We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really should be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
454 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Really should be better”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

lovely big rooms on the racetrack with a good bar and well thought of restaurant, but.... misses the mark in a few ways that could easily be rectified for a a 5 star review.

Reception was perfectly executed, room was big and well thought out but... bathroom doors didnt fit together, hairball (from a previous occupants bush) remained on floor by the bed for the time were there (2 nights), small flies seemed to live in the room attracted to the lights, the coffee table was chipped and should be repaired... and it seems someone charged their meal and drinks to our room when we checked out (We were told it would be handled, lets hope so), the shower door didnt allow you to out the shower mat down as it rubbed along the floor... but the biggest issue was that we were on floor 6 (just under the function rooms) and from 10-11pm they shifted tables and dropped stuff repeatedly while someone set up for the next day both nights, that's just WRONG in this class of accommodation!

So, a few fixable issues really, and for this money they should fix them and Id give a better review, its not difficult to sort this, get on it guys!

Room Tip: avoid the 6th floor. happy hour $4 beers 5-6pm. parking can be hard work if you come back from town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Five15 and thank you for the review. I must apologise that some very simple items were missed in your room, and that your sleep was affected by the pack down team above you.

As I mentioned in my private message, if you can send through your details I will be able to better follow up with the involved teams to ensure these simple items are rectified.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    271
    76
    22
    18
See reviews for
178
208
21
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My first visit to this modern hotel in an unusual location. Situated at the end of the famous Bathurst Conrod straight, the view of Mount Panorama is fantastic. The spa suites are one large open plan with kitchen and large balcony. The sleep quality was great.
Only negative was an infrequent vehicle with a loud exhaust driving at low speed around the track which is A public road until race days......

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1RD1EMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi B1RD1EMelbourne and thank you for the review. It is always good to read a positive review from someone on their first visit. Hopefully when you return the same car won't be doing laps!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We recently had the great pleasure of staying here as part of our 30th wedding anniversary trip. This happened to coincide with the Bathurst 12 hour race (which was fantastic, just by the way - and I am no car fanatic!) which I suspect my husband knew when we got married all those years ago!
Added to the two of us was our almost three year old grand daughter. I had had several concerns about taking her with us but the chance to spend some time with her overwhelmed any worries that I had. As did the excellent staff at Rydges. In the months leading up to our stay they happily spoke with me about everything that was available in our room, the configuration of the bedding and just how big the spa bath is! Not once did they moan or complain about any request that I had and this was the start of the outstanding service that we encountered throughout our stay.
Yes, it is a very small stone's throw from the famour tarmac and of course this is a major selling point. But to be able to sit on the balcony at night and watch the campers and listen to the sounds of either mother nature settling down for the night, or the race teams working through it to get their car ready to race again, was simply magical!
Yes, the king bed is two singles pushed together, but there was no sagging in our bed and even hubby didn't complain about it. Our grand daughter's pull out sofa was of a quality that you rarely see in motels and even I found it comfortable when I was lying with her.
The breakfast was your fairly typical buffet, but the fresh fruit and bircher muesli were a highlight for me. Of course, the pancake machine simply made hubby and grand daughter's day! Worth the cost of the accommodation to watch her face when the pancakes came out of the machine!!
The package that is put together for the 12 hour race was great value for money and allowed us to do things that we never thought possible (wandering the pits at a major motor race!) and we simply can't wait to return next year. This time with our younger daughter and grand daughter!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hazied62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi hazied62 and thank you for the great review. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us over the 12 Hour race, this is a very exciting race that will continue to grow over the coming years. Sounds like you had a very special experience over the race period with your Granddaughter, the team enjoyed knowing they were part of that so thank you for letting us know.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were given an upgrade to a suite which was lovely . Veery spacious & comfortable , well laid out with all facilities you could want , full kitchen , lounge area , king bed ( why do some hotels still have queen beds ?) & the most beautiful bathroom . Spotlessly clean & comfortable . Only complaint was a very long walk from the lift . Restaurant was very good also , delicious food . Breakfast was included & quite good . Overall excellent value for money & very enjoyable stay .

Room Tip: f you`re feeling old & tired like us ask for a room not too far from the lift .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmothernsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi tripmothernsw and thank you for the great review. Sounds like you had a great stay with us, including your experiences in the restaurant. Yes, the halls can seem like quite a long walk, with every room facing the track the building is very long!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The title sums it up. Located on the Conrod straight on the famed Mount Panorama circuit, its location is fantastic if you are there for a Motorsport event. But the hotel itself is terrible. The bathroom drains smelled awful whenever a tap was ran, but that was nothing compared to the smell of sewage in the corridor. I suspect that the hotel had not been used in some time and going from empty to crowded in one day overloaded its plumbing. The room was grimy and full of cheap, worn furniture. The restaurant closed early as they couldn't cope, possibly just as well if the eggs at breakfast were any indication of the kitchen's abilities. You could almost cope with all of the above if you weren't paying over A$400 a night for the room and A$8 for a beer!! This is the kind of hotel that needs a warning. Best avoided unless you need the circuit access.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Marcus M and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is very disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, particularly as we had such good feedback from our guests over the Bathurst 12 Hour event. I will investigate further the hallway smell you reported, as this is not something we have had reported before. The plumbing issues you speak of are not a case of empty to full, rather the 3 weeks of 35 + temperatures that the hotel has experienced. We do have a solution for this, and if reported it can be fixed quickly and efficiently.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Booking and staying at Rydges Mount Panorama was a huge surprise for my hubby. It is a place that all fans of Mt Panorama should treat themselves to at least once. Our room was great, overlooking the race course and the staff were very friendly. Sitting on our deck and watching cars drive around the track and people walking and jogging past made us very eager to drive around it ourselves after a wonderful night in the motel. The race track is much more difficult than it appears on the tv. We highly recommend a stay at Rydges and a few laps on the course.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Corrina O and thank you for your great review. It is great to read that you had such at good time at the hotel and the precinct, and of course it is always a must do to do a few laps around the track. Just make sure you remember the speed limit!

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

It is lugduriose there. They have a swimming pool and spa on level three , have open balconies so you can just walk to the end and they a buffet restronte on level one they also have good views of the race track.You have a tv bathroom and kitchen in your room.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Massang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Massang and thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and it seems you enjoyed all our features and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
2.2 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Property: Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Address: 1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bathurst
#3 Business Hotel in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst Hotel Bathurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing