We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas with style”
Review of Barkala Kitchen & Bar - CLOSED

Barkala Kitchen & Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tapas with style”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great tapas. We had 5 dishes for $35 which we thought a good deal. Portion size was fine and dishes arrived with good timing so we never felt rushed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank melanie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a lovely meal at Barkala. The staff and location were perfect, and we were not expecting such authentic tapas in Batemans Bay.
The menu is based on sharing plates, tapas style. Its not a seafood restaurant, there are other places nearby if you are looking for large platters of seafood.
Each dish we tried was very tasty, and there are a great selection of wines by the glass, including several from Spain and some sherries too.
When we are next in Bateman's, we will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed ”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dined here on our holiday recently, the location and atmosphere was lovely, staff were friendly and attentive and turnaround was pretty good though we did have to wait some time for our drinks to arrive. We opted for the banquet which gave us 5 different dishes (chosen for us). The first was a pumpkin and cumin dip with warmed flat bread, the bread was nice, but the dip was just mashed pumpkin with cumin (can you call that a dip?), felt like it needed something more. The next was the calamari with tartare sauce, this was the nicest dish, no complaints here. Next came a prawn dish, cannot remember what it was called, maybe like a gumbo, I could not eat this though due to shellfish allergy (I had requested this to be swapped initially but it must have been missed), husband thought it was okay. Next was chicken skewers and a capsicum dip, chicken was very dry, flavours were okay. Last was meatballs in a tomato based sauce, this would have been nice but there was something in the meatballs that gave it a really odd and off putting flavour, it might have been Chinese Mushroom but I could be wrong, either way there was something that just didn't seem to belong. I also ordered the apple and lychee mojito from the cocktail menu and wasn't impressed with that either, far too sweet, I had to water it down with the table water. Overall the food was a tad disappointing, the banquet was $35 each and it was a decent amount of food but missed the mark in terms of quality.

Helpful?
Thank sarahaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not value for money and left hungry”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

the location and and staff seem good but the menu seemed limited. we wanted to have sea food and asked for a platter to be made up. we paid nearly $100 and left hungry for two of us.
we had 12 oysters, very small, but were fresh
one serve of scallops, very small portion on beetroot paste
one serve of 4 small garlic prawns cooked in butter, very small , but tasty
one bowl of fried potatoes, were ok but the tomato sauce was very salty could not use it
one average size serve of fried calamari, the batter was pasty and no flavor
were given a small bowl of mayonnaise rather than tartar sauce, yuk
one salad, we could not even eat it, was all green tough weeds with a crushed mandarin over it we gave it back, but still they made us pay for it.. that's not fair
one small coke and one bottle of sparkling water
went back to motel hungry and we wont go there again..
maybe we just ordered the wrong things..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected sensational food”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I just happened to stumble across Barkala on an overnight stop in Batemans Bay.
What a find. Sensational tapas - one of the best we have had and rates equal or better to some great Sydney tapas places.
Flavors, combinations, textures - all brilliant. Service was relaxed and efficient. Pacing of servings were unrushed. Location on waterfront is pretty special and atmosphere is modern, chic and elegant. Cocktail list and bar list is great.
We shared four tapas, had two cocktails, two ciders, shared two of the best desserts I have ever had and finished with some top shelf fortifieds - would have to be one of the best $140 I have spent in a restuarant.
Even while we were eating we were already trying to work out we can get back down there soon for a weekend - it is that good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barkala Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Batehaven, Batemans Bay
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing