We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, comfortable room.”
Review of Reef Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed for 1 night in a renovated room and it was fairly comfortable, but the bed was a little firm and the pillows not the best. The bathroom was very small and would be difficult for more than 1 person. The breakfast was delivered 10 minutes early to my requested time and I wasn't ready for it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MelAxP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful find. Right on the river! Room newly renovated, great bed, very nice compact bathroom, bar fridge containing the essential beer and wine much needed after a long day in the car!
The Restaurant was excellent - great local seafood (local oysters), and served by great staff!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cmejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Before I moved permanently to the Bay, I stayed here on a few occasions - on one of them I even left a couple of shirts in the wardrobe. They were put aside and returned to me on my next stay a few weeks later.

Nice sized rooms - plenty of space to move around.

The restaurant is fully licenced of course.

The seafood platter is supposed to be for two people. Don't believe it. Three of us (all adults) could barely finish it. There was fish, lobster, prawns cooked in at least 3 ways, baby octopus, calamari... I forget what else. Vegies of course.

If you don't like fish - try the Back of Lamb.

Room Tip: Choose a ground level room - it's a long climb upstairs with a heavy suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My partner & I booked this motel on the net while we where in Canberra. We arrived at midday and the young man at the motel was very friendly and happy for us to have our room. Very clean, straight across the road from the main shopping centre. Will be staying again there soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

From the moment we arrived the service was friendly & helpful, directing us to nearby attractions & must see locations around Bateman's Bay. The young man behind reception suggested we dine in the restaurant they have upstairs and found the meals fantastic. We had stayed in the 4 star room and found the room very comfortable during our stay having a private courtyard which backed onto a river, the setting was quite relaxing. Reading other reviews i can see everyone must have different experiences staying in motels, ours was a very relaxing, pleasant stay & will be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: Helpful & Hospitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We normally stay in only 4 star hotels, but were travelling and booked this last minute as there was not a lot of choice. At $200 a night for 2 Adults and 1 child it was pricey for it's star rating, but it was peak season. The outside of the building looks refurbished, but maybe more money should be spent on the inside of the building. The carpet had huge stains on it, the fly screen on the door to balcony wasn't even on properly, there were no biscuits provided & the shower was like a trickle. Other than that it was a typical outdated 3 star property. The beds were ok & the towels fluffy, which was a bonus. We were upstairs so had to lug our bags up, but the plus of that was, it was a little bit quieter, which was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamsuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were happy to be able to book a room in the Reef Motor Inn during the Christmas holidays because there wasn't much availability. But our happiness surely changed soon as we entered the room. It seemed to be left to its fate since the sixties of the last century. The cleverly built in radio in the bed side table managed to produce a lot of crackling. We decided not to make any fuss about it because we were hungry and it was getting late. But in the middle of the night one of us got their foot caught on the carpet nails sticking out. In the morning we had a closer look at the room and came to the obvious conclusion that the floor was dirty, the carpet was ripped here and there and lots of lights didn't work. The swimming pool, clearly stated on their plan, was undiscoverable. The bath tub in the bathroom had the memories of a spa bath with its worn and faded knobs and spouts hanging idly and undone. We decided to lodge a complaint at the reception, moreover because we were under the impression, via the available web sites, we had booked a Best Western hotel. We met Ronny at the reception. Things changed for the worse because Ronnie was rude and not receptive to our complaints. He blamed the sites for listing their hotel as a Best Western. After pointing out that on the counter a metre away from him were the business cards of the manager clearly stating Best Western Reef Motor Inn. Ronnie explained this was totally legitimate, because his manager ran another hotel which was a Best Western. Yes but Ronnie, the business card has the name 'Best Western Reef Motor Inn' on it. Ronny did not budge, stayed defensive and rude. The last place to stay. They charged us $300 for 3 adults. No breakfast. Worst quality ever and worst customer treatment as well. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: If you can avoid this hotel, do so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Quays Hotel
Quays Hotel
#2 of 18 in Batemans Bay
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners on the Waterfront
Mariners on the Waterfront
#11 of 18 in Batemans Bay
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 18 in Batemans Bay
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Drive Motel
Beach Drive Motel
#13 of 18 in Batemans Bay
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Motor Inn

Address: 27 Clyde St, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Price Range: £67 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Motor Inn is the place to stay, dine and meet in Batemans Bay. Situated on the Batemans Bay`s foreshore adjacent to the Batemans Bay Bridge and across from the Clyde River. The Motel is a short walk to the town center and its vibrant shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Batemans Bay
Batemans Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing