We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ugly and mediocre concrete block”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ugly and mediocre concrete block”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

I stayed two nights in this hotel for a business trip. This is a fairly new hotel, but a real eyesore done on the cheap. Noise insulation is minimal and the room decoration borders on tackiness.

You will enjoy the 'view' from the room if you are car racing enthusiast: concrete and asphalt everywhere because you are literally next to the raceway. If you are not in to car racing (my case) it is a concrete nightmare.

The restaurant was really substandard in both food quality and service. It bills itself as a four star hotel, but the food would hardly meet a pub standard. Unfortunately, the hotel is not walking distance from Bathurst city center, so you will need a car or taxi to escape from the hotel restaurant.

A redeeming quality was the fitness center. Business facilities were pretty average. Internet charges are $10 per hour or $20 per day.

Overall, find another place, unless you are racing fan that does not care about anything but having the cars racing just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zentree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    268
    76
    21
    18
See reviews for
178
204
20
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

My partner and i stayed one night on the 14/03/2010. We picked this hotel as it is advertised as having a heated pool and spa - one of the few hotels in Bathurst which do. To our disappointment, both were ice cold and could not be used. Management informed us that the water is only solar heated which means cold water on winter and overcast days. We paid for an upgrade to a spa studio - $144 a night which is reasonable. The room was large (about 48 sqm), very clean with modern furnishings, a kitchen and comfy king bed. All the rooms on the first three floors (which are the studios) face onto a large common balcony that runs the length of the hotel. This design feature offers no privacy - we often had people and screaming kids walking past our room and consequently, we had to use the spa and sleep with the curtains drawn which is a shame because the view is quite pleasant.

The hotel is located about 4km from the Bathurst CBD and outside of race days, there is nothing to do within walking distance of the hotel. There is a bar and restaurant on site however the prices are steep and the atmosphere depressing - it was like a ghost town for our stay. We caught a cab into town ($30 return) and found there to be ample dining and entertainment options - especially for a Sunday. Check out Dargan’s Irish Pub, good value food with large portions and great live entertainment.

In summary, ok hotel but it would be pointless to stay unless there is a car race on.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crumpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlinghurst
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Stayed at Bathurst' newest motel with work colleagues for a three-day conference. Rooms are new & like the kitchenette. Dined first night in-house restaurant & it was overpriced for the food & quality of food. Service staff was inexperienced.
But the motel is on the race track - great if there is racing but isolating if these is not. We started to get motel fever by Day 2, and there was no way we were eating in-house again. So a $15 cab ride and we are in the heart of Bathurst with many great restaurants [Cobblestone Lane; The Continental; GT Angus; The Hub etc]. And then another $15 taxi ride back.
In future I'm back at my previous hotel - it is close to the CBD & gives everyone flexibility to do their own thing at night. Felt like we were stuck at the Last Frontier.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,329 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,044 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

This hotel is located adjacent to the site of the Bathurst 1000 kilometre car race- one of Australia's premier sporting events.

During the race weekend, this is a hive of activity, and the hotel offers you a great view if the track. All the rooms face the track.

Visitors should bear In mind that the race is run on public roads which are closed for the event. Hence, during the rest of the year, this is a peaceful place to stay, with allthe rooms having a picturesque view.

This is an all suite hotel- hence all of the rooms offer cooking and laundering facilities.

The hotel opened in September 2009, so it is new and modern.

The accommodations are comfortable and spacious.

There's a pleasant bar/ cocktail lounge to meet with other guests

The staff offer friendly and professional hospitality.

The location is a short drive from the CBD and the University. There's an undercover car park adjacent to the entrance- bear in mind you will need to borrow their luggage trolley if you have bags to carry to and from your car.

I recommend this as the premium accommodation offering in Bathurst.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
2.2 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Property: Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Address: 1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bathurst
#3 Business Hotel in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst Hotel Bathurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing