We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I waited till I calmed down”
Review of Busy Buzz

Busy Buzz
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Busy Buzz
Ranked #17 of 17 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I waited till I calmed down”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Months and months ago but I had to say something...... I read the other reviews and I know it wasnt just me... Don't..... just DON'T.

Yes it is clean. The bed was comfortable and if the owner did not live there it wouldnt be all that bad. But she does.

RUN

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChineseLaundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Having stayed at this appaling place i felt complelled to write a review to recommend to everyone do not stay at this B&B if you could call it that . From the moment we arrived it just went from bad to worse , starting with being barked at to close the sliding door before you even stepped in the house , the layout of the house makes it impossible to have any pivacy but the main issue is Betty she is simply a tyrant and at best rude , she is does not know how to speak to people in a pleasant manner or have any idea about customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bathurst hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed one night at this establishment and found the accomadation clean and comfortable. The position was good in a quiet residential street and the other guests were thoughtfull and courtious. The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Betty should be known as 'Margie'
The iron lady she is.
Nothing is too much trouble as long as you don't do anything that might put her out.
For goodness sake don't get up early for Breakfast. It's 7.30 am you know.
NOT 7.15am. Stay in your room till it is ready or your in trouble.
Poor Phil (hubby) no wonder he turns his hearing aids off.
Don't use too many towels or bath matts & for goodness sakes, don't turn on any lights.
Do your self a favour 'DO NOT STAY HERE'
It is just a big house that an old lady makes a motsa out of on the side.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed with my partner and daughter when I needed to be in Bathurst for residential school at the university while I was studying. This was over a year ago but I wanted to provide a review as I really feel our experience warrants mentioning for future potential guests.

We had a horribly uncomfortable stay as we felt continually watched by the female owner of the house. We also hadn't quite realised before staying that we would be staying in the owners' home, where they too lived, and shared a kitchen.

Prior to booking I had asked whether the accommodation was suitable for us as a small family with a toddler. I was assured this wasn't a problem. I had mentioned that my partner would need to be around during the day so our daughter could have daytime sleeps. However when we stayed this was extremely awkward, as the owner actually spent the day approaching my partner and offering unsolicited parenting tips, and- at one point- telling him off for opening the blinds in the "guest lounge", as this may upset other guests (there was no one but us staying)

When we arrived she showed us around the kitchen and pointed out all the things we weren't to touch while staying. She pointed out the TV in the kitchen area and told us to make use of it. That evening my partner turned the TV on and was watching it for two minutes before the owner suddenly marched out from her end of the house, grabbed the control out of my partner's hand, saying "I'm going to have to take this now" and turned the TV off. At this point I told the owner how uncomfortable we were with staying, and that we were unhappy with being spoken to in a patronising manner. As we were booked for another two nights I requested half of my money back so we could relocate to a motel. The owner initially refused, claiming she had had to refuse other bookings for us so we could not have any money returned. I pointed out that there had been no other guests so far in the other room, and the owner then agreed to return 50% of the money I had paid for 3 nights, having only stayed one. This experience has actually put me off bed and breakfasts. It is the worst accommodation experience I have ever had, and I have stayed in quite a variety of motels etc while travelling for work and for my own enjoyment. I would avoid this place if you would like an enjoyable and unwatched trip! I felt very stressed by this experience. I felt I was treated like a potential criminal/ delinquent child while paying for the pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rbro6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Instead of arranging everything properly, host preaches on how to use bathroom, sink, parking etc as soon as you arrive. Layout of house makes privacy absolutely impossible, also no noise isolation in rooms. Asked for non-smoking, but had my bedroom filled with smoke right before going to bed. Had to share bathroom with other guests, though was initially assured that we are the only guests and there'll be no discomfort for us with bathroom. It's way cheaper than other B&B around, but believe me, your good spirits are not worth it. Was very very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abadyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
2.7 mi away
Hawks Nest Bed and Breakfast
Hawks Nest Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 17 in Bathurst
2 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bathurst Heights B&B
Bathurst Heights B&B
#3 of 17 in Bathurst
143 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busy Buzz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busy Buzz

Property: Busy Buzz
Address: 2 Farmgate Dr, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia (Formerly B & B's Retreat)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Busy Buzz 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, 4 kms from CBD of Bathurst, close to University, Motor Racing Circuit, shops & restaurants. 4 Guest Rooms, 2 doubles, 2 twin rooms. Central heating, RCAC. Guest Lounge. Deck & courtyard to enjoy your coffee etc. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Busy Buzz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing