We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe not next time.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Chifley Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Maybe not next time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

For $195 for a 2 bed room per night was VERY expensive. Pool had mould in it and rooms very dated.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greatnortherners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    44
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
32
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We got accomodation in the middle of the night here. The receptionist was lovely and wasnt a bother to her at all. Excellent people!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baileyzgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurstville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

I have stayed with this motel for near on three years, The motel has just had a change of managers or owners, not for the better- arrived to the hotel to check in at 6pm was greeted by three people stuff in behind the counter each with their own idea of what needed to be done, no one new how to use the computer or print my meal ticket, I must say they all seemed flustered and it really showed. Rooms are always really nice and clean but breakfast the next morning was very plain not what I had been used too. Bring back the old managers or owners. I will try them again in a few months to see if its any better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mowers4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

This was my second trip to bathurst and I choose the Ben Chifley again due to the enjoyable experiences I had the first time. The staff were very helpful even when I had trouble gaining access to the internet, a manager came to my room to assist and next thing I knew was I was connected. The rooms were very modern and clean. I know exactly where to look for a hotel room the next time I visit Bathurst.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

I was looking to book this property for a large sporting group, I live within the same region as the Ben Chifley and decided I would go and inspect the property prior to confirming the booking.

On entering the property reception I was met by a gentlemen with whom I discussed the possibility of inspecting one of the rooms available to ensure the size etc was sufficent for the group.

The service that followed can only be discribed as appalling.

For no other reason than possibly he was offended I asked to view the property (this is all I could think of) this man just let the verbal abuse fly.

As I turned and walked out the door, the last thing I heard was him saying he would call all other motels in the city in order to ensure I could not make a booking at any other establishment in the city.

As a young woman on my own I found the behaviour of the gentleman extremely indimidating.

Following my terrible experience at the Ben Chifley Motor Inn, combined with the very dated and basic state of the premises I would say travellers beware of this motel.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Disliked — The horrible manager.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Elim08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel11, Managment at Ben Chifley Motor Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2009
This lady wanted to book 8 rooms for the Bathurst 12hr and was told that we had only a few room left and they were older budget rooms. She asked price and then requested to view rooms, She was informed before vewing our rooms that as we had a lot of problems with Guests from the previous year we were infroming guest of our new strict Guest policy of Zero tolerance for drunken noisey guest, she informed me that "i asure you we are not that type of people" When I informed her that all guests need to be aware and agree to our special events policy. She became verbal and said she doesnt think she will look at the rooms and thats the one and only post on trip advisor was right and that she will tell all her freinds not to stay here.

last year we had that many problems, and as we live onsite with a young family, we dont want to be woken at all hours with noisey drunk guests scaring my family and other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

Booked ahead by phone, partly on price and room type availability, partly RACV guide which listed internet as available. No fee was indentified in the listing. When we arrived, discovered there was a $30 fee for access (24hrs). When my wife said that no fee was identified in the RACV guide and our experience was that unless the fee was mentioned in the guide, this meant that it was included in the tarriff. In discussion with the person at the desk, who identified herself as the manager and stated she had to do what the owner wanted, my wife quietly asked her to inform the owner that we would not be staying at this property in the future since this was not congruent with our needs. My wife purchased a 24 hour internet access card.

When she returned to the office to get the correct card, having discovered that she had been given a one hour card (with two free hours) the owner told her she had been rude to his wife and that this was why she had received only the one hour card. He had apparently been listening in the next room, and as we would not be revisiting his establishment in future, that we had to leave the premises at once and that if there had been any damage to the room he would still charge us for the night's accommodation. He also said that as she was clearly from outside Australia she didn't understand how things were done here. As it is she migrated from Canada about 40 years ago.

After reloading our luggage into our car I asked for an inspection of the room to avoid any later 'misunderstandings' he declined, and put a reversal on the credit card. He also told us that he intended to contact our employer to inform them of our behaviour, we were actually travelling on personal business, so this was a curious statement. He also promised to call all other motels/hotels in town to make sure we did not get accomodation elsewhere that night.

I will not describe the rest of my interaction with him, but suffice to say, it was quite unpleasant, as he became quite abusive, eventually telling me to get out and that if I stayed in the Reception he would have me chaged with trespass.

Warm and friedly it wasn't.

  • Liked — The building was OK
  • Disliked — Guest relations
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank tpvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel11, Manager at Ben Chifley Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2009
Its a pitty that some guests forget the real story, like how internet was demanded as per the guide, and how they would never stay again becuase we would not give free internet, and lets not forget how terriable the managers were when they went to great lengths to ensure personal belongings that were left behind by a huffing puffing husban was returned to then quickly. Some guests expect everyting but want to pay little, we offer value for money accommadation and yes extras do cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
0.7 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Bathurst Explorers Motel
Bathurst Explorers Motel
#6 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Chifley Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Chifley Motor Inn

Property: Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Address: 272 Stewart St, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ben Chifley Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ben Chifley Motor Inn is an Owner operated motel. Offering FREE WIFI and Foxtel, we boast 31 quality rooms, including large family rooms, Twin share rooms and budget accomodation. Located in the heart of historical Bathurst, you will be close to the city centre, we are also in walking distance to the R.S.L. and Bathurst Leagues Club! And only a short distance to the new Bathurst Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ben Chifley Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Chifley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing