We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchen service started out slow but came right”
Review of Barkala Kitchen & Bar - CLOSED

Barkala Kitchen & Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kitchen service started out slow but came right”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great tapas bar on the waterfront at Batemans Bay. We selected a number of dishes to share between the two of us and the food quality didn't disappoint.

The delivery of the dishes was a little slow, however, with the first dish coming out and then a long lag before the remaining dishes followed. The delay was such that our waitress sent a reminder to the kitchen although this was unprompted by us - she had noticed the delay and so volunteered to sort it out.

The service, then, was great and made up for the hiccup in the kitchen. We'd be happy to go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank z3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely view and service”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I really appreciated the customer service - professional and friendly with well timed delivery of dishes. I felt very comfortable there. The view and atmosphere is fabulous - relaxing. We enjoyed the "happy hour" cocktail specials and were not disappointed. We opted to order our tapas selection from the menu, rather than go with the pre-set deals - perhaps that was a mistake because the combination of the dishes we selected did not blend well. I found myself wishing that there was some nice bread on the menu to break the flavours between "courses". The whitebait was ok with plenty of thick aioli (I prefer mine a bit more crispy). The stewed bean and smoked hock dish was delicious with very rich flavour (not much hock, though). The Chicken pintxos had a delicate smokey flavour and strong sauces - I could not finish my skewer because it seemed undercooked to me and by this point the richness of the dishes were starting to really clash. The scallops were fresh and well cooked, but the roasted beetroot turned out to be a small smear of paste on the serving board. This place seems to be great to relax, snack and have a drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodExplorer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The view is the best part”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with my wife. Upon arriving I was pleasantly suprised with the spacious seating and the beautiful view...however I found the wine slightly over priced for what it was...we ordered a compilation of five dishes to share it being tappas we new the portions would be small....2 out of the 5 dishes were great sea scallops cooked brilliantly and natural oysters, well hard to stuff that one up...one tomato dish was off, potatoes under cooked and prawns were tasteless and over cooked...i mentioned to the waitress that we werent happy, on her return after talking to the chef she advised us that we could have a free coffee....we didnt bother, left hungry and $180 poorer!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nautilus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tapas with style”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great tapas. We had 5 dishes for $35 which we thought a good deal. Portion size was fine and dishes arrived with good timing so we never felt rushed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank melanie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a lovely meal at Barkala. The staff and location were perfect, and we were not expecting such authentic tapas in Batemans Bay.
The menu is based on sharing plates, tapas style. Its not a seafood restaurant, there are other places nearby if you are looking for large platters of seafood.
Each dish we tried was very tasty, and there are a great selection of wines by the glass, including several from Spain and some sherries too.
When we are next in Bateman's, we will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barkala Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batehaven, Batemans Bay
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing