our after dinner thank you from Gary. A great place to take friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a special meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is absolutely adorable, such a small space yet I've never felt it has been a burden. The food is beautifully made and taste devine, and the desserts! ! Oh how I love their desserts. So if your visiting the Bay or your a local who hasn't tried it out yet, give it a go! My partner and I normally have a three course dinner and its $100 - $130 depending on what we havw the evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Reviews-Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We often travel to Batemans Bay on the South Coast of NSW and have been several times to the Little Restaurant in the main street in town. The food is always fabulous - any course - entree, mains or desert. Beautiful taste, preparation, presentation, everything! The staff are always courteous and the owner/chef, Gary, is always on hand to advise on the food and his excellent selection of wines. I'm sure that diners will really enjoy their experience there, we do, and that's why it is so popular on the weekends!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Batehaven, Batemans Bay
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing